We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boulevard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boulevard Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
indy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“On the Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

the Boulevard provides a much more than adequate stay in a great setting - decent size clean suite, complete complimentary hot breakfast, parking AND on the park overlooking Lake Michigan! Saturday Farmer's market, activities on the park/beach at the bottom of the ridge, bike riding/walking choices; great for a night's stay or longer!

Room Tip: city side and weekdays slightly less expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    98
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
76
85
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

After a long driving day from Kansas City, we stumbled upon the Boulevard Inn in St. Joseph, MI. What a find! It's site across from the memorial park and overlooking the beach are ideal for those who like to walk a bit. The ambiance was wonderful, with lots of wood, brass, and glass. A classic upscale hotel with a nostalgic motif. We enjoyed dinner on the terrace overlooking the park, and slept soundly in our mini-suite room. Next day we walked the park and the beach before continuing our journey. We are so pleased to have discovered the Boulevard Inn. This is a great little hotel with a great staff!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed one Monday night in Sept. 2011 while in the area for business meetings. Nice that parking is free in city and hotel. Location is great across the street from waterfront park and walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. Free breakfast is nothing special, mostly cereal, yogurt and some bread items. Room was clean, roomy and a bit dated, but I don't think people come here to spend a lot of time in the room. Was a bit pricey at almost $200 per night even with corporate discount. Beware that the side facing the lake is also the side facing the train tracks (which are not visible from hotel). This matters because I am a light sleeper and found out that the train blows its horn when passing through, which unfortunately woke me up a few times in the night/morning. Next time I will ask for a room facing town.

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank eliseivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We loved our three nights at the Boulevard Inn. We traveled there with our adult daughter and many friends and neighbors for a wedding. The staff were professional and attentive. The kitchenette was so helpful for gatherings in the various rooms. Breakfast and drinks at the hotel restaurant were well presented, the service was great and the ambience was friendly and welcoming. The sleeper sofa in the sitting room could use an upgrade, but all in all the stay was wonderful and I would recommend the Boulevard Inn highly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyF51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

all in all, i liked this hotel. but boy, that was expensive. i didn't like it that much. not for what you got. for that kind of money i expect complimentary drinks and a paper sitting outside the door in the morning. i expect a lock to gain admittance. i expect two guys standing there, smiles on their faces, making sure everybody is on the up and up.

there was none of that. it was just a better than average hotel.

the room we had was pretty bare knuckles plain. i can see where it gets the '80's references. it was plain and white. but i liked that. the bed was nice. the room was a good size, facing the water. had there not been a row of trees blocking the view of the lake, the picture windows would have been half useful. as it was, there was a block rummage sale going on all down the street, and a guy pushing a shopping cart full of his belongings.

he shower had good pressure, but the drain didn't drain well, and the ensuing gurgling of water spit up sand into the bathtub; probably the source of the clog.

the breakfast is ok, not great. it' was better than cereal and an apple. there were no biscuits. the toaster took 15 minutes to brown two pieces of bread, there were no waffles or pancakes. it was eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, oatmeal, and soft bread that you'd pop up after getting tired of waiting for it to toast. it was a good old army field breakfast. but it was free and warm.

i didn't like the lack of security. i came in late at night once and seemingly nobody was around. i walked right in and went up to my room without seeing a person. i could have been anybody.

the lake is only about a quarter mile away, but it's one hellacious staircase getting back up to the hotel. i've seen pyramids in peru that had less steps. unless you are an experienced mountain climber, you might want to consider enjoying the beach from the comfort of the tree line.

the hotel is such that it's sort of charming and in a great location, that if you just got out of the way, it'd be a nice place. and that's sort of what you got: a somewhat charming hotel with a nice little restaurant/bar and a decent enough view. they didn't over-think it. they almost erred on the side of overly simplistic.

unfortunately, trying to figure out how my experience at this hotel added up to the actual dollars they were charging was anything but simple. it was, "this would be worth it if. . . " and then you'd have to think. there was no one thing that made it worth the money. not even the location on the best day of the year. breakfast was ok. room was ok. location was good. nothing was excellent.

i'm not totally bummed out by my stay. my visit to st. joe was overall pleasant. but would i stay there again? probably not.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertTolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

The good: fluffy bed, nice linens, great water pressure, phenomenal hotel restaurant for dinner (James Beard sticker on the front door), exceptional location, kind/helpful staff. The not-so-great: free breakfast buffet kind of "bleh" ( it's free after all--institutional scrambled eggs, watered down OJ, flavorless croissants, gummy oatmeal) and a HUGE let down after
the nights previous meal. Hallways of the hotel are not air conditioned. Decor is a mish mash of the 80's/90's/00's/recent. However, you can tell that the owners care. Some parts of the room are worn out but maintained and clean. Carpet seemed relatively new and tasteful but in desperate need of a cleaning. Fridge and microwave are nice--but lack of a pool was a let down for the kids. Towels were thick and absorbent, toiletries were "Rusk" brand--but tub was so worn out/scraped up my mellow seven year old daughter refused to take a bath (lol).
All that being said it has an unbeatable location. You can walk everywhere downtown, to the beach--you name it. Parking is plentiful behind the building. Property overlooks the beach but be sure to get a room on the sixth or seventh floor. If not you will be looking through trees (what happened to us).
All that said--I would recommend just based on the location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank primadonnaswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a recent destination wedding. As mentioned before, this hotel is a converted office building. The room décor and furniture are dated and could use some updating. I checked into the room without a problem but the room did have issues with the tub and toilet not draining and some backing up into the sink. These concerns were promptly addressed by hotel personnel. The included breakfast was nice and included some hot items. The location is perfect for access to silver beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagoTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Benton Harbor-St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulevard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard Inn

Property: Boulevard Inn
Address: 521 Lake Blvd, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-1311
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boulevard Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in our newly remodeled all-suite accommodations at The Boulevard Inn, ideally nestled atop the bluff overlooking Lake Michigan. Allow our courteous staff to anticipate your needs and exceed your expectations! Quaint shops, gorgeous beaches, and an abundance of dining options are located just a short walk from our hotel in St. Joseph, Michigan. As our guest, you'll enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast served in the Bistro on the Boulevard each morning. While you're here, delight in lunch, dinner or cocktails served in the area’s most highly regarded restaurant. Our signature style takes advantage of local, fresh, seasonal ingredients simply and elegantly prepared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TravelClick so you can book your Boulevard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard Hotel Saint Joseph

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing