We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is very good! Staff are friendly and help me everytime I need. Although location is not close to downtown, it has a good view of Lake Michigan. There are restaurants near, drugstore and also a supermarket. Good choice!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guilherme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stjmi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guilhwerme421,

Thank you for taking time to post your review of our hotel. Our staff enjoyed having you stay with us while visiting from Brazil. We understand the 2 mile trek into the downtown area is inconvenience if you do not have a vehicle. However, myself or other staff members at the hotel would be more than happy to assist you with transportation should you visit again. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Marc LaRoux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here off season so prices were very reasonable. Staff was friendly and rooms were spacious. I am particular about cleanliness in hotels and this one overall was clean.
I will continue to stay as rooms are available. It's the perfect location and have no complaints!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karly2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stjmi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Karly2486,

Thank you very much for staying with us while in town . We appreciate your feedback and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the staff's friendliness, that our rooms were clean. We hope to see you again in the future when you are in the Saint Joseph area for another visit.

Sincerely,
Marc LaRoux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed her a couple of days on Points, very nice area and hotel. Unable to upgrade due to availability, but still nice and so close to everything we wanted to do. We had a king size room overlooking the courtyard.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stjmi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear kyleally,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to our area. We take great pride in our accommodations and service. We are happy you were able to enjoy our hotel's proximity to all the area has to offer. Thanks again for staying with and we hope to see you again when visiting the Saint Joseph Area.

Sincerely,
Marc LaRoux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The room was clean and very nice, but we faced the lake with a balcony beautiful view of lake but sunset couldn't see to well because of a tree in front. Couldn't really sit out there when it got dark because of too many spiders. Don't know if I would stay again at over 200.00 a night.

Room Tip: Don't take a lake front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ron71420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stjmi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Ron71420,

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are glad to hear you found your room nice and clean and enjoyed the view with exception to the tree. We are sorry to hear about your experience on the balcony during the night time. We take many steps in attempt to prevent this however this summer has proven very difficult. We appreciate all the feedback our guests present us with as it helps in area where we can improve.

Sincerely,
Marc LaRoux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have stayed in this hotel several times and everytime has been great. The staff is extremely nice and helpful....the pool area is clean and the rooms are clean. The breakfast is always good. We are only an hour away but love to get in last minute overnight trips to St Joe, we love it there.
Robert Mann

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stjmi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Robert and Kelly,

We thank you for taking your time to post a review of our hotel. We appreciate your family chooses to stay with us when visiting the Saint Joseph area as there are many other choices. We hope your children weren't to disappointed the Whirlpool Fountain was closed for repairs during your stay. However, it is scheduled to reopen on 08/01/14. We hope your family will have the chance to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Marc LaRoux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went on vacation to St Joseph with our two young children (ages 2 and 9 months) and finding a hotel where we would ALL get good sleep was a must. We stayed at this hotel from a Monday to a Friday in one of their Kids Suites. We had two queen beds, a small kitchen (microwave and mini fridge) and a little living room area in one room, and then a completely separate room with its own door and bunkbeds and a TV.

At first I thought we'd put both kids in the bunkbed room, but to our surprise, the closet was big enough to fit a regular size pack n play, and was pitch black when you closed the door. So with a sound machine running, it was perfect!! Both kids had their own rooms, and my husband and I could still spend time together after they went to bed at 8:30.

As others reviewers have mentioned, the staff was all super friendly. Great attitudes and superior service. Breakfast was always stocked, and they even gave all the kids beach balls on the Friday morning before we checked out. Rooms were really clean and updated. The pool and hot tub were great. Parking was free.

In terms of location, we were a five minute drive from the Lions Park Beach and Silver Beach and downtown St. Joseph- which was perfect because we could just come right home when the kids needed to nap and didn't spend much time at all in the car going to and from. My husband and I both said with small kids, the extra cost of being in St. Joseph was worth it for the convenience of being able to run back and forth as needed.

My only qualm was the price of the rooms. We paid $200/night. But I guess that's normal for peak season?? Overall, we were very very pleased with this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stjmi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hello Ashley O,

Thank you for your wonderful review here on TripAdvisor.com! We really appreciate you sharing your experience with us and others and mentioning the friendliness of our staff members.

We hope to you again soon!

Marc L.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend and enjoyed the location and the friendly staff. Room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. A hot breakfast was an added bonus. The kids enjoyed the pool, although there seemed to be a lot of chlorine in there. The location can't be beat. There is a lake view across the street and the hotel is a short drive from downtown St. Joe. We would stay there again, although its a bit pricy, but that's expected during their busy season.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meredith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stjmi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to post you review "Great location and friendly staff'. We realize there are many hotel choices in our area and appreciate you and your family chose to stay with us while visiting the Saint Joseph area. Also, your review was shared with our maintenance staff regarding the pool chlorine to ensure this experience is not repeated. We look forward to seeing again and hope you and your family have a wonderful summer!
Sincerely,
Marc LaRoux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
2.8 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
223 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
270 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
3.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Benton Harbor-St. Joseph River
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph

Address: 3019 Lakeshore Dr, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-2659
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range: £74 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Joseph offers beautiful accommodations for a night, a business trip or an entire vacation. Our hotel offers free high-speed Internet access, a fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub, and a business center. Overlooking Lake Michigan, our hotel is minutes from Family Fun's top rated Silver Beach, Curious Kid's Museum, the historic North Pier Lighthouse, Warren Dunes, New Buffalo's Four Winds Casino, and quaint downtown St. Joseph, where there are numerous sidewalk cafes, restaurants, art galleries, antiques, and unique shops for all ages. Our St. Joseph hotel is conveniently located near Whirlpool, Leco, Bosch, AEP D.C. Cook Plant and Lakeland Hospital. Our event space and outstanding service makes the St. Joseph Holiday Inn Express & Suites 'The Place to Meet'. Our staff will coordinate every detail of your event making us the best St. Joseph hotel for meetings, banquets, reunions, showers, conferences, and family gatherings. Come and stay at the hotel to enjoy St. Joseph's outstanding annual events including Krasl Art Fair on the Bluff, The Venetian Festival, Whirlpool Steelhead Triathlon, and Tri-State Regatta. St. Joseph Holiday Inn Express & Suites: everything you expect...and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph Hotel Saint Joseph
Holiday Inn St Joseph
Holiday Inn Saint Joseph
Saint Joseph Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing