We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Potential, Still Rough Around the Edges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Harbor Shores
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Potential, Still Rough Around the Edges”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Inn has much to attract visitors to St. Joseph: access to the water for boating, river views with sailboats (my grand daughters liked watching the dredging and construction referred to earlier as well), good food in the restaurants (try the ribs at the tavern), an indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub for days the beach is undesirable due to storms or cold, nice rooms with comfortable beds and small balconies. There are a few issues I would place on management that should not exist in a new complex in this price range. When I read in an earlier review about the fan noise in the bathroom, I questioned the "pickiness' of the reviewer. I apologize for those thoughts. The effect of the nicely appointed bathroom is spoiled by the very loud fan noise (think hairdryer on high next to your head) that turns on automatically with the light. Try to turn the fan off and the light goes out. Both will go out automatically if you spend too much time in the shower. Bathroom doors are on cheap plastic slider guides, do not lock, and mine was off track when I arrived. To continue with the fan theme (honestly I do not usually review fans!), if you sit on the balcony while the room air conditioning fan is on, you will need to move your chairs away from one side to avoid the hot air and the noise. The hotel staff were for the most part gracious but uneven in professionalism; they need more training. For example, a woman I met on the elevator was going down to the front desk for the third trip in 20 minutes to get her electronic key to work. After the first attempt to fix it by the front desk did not work, someone should have accompanied her! The tavern has food service but while the food was good the service was almost nonexistent and required repeated trips to the bar after long waits despite being assured there was table service and only 4 customers at the bar. Despite all this I like the place and hope they take the necessary steps to get to the next level.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorBill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnAtHarborShores, Owner at The Inn at Harbor Shores, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Doctorbill2014,
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate the experiences you and your family enjoyed at our Inn. I will share this with our entire staff so we can continue to improve the overall experience for all our Guests. I welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly about your stay, and your thoughtful suggestions about how we can improve our services. I can be reached at (616) 212-7340 or by email edvan@theedgehospitality.com anytime day or night. We look forward to ensuring you will be a guest of ours long into the future.
Warmest Regards,
Ed Vandenack
The Inn at Harbor Shores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    49
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
64
58
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel JUST opened and is beautiful, inside and out!! I stayed for a night and had a wonderful experience. The staff are all super friendly and willing to go above and beyond to help you out with any/all questions or concerns you may have. The outside pool/bar area are very relaxing and inviting with couches and plenty of umbrellas providing shade. We tried a few of the items off the outside lunch and dinner menu that were all delicious!!! Once getting into the room, they are super clean and the beds are the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. Highly recommend staying at this hotel for a resort upscale experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggieharmsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnAtHarborShores, Owner at The Inn at Harbor Shores, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear maggiehermson,
Thank you for your review of The Inn at Harbor Shores. We appreciate your review of our Hotel and Restaurant. We will make sure our entire staff sees your kind words. It is our mission make sure all our Guests have a truly memorable experience. We look forward to having you as our Guest again soon!
Warmest Regards,
Ed Vandenack
The Inn at Harbor Shores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Newest best hotel in the town but it somehow feels like short cuts were taken for some reason. Rooms are clean and spacious. Property is convenient to downtown on a nice pice of property. View may one day be great but today is an industrial view of barges and such.

Water in shower lacks pressure to even make it to end of shower. No bathtub for littles ones is not conducive to ease of cleaning children. Auto lights are a pain shutting off unless there is motion and staying on when you would like to turn off. Love the Keurig!

Electric in plug did not work next to bed so no bed side light or outlet.

Restaurant service very slow despite minimal guests. Prices too high and food just okay. Plenty of restaurants in downtown but a pain for breakfast. Taking over an hour for breakfast is not good!

Some of the issues might be newness but they need to work them out quickly!

Room Tip: Get a view of the water despite the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnAtHarborShores, Owner at The Inn at Harbor Shores, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear M R,
Thank you for your review of The Inn. Your comments and suggestions are excellent and we will share them with our entire staff as it is our mission to ensure all our guests have a truly memorable experience. We look forward to having you as our Guest again soon!
Warmest Regards,
Ed Vandenack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia City, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel July 19th. I had reserved a " harbour view" room prior to our arrival. We checked in about 3:50 pm........check-in is at 4pm. The front desk lady proceeded to tell me that the room wasn't clean. She left the front desk to go up to the 6th floor and check. She then gave us another room on the 6th floor. We go up with our four children (7 and under), and all our luggage, only to realize the room was occupied!!!! So, we went back down to the front desk where the lady was kinda like "oh, ok". She then said the only room she could give us was the parking lot view room. The manager (I think it was the manager?????) then said to give him a few minutes and he would get it figured out. We waited.........and waited.........and waited (with our 4 children). Almost an hour later we were finally given a room. The front desk lady said she was going to discount us for the room and the manger said he was going to call us once we got to the room. Neither one of these things happened. VERY disappointing. The rooms, however, we're very nice, clean and big. The rest of the stay was nice, but the management is much to be desired!

Room Tip: May not get what you request/ asked for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnAtHarborShores, Owner at The Inn at Harbor Shores, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear ,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of The Inn at Harbor Shores. We want to ensure all our guests have an absolutely perfect stay. We understand how the issues you encountered at check in greatly inconvenienced you and your family and we sincerely apologize. It is our goal that every guest has a truly remarkable stay. We take all our Guest's feedback very seriously and value your opinions. I welcome you to call us directly to discuss these issues and make things right with you. Give us a call or email at your earliest convenience. You can reach us at (269)983-1111 or evandenack@innatharborshores.com anytime. Thank you!
Ed Vandenack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

After having been opened for only seven weeks and just hosted the Senior PGA at the adjacent Harbor Shores Golf Club, there were still "bugs" to work out. The room was comfortable and well kept and the staff were very helpful and wanting to please their guests. Our room overlooked the water and while there was some dredging of the channel going on during the weekday, it was quiet on the weekend. The view of the gravel yard across the inlet would be of some concern if the complex plans to expand with condo's and other rentals in the coming years. The bathroom motion sensor lights were a "pain" and kept going on even if you were just passing on your way to the closet or out the door. But, when you really needed them to stay on while showering, they went off! It was only during checkout did we finally learn that if we had clapped our hands while in the shower the lights would have gone on again (no instructions and no information book in the room to describe this and other amenities of the hotel). Also, the shower had no grab bar to help balance yourself while washing, let alone if you were elderly or handicapped. The exhaust fan was noisy and did not need to go on every time the lights went on -- separate switch for fan would be nice. Could not find the toilet paper holder (it was tucked too far under the sink cabinet). The night light was appreciated. The balcony could have used a small table to place a cup or book while sitting out. The walls in the room were sparse with the art work to liven it up.
Outside, they could have used some better access steps to go from the outdoor dining area to the water/pool area. Saw a number of guests just walking through their new landscape in search of the pathway (on the end and not obvious) to the outdoor pool and bar -- a simple thing that should have been corrected by now.
The indoor pool floor surface was dangerously slippery even with rubber soled shoes (an accident waiting to happen!). Noisy elevator cab and small for getting a luggage cart inside.
I look forward to seeing improvements.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnAtHarborShores, Owner at The Inn at Harbor Shores, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review of The Inn at Harbor Shores! We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your stay here. We also share all the reviews with our staff to help us improve our services and make sure all our Guests have a truly memorable experience. We look forward to having you as our Guest again soon!
Warmest Regards,
Ed Vandenack
The Inn at Harbor Shores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Villa, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Walking in you see a beautiful view of the glass sculpture hanging in the entry way, upon looking around you see the Planks Tavern with the view to the outside seating by the harbor. You just take a deep breath and know you our on vacation. Rooms were outstanding. Food in the restaurant was very high quality, enjoyed by kids and adults. Kids enjoyed the hot tub and the pool. Seating outside by the pool was vey comfortable. We are going back in September to stay for our 20 year anniversary.

Room Tip: If they are available, the rooms where there is a harbor view is very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnAtHarborShores, Owner at The Inn at Harbor Shores, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear CB,
Thank you for your review of The Inn at Harbor Shores. We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your stay here. We are glad to hear you found things relaxing and enjoyable. We look forward to having you as our Guest again in September fro your Anniversary!
Warmest Regards,
Ed Vandenack
The Inn at Harbor Shores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at The Inn at Harbor Shores July 11th and 12th as part of a wedding group. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but most important to us was the professionalism, kindness, and attention to detail shown by the sales manager, Erica, Kristi and the food and beverage staff. They made the welcoming reception we hosted Friday evening and the farewell brunch on Sunday very enjoyable experiences for us, the bride and groom, and our guests. I would not hesitate to host another event here, Also, the food was not only tasty but beautifully presented.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnAtHarborShores, Owner at The Inn at Harbor Shores, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Janet,
Thank you for your review of The Inn at Harbor Shores. We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your stay here. We will make sure our entire staff sees your kind words. It is our mission make sure all our Guests have a truly memorable experience. We look forward to having you as our Guest again soon!
Warmest Regards,
Ed Vandenack
The Inn at Harbor Shores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
0.7 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Harbor Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Harbor Shores

Property: The Inn at Harbor Shores
Address: 800 Whitwam Dr, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-1105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Harbor Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Harbor Shores opened in May 2014 and is Southwest Michigan's most exciting venue to stay, play, retreat, and eat. Situated on a harbor just 1/4 mile to Lake Michigan, The Inn at Harbor Shores features a marina, waterfront restaurant called Plank's Tavern, dockside bar, full service spa, Rise & Vine- a coffee shop & wine bar, area shuttle, meeting & special event space, a line up of entertainment and events, 12 miles of walking trails, water sports rentals with launch, bicycle rental, beaches and shops within a 5 minute drive, and championship Jack Nicklaus golf course (hosting The KitchenAid Sr PGA Championship on even years 2012 through 2024). All guestrooms at The Inn feature a sliding glass door leading to a private balcony, undercounter refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker, all Michigan art, and more. Complimentary wi-fi, fitness center, outdoor pool, indoor pool, indoor/outdoor whirlpool, complimentary (seasonal) s'mores and drip coffee for guests, and well-lit parking round out the guest's experience. The Inn emulates an over-scaled lakeside cottage influenced by the classic coastal architecture of late 19th and early 20th century Lake Michigan hotels yet features all the conveniences of modern day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Harbor Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing