We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver beach”
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the Silver Beach because we were attending a family wedding. It's probably the nicest hotel in St.Joesph and is ideally located close to town and the beach. The beach is very nice, clean and beautiful. The hotel itself is extremely overpriced for the value. The rooms are nothing fancy, reminiscent of an outdated Holiday Inn. The hotel staff was courteous and always helpful. Breakfast is included but is bare bones. The hotel needs to be updated. I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the lake and not the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WatsonA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is clean. As a solo traveler, I felt safe in this area. The price per night was $275 in the month of July. You are paying for location! The location is great - walking distance from local bars & restaurants & you are right on the beach.
By no means is it a 5 star hotel - I would probably rate it about 3 stars. I found a price of $90 at a hotel within 3 miles of this location that was just as nice. I would save your money unless you must be within walking distance. I am not sure if cabs exist in this location!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I checked into this hotel because it was by the beach and walking distance from downtown St. Joseph and I was in complete shock when I opened the door to my room. It was so dirty, the sliding glass doors had handprints all over them, the bath tub was black with weird soap, shampoo, and conditioner dispensers in the shower. There was a layer of dust on the tables. The bed skirts were filthy. My family and I left because of how disgusting this hotel is. Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Melissa98762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband & I booked the King Spa Suite for a romantic getaway. We have never stayed in any hotel in St. Joseph, Michigan. The pictures on the hotel website didn't quite match up with reality. The lobby area is beautiful but the rest of the hotel is in need of updating. We weren't impressed with the breakfast provided. We have been to much cheaper hotels that served a better breakfast. For the price we paid, I expected better accomodations!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank millerwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed this week with kids. We were nervous based on the reviews- but were pleasantly surprised! Its very close to everything, service is great, and our room is nice and big. Its not a fancy room- but ours was updated and clean. No complaints on the room. It was a king spa room - and appears recently updated- but not super swanky. The bed was very comfortable. Also- the view was beautiful- there is a river to the left and in the distance the lake. The town, parking lot and buildings are in view- but it is still very nice to stand on the balcony and enjoy. Beautiful beach, cite town, and good restaurants! Overall enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariah513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and i with our 2 small children stayed here. It was in a good location to the local restaurants and sight seeing. The room itself was average. I thought the beds were comfortable. It was small but it served its purpose. The staff i thought couldve been friendly. The front desk were decent but there was a worker working the breakfast who was very rude. We ended up leaving a day early, and the front desk refunded us without any questions or pushback.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is the location.
Other than that, it is ridiculously overpriced for what it is. It looks like they tried to renovate it without success. The room was dirty, employers looked unhappy. The general manager had a lost look on her face as if she did not know where to start to turn the place around.
We booked online and had a slight discount on the room though as other reviews stated, for the prices they charge, you do expect more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Oxana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
75 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
5.8 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Address: 100 Main St, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-1108
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range: £71 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Beach Saint Joseph
Hotel Silver Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing