We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing B&B”
Review of South Cliff Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Joseph
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Cliff Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing B&B”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My husband and I have stayed twice at South Cliff Inn, once in the summer and now once in February. There is a wonderful view of Lake Michigan in any season. This visit we stayed in the Sunset Room, which has a balcony overlooking the gardens and the Lake. Outstanding room! Bill and Mark are very welcoming, and the breakfast is huge and amazing. If you go away hungry it is your own fault! Bill is also very knowledgeable about the area and can give tips on restaurants and things to do. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
68
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I loved this place. The atomsphere was so peaceful and the view of Lake Michigan was just so beautiful. Our room was right off the dining area with a table right next to our door. That was my fault. First when inquiring I should of asked for its location..we ended up our second night listening to two couples drinking and laughing for 2 hours not much sleep that night...Second I should of asked about the bed if the mattress was a thick one. This mattress was only 7 inches thick...no joke. My joints ached so bad for the two days there... This was not the inkeepers fault this was mine for not asking. I am sure he would of fit us with the right room if I would of asked but I did not. The inkeeper Bill was the best host and each morning he greeted us with a delightful breakfast that left you full and happy...

Room Tip: ask where the room is located...if its near the kitchen or outside deck,pool or dining area cause fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a short getaway from Chicago. We stayed in the admiral room which has a living area with couches great for reading, a private entrance, a whirlpool tub and shower and a comfortable bedroom. Everything was wonderful. The innkeepers were very helpful and nice and breakfast was great! My husband and I look forward to going to South Cliff Inn again this winter for another romantic getaway!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is a very nice B&B right on the shores of Lake Michigan. We were warmly greeted by the owner and checked in with no problems. Our room was nice and had everything we needed. It was an upstairs room. The owner was friendly and available to answer our questions about the Inn and St. Joe. We had a great breakfast (included). The room rate was very reasonable for this small tourist town. We enjoyed our complimentary wine in the evening and our coffee in the morning on the deck outside overlooking the lake.

This B&B is very well kept and was very clean and appealing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the GABLES room. Some of the rooms are a little bigger but this was all we needed. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B and we are so glad we decided to give it a try. Bill is an absolutely fabulous host and baker! A hot, delicious breakfast each morning along with a chilled glass of wine and deliciously paired cheese each evening, just topped off our visit. We stayed for 4 days and enjoyed every moment! I had to continue my 5 o'clock wine and cheese "tradition" at home! The accomodations, setting, scenery and overall ambience of his home was very welcoming and relaxing. We stayed in the Admiral's Suite and enjoyed the space it provided. The Inn is just a short walk to the beach which was not overcrowded and was very clean. Also enjoyed all of the shops and eateries. Loved Bill's suggestion of Ryebelles for dinner. We loved the firecracker shrimp and the House Favorite brick oven pizza. My husband and I highly recommend this beautiful, relaxing Inn and hope to return soon ourselves!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JBCBASK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at South Cliff Inn for our 1 year anniversary. We absolutely loved it! The view from the sunset room is amazing. Breakfast and coffee were excellent. The owner takes very good care of everything - spotless rooms with great linens, lovely garden area, etc. We will go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvnnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west central Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We chose South Cliff IInn as a destination for a mini-class reunion for five high school buddies and their wives. We couldn't have asked for a better location or accomodations.

We had spectacular views of Lake Michigan from the back decks (which, unfortunately for the other guests, we monopolized way too much) as well as quiet times in the garden out back. The sunsets over Lake Michigan are special highlights.

But the inn is also within easy walking distance of both the beaches and the downtown area. The hosts are extremely helpful in suggesting places to eat as well as recommending things to do in the area.

The only thing less than perfect was the serving time for breakfasts on the weekend. We had to wait until 10:00 AM, which for some people probably isn't a bad time, but for us it seemed a bit late. But the breakfasts are definitely worth waiting for! And coffe and tea are set out early for us early risers.

The inn is clean and cozy, and the rooms are well appointed, spacious, and comfortable. Two have balconies looking toward the lake. We ate breakfast each morning on the large deck, but there is plenty of room inside for dining if the weather doesn't co-operate.

Overall, it was a wonderful long weekend of getting caught up on each others' lives since high school as well as experiencing the wonderful area of southwest Michigan. We plan to reprise this mini-reunion in the future and will most likely return to St.Joe and the South Cliff Inn. It's well worth a return visit.

Room Tip: The Study Room and the Sunset Room have balconies overlooking Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank meschers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
3.7 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Cliff Inn

Property: South Cliff Inn
Address: 1900 Lakeshore Drive, Saint Joseph, MI 49085
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
South Cliff Hotel Saint Joseph

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing