We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch in Everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed in the Royal Oak room and it was so relaxing! Our daughter is 19 months old. We hadn't had a night away just the two of us since she was born and now we are pregnant with our second. It was so wonderful to get away! The fireplace, jacuzzi, coffee on the porch in the morning looking out at the gorgeous property, the bed was so comfortable.... it was just what we needed. Jitka was out of town while we were there but John was a perfect host and cook. He even tweaked the morning menu for my husband who doesn't like fruit and substituted with cinnamon steel cut oats. Everything tasted fresh and delicious, the home and room were extremely clean, and John gave us helpful tourist advice but also graced us with his some pretty cool stories of his life! We would love to go back again!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

I surprised my now fiance with a stay in the Royal Oak Room at Dove's Nest; it was incredible! The room is very spacious, nicely decorated, very comfortable (I wanted to buy the mattress), and most of all romantic. There is a 6-foot jacuzzi tub and the entire room is made of oak. As you will learn, John built 95% of this property by himself! My father was a carpenter so I recognize excellent craftsmanship. This piece is laid out! Moreover, John is an excellent host (Jitka was out of town taking care of a family member when we were there, but heard she is fabulous) and a fabulous cook. I was able to eat fresh grilled tomatoes from the garden every morning. Bottom line, I recommend this place to everyone and promise you will enjoy your stay. Not to mention you will be right along the Michigan Wine Trail and 15minutes from downtown St. Joes. Dove's Nest is the best B&B we have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Dove Nest is handy for downtown St. Joseph, also for wine-tasting at some beautiful vineyards. We stayed in the Royal Oak room which was lovely, and huge - with private deck, and bathroom it was like having a suite. The owners were extremely cordial and helpful, and interesting to talk to. The whole property was immaculate and tasteful, with a serene, tranquil atmosphere. Breakfast was elegant and delicious. We are already planning another trip there!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Having never been to anywhere in Michigan except the Detroit airport, my wife and I were very pleasantly surprised to find such a friendly, manner in St. Joseph.

Jitka and John were very welcoming hosts who worked very hard to provide the kind of relaxation that we were seeking. We stayed in the room overlooking the pond, providing a lovely breeze and nice view of the water feature. Every night, when we returned from our day's excursion, a pair of Jitka's tasty dessert treats was on freshly placed upon our dresser. Each morning was a new three course breakfast, complete with variety, great taste, and beautiful presentation. (We typically weren't even hungry again until late afternoon.)

The gardens surrounding the sprawling residence adorn each twist and turn. The grounds are superbly kept and create a tranquil environment for a stroll down by the pond area or a lazy view of the sunset from their fabulous deck seating. (Note: If weather permits, Jitka and John will serve your breakfast outside!)

With a wealth of traveling, life experiences, and global guest engagement, the proprietors of the Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast will go more than the extra mile to make your stay a wonderful getaway to southern Michigan. We look forward to our next

Room Tip: Pond view room was a winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Dove Nest Inn is unique, having been literally built by hand, an impressively pretty retreat that makes you feel comfortably secluded from the hustle of the world. I appreciated the quiet of the well-tended gardens and grounds, and very much enjoyed the pond with the Adirondack chairs overlooking the water and the doves cooing nearby. Had I had more time, I'd have liked to caught a nap in the hammocks. As it was, I slept like a log and relished the elegant breakfasts prepared by Jitka and served by John. The baked goods they set out between meals were also a welcome treat, especially after our drive from Chicago and a busy week at the office had us arriving late on a Friday night. I'd recommend this B&B to anyone, and I think it would be a fine accommodation for a group vacation of family or friends.

Room Tip: The Garden View Room has a private bathroom attached, which includes a bathtub with showerhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arthur_Carvajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had 4 woman staying in the down stairs suite and shared wonderful memories. John and Jitka were amazing people and Jitka was an incredible chief while John served our breakfast out on their deck full of hundreds of planters all perfectly blooming as we ate our 3 course breakfast. When we arrived our first evening the smell of chocolate chip cookies drew us in to the dining area for a small evening snack. One evening my friend and I looked out the window to view the pond and ornate walk way below perfect reading and relaxing area. The Dove Nest Bed & Breakfast offers beauty, comfort, delicious food and a peaceful getaway perfect for 4 Mom's needing a break or newly weds or even a traveler interviewing for a job we visited with during our stay. I can't wait to share this experience with my husband!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Dove Nest was beautiful, super clean and spacious! The hosts were awesome as well. This was our first B&B experience and we loved it. The food was so good and plentiful that we never ate the rest of the day! Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Royal Oak room was great; had our own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
220 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
6.1 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Benton Harbor-St. Joseph River
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5000 Scottdale Rd, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-9388
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range: £176 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dove Nest B&B in St.Joseph,MI is very well known for its fine accommodation, delightful, hearty breakfasts, friendly and homey atmosphere. Hosting international guests from all over the world, Dove Nest received 2013 Certificate of Excellence being recognized as the Top-Performing business on Trip Advisor. St. Joseph’s Dove Nest B&B is uniquely surrounded by vineyards and apple orchards. Away from the noise of highways and major roads it offers serenity and peacefulness. Located very close to a beautiful Lake Michigan with its sandy beaches and unforgettable sunsets. 15 wineries are just a few miles away from our B&B; it makes us a destination for guests who love wine tasting . WHAT MAKES OUR DOVE NEST A DISTINCTIVE B&B EXPERIENCE? Is it an ambiance of burning fireplace in each room? Elegant bedrooms each uniquely designed and fully appointed? Comfy bed or luxury bedding? Our gardens with hundreds of shrubs, trees, plants, pond and dove aviaries? Serenity of surrounding? Or is it ALL THE ABOVE bundled together with excellent breakfasts, wonderful hospitality and friendliness of Dove Nest’s innkeepers? That’s what makes Dove Nest B&B in Saint Joseph, NOT JUST A PLACE TO STAY………it makes it an experience……YOUR EXPERIENCE!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing