We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again! Overcharged & poor service! It's only saving grace is location.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never Again! Overcharged & poor service! It's only saving grace is location.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband & I just left this morning & will never stay again nor will we refer friends or family. I called before arrival & my room rates were confirmed. Upping checking was treating horribly when we said our rate was incorrect. I said the receptionist confirmed, but was told that nothing could be done. No sympathy or apology or attempt to rectify. I am livid.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MRauen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Public Relations Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are sorry that you feel this was an error on our part. You had booked your stay online where our rates are visible, and you also confirmed the rates upon checking in. I am sorry that you felt the rate was not appropriate after the fact, however, in this area summer rates are always more than the winter rates; with all the area hotels. Our system automatically sends an email confirmation as well, and you had booked back on April 15, 2014. Next time please check the confirmation email and that way there will not be confusion. We enjoyed having you here, we hope you will return.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    90
    103
    88
    153
See reviews for
165
153
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The pictures posted online made us think we were heading towards a luxurious hotel in wine country. To our disappointment, these pictures were not anything like the dated hotel our GPS led us to. The front desk clerk told us we came at the wrong time of year and that we wouldn't be able to find anything to do. Luckily we wandered the town and it was actually a great location! After getting to our room we rolled our suitcases through puddles of toilet water from the toilet that seemed to be running for days. Needless to say we cancelled our reservation for night #2.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mgartner08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Public Relations Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
First and foremost thank you for staying with us. We do have clean rooms and a can't beat our location. Our staff is really great and we love our guests. We are working on updating the exterior paint so hopefully we will see you back soon! We bought this hotel a few years back and are working towards bringing all aspects of it up to the quality we feel it should be, thanks for being patient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Center, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Silver Beach Hotel despite the reviews. I will say the exterior of the building leaves more than something to desire. But once you are inside the lobby is beautiful. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The facility is older. THE ROOM WAS CLEAN! That's a big thing for me. It is within walking distance of the shops and places to eat & drink , the beach and everything it has to offer. We had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Public Relations Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. As we continually work towards updating and renovating this hotel its guests like you that make everyday here great! Please come again and have a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyer, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I enjoyed the stay here. Room was clean, staff was great. You couldn't beat the location...parked the car and didn't have to drive anyplace...all is right in walking distance. The morning breakfast was awesome as well..something for everyone! Price per night is not bad.
Thanks Silver Beach...I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellie439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Public Relations Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The entrance is very unwelcoming and strange, dated interior and the bar is a big negative, the constant yelling and shouting as people were leaving didn't stop until 3 am, between that, the loud air conditioner and the toilet running, who could sleep! Sliders didn't have working locks and we had to rely on night latch because security bolt was broken. We couldn't wait to check out! Would not return to this hotel! Front desk people were great!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tml1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Public Relations Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
First thank you for staying with us. We apologize about the bar noise. Every once in a while we have to manage it, usually it is quiet. Please do come again and let us know you would like a quiet room away from the street side and we will accommodate you. We will check the rooms, we replaced all our door handles with new card locks this winter so please let us know which room you were in by private message on our Facebook page, or through our website and we will check it right away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Staff was nice, room was clean and location was great. The bar downstairs had no appetizers. But the bar maiden was nice. It's an older motel but good for the price. Only faults was shower head was to low and the water surged from cold to hot on its own.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Public Relations Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks for staying with us and the feedback! We hope to see you again here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times prior and always had a good experience. We have always stayed in the King Jacuzzi Suite. I Love the Jacuzzi! It's Huge! Big enough for two to enjoy. Beds are super comfy, plenty of pillows. Working balcony (although small). Do Not expect a grand view of Lake Michigan, there are large buildings blocking the view but to be fair you can see the lake. This hotel is located so you are in walking distance to the beach, down town, curious kids museum, and other attractions. I have always found the staff very courteous & helpful. Never used the pool area so can't speak on that. I will return.

Room Tip: Higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvthesun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Public Relations Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks so much, we can't wait to see you again. Thanks for staying at the Silver Beach Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
0.3 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Property: Silver Beach Hotel
Address: 100 Main St, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-1108
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Beach Saint Joseph
Hotel Silver Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing