We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Great hotel, attentive staff, fabulous location, Clean. Pool area clean, hot tub very clean.
Everything here was perfect. Across the street from Lake Michigan.

This hotel knows what it is doing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darsben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was the first time at this HIE. When I’m in the area I usually stay in New Buffalo or Holland because the rates are usually 25%+ higher at this location. When I booked, they were right in-line with the others. I managed to stay during the middle of the March hot spell. It was great, booked a standard room and got upgraded to a lake view suite. Nice view, enjoyed sitting on the balcony. The only down fall is the electrical lines in-between the balcony and lake. Hotel/Room/Bathroom was in good shape, you can tell they get traffic through there. I’ll stay again if the rate is right.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khaak00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I decided to get away for a very short three day vacation and chose St. Joseph. I stayed at the Holiday Inn and express for rewards night. this was a very nice hotel and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. the suites were very large and the bed was wonderful. the area was very nice as well with a good mexican restaurant right next door and the downtown was only a mile or two away. great place!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The night we checked in was on a Friday, and our visit started off kinda of ruff, with the night front desk clerk giving us a hard time about the price. I'm so glad I printed off the internet deal so I can prove to him he had the wrong price! When we finally got to our room I was actually impress! We had the lake side view witch was nice, and the room was huge! Saturday morning we had breakfast at the hotel, it was good. Our second night we countered some drunk people right down the hall from us being VERY LOUD!! The couple even took it as far as to lay down in the middle of the hall, and shout out some nice swear words! Finally after the third call down to the front desk, they actually took care of the situation. Besides all the BS if I had to I would stay there again?

Room Tip: Check online prices before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Callard79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stjmi, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

We value all of our guest's opinions and the business they provide our property. However, after researching this stay, we have found there was absolutely no pricing error. The inconvenience that was experienced at check in was due to the credit card declined. Once an alternative form of payment was provided the situation was resolved.
Our property did have a group staying with us in which a few of the members had a little too much fun that night and did disturb a few of our other guests. We apologize for this unpleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I cannot say enough about this hotel. Great staff, great location, great town. Can't wait to stay again. Girls up front are very helpful and knowledgeable, the cleaning staff is right on, and the Continental Breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack133333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

after calling this hotel and being assured by Amanda that the presidential suite came with a jacuzzi in the bedroom not the bathroom just as the website stated we booked 2 nights. As soon as we checked in and saw the room the whole anniversery celebration was doomed. No jacuzzi in the bedroom as promised. A large very outdated room. We were then told the only jacuzzi room was on first floor. It ended up being a handicapped room that looked more like a hospital room. Can't imagine a handicapped person getting in a jacuzzi. Also so noisy we couldn't sleep. When we asked for a quiter room a young man at the front desk was helpful but the middle aged man with him with the glasses was rude. He snapped "what's wrong with the room". And argued with us when we told him their website misrepresented the presidential suite as jacuzzi in the bedroom. Jeez why would we make it up, we wanted to stay in a jacuzzi suite.Read the website before you insult the guests. Only stayed one nite. Went on to silver beach for 2nd nite because holiday inn wanted to charge us more for second nite. Unreal. Silver beach was much worse. St. Joseph Mi in need of better lodging. Not a fan.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nana503415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aheugel, Owner at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

I'm very sorry you were dissatisfied. There are definitely discrepencies between what this review states and the information that is actually on our website. Also, the most disturbing statement is " Can't imagine a handicapped person getting in a jacuzzi." This statement is very offensive and discourages people with physical disabilites to travel. Please refer to the Americans With Disabilities Act Title III and you will have a better understanding of why we make our jacuzzis accessible to all guests, it's the law.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel during Halloween weekend in October 2011. Staff are friendly. We stayed in a room with two queens. The room was big, clean, and had a refrigerator and microwave. Location was excellent, just a five minute ride to downtown Saint Joseph, Michigan. Pool was clean. Hot tub was also clean and hot. Very nice and relaxing lobby with a television. Complimentary breakfast had all the basics and was good quality food. Would come back!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
2.8 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
220 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
271 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
75 reviews
3.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Benton Harbor-St. Joseph River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph

Address: 3019 Lakeshore Dr, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-2659
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range: £77 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Joseph offers beautiful accommodations for a night, a business trip or an entire vacation. Our hotel offers free high-speed Internet access, a fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub, and a business center. Overlooking Lake Michigan, our hotel is minutes from Family Fun's top rated Silver Beach, Curious Kid's Museum, the historic North Pier Lighthouse, Warren Dunes, New Buffalo's Four Winds Casino, and quaint downtown St. Joseph, where there are numerous sidewalk cafes, restaurants, art galleries, antiques, and unique shops for all ages. Our St. Joseph hotel is conveniently located near Whirlpool, Leco, Bosch, AEP D.C. Cook Plant and Lakeland Hospital. Our event space and outstanding service makes the St. Joseph Holiday Inn Express & Suites 'The Place to Meet'. Our staff will coordinate every detail of your event making us the best St. Joseph hotel for meetings, banquets, reunions, showers, conferences, and family gatherings. Come and stay at the hotel to enjoy St. Joseph's outstanding annual events including Krasl Art Fair on the Bluff, The Venetian Festival, Whirlpool Steelhead Triathlon, and Tri-State Regatta. St. Joseph Holiday Inn Express & Suites: everything you expect...and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph Hotel Saint Joseph
Holiday Inn St Joseph
Holiday Inn Saint Joseph
Saint Joseph Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing