We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, beautiful city!”
Review of Boulevard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boulevard Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We just returned from a visit to St Joe. We stayed in a two bedroom suite with 2 adults and three young children. The rooms were very spacious and extreamly clean! Really loved the rooms. Full size fridge and a microwave are a huge plus. Bathroom was very large as well. The only downside on the two bedroom suites are that they do not face the water, so we had only a slight view of the lake from our side window. But, in the end the extra space was worth giving up the lake view. On the down side, the continential breakfast left some to be desired. It's nice they offer it, but it was not very good. We didnt have a problem with parking, but I could see how some would as ti's busy downtown. The hotel is in a perfect location - walking distance to both the beach and downtown. I would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suites do not face the lake
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachLvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Boulevard Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

As far as hotels go, this hotel has the best location in the St. Joseph area, with Silver beach to the front, and downtown St. Joe a block to the rear. Only some of the vacation rentals are closer to the beach. The beach area has a great sandy beach, a playground and volleyball area, the splash pad, the carousel, Silver Beach Pizza, and a children's discovery zone. There is also a kayak and paddle board rental place right by the beach. Keep in mind that St. Joe, as well as the hotel sit upon a bluff, so getting down to the beach involves a little walk, as well as some steps. You can also drive down and park in the beach's parking lot, for $8 a day. The hotel itself is a very nice, clean, and very well kept hotel. The hotel is an older hotel, but it is well maintained, the rooms are relatively up-to-date and do not have a dated appearance. White oak paneling in the lobby and restaurant create a classic and cozy feel. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a park area in front of the hotel and along Lake Blvd, and the setting is beautiful. We were there in July, and there was a Saturday farmer's market with a lot of fresh foods and snacks that we enjoyed. We encountered families, couples, newlyweds, and business travelers all at the hotel. Keep in mind that there is NO pool or hot tub in the hotel. The hotel is pricier than others, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great location and nice rooms. Walking distance to the beach and downtown. Stayed in a two bedroom suite with four children and two adults and had plenty of room, not to mention 3 tvs so no arguing about what to watch before bed. A bit pricey but compared to every other hotel in St. Joe I would stay here and pay the extra money.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ndimarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We've been to this hotel before but this is my first time reviewing it. It's not a fancy hotel but it is a short walk from Lake Michigan and the downtown area and in a beautiful location. That being said, the rooms are clean and kept up and very cozy. I very much value peace and quiet when I stay somewhere and the Boulevard Inn has always come through for us. We stayed there almost a week with no noise issues. The staff was wonderful and the cleaning ladies had our rooms looking perfect each day.

Some small things I noticed that are no big deal. I just wanted to point them out:

1. They have complimentary breakfast which is great. They always have. However, when I stayed there a couple of years ago, the breakfast included scrambled eggs and sausage along with fruit, waffles, etc. They no longer have hot foods which was disappointing. They serve boiled eggs, fruit, waffles, cereal, juices, coffee, and other small things. Not a big deal, just got used to what they had before.

2. They certainly don't advertise this on their website and now I know why. But they DO have a fitness center in the basement but it's really a small room with two old treadmills, an old eliptical, and some 30 pound adjustable weights. There is a TV down there and some towels and water to drink. I used the weights before going for a jog around the beach front.

I very much intend to come back and stay the Boulevard Inn when I go back to visit St. Joseph!

Room Tip: The actual hotel parking lot only has room for 10-12 cars. You'll have to park in the public pa...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Rooms were not ready at check in time. Staff was busy answering phones rather than assisting customers at the counter. When we asked to speak to a manager the staff told us the manager was off for the holiday. Staff was neither knowledgable or helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnL4792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Mixed emotions about the Boulevard Inn. The good: Spacious, updated, clean rooms. Fantastic location within walking distance of town and beach. The continental breakfast was good--once.
The bad: The price. $20 extra per person so our family of 5 --add $60 a night. Chose the city view (parking lot) double suite that has a capacity for 5 but still had to pay the extra. I am sure the lake view would be lovely but not for $200 MORE.
The service wasn't great.. Brought our own bags up, never even saw a bellhop. Desk couldn't answer some questions about the area. Housekeeping did a good job every day though!
The first day of breakfast was good-- yogurt (not too sweet), granola (again, not sickeningly sweet), fresh fruit, toast, waffles...coffee was good. But after that, the pickings were slim by 9 am. Never refilled it while we were there and at 9:32 the help starts clearing it WHILE people are standing there trying to fill a plate. It was like that the next couple of days too. The help seems to cater more to the wedding event people.
The parking situation is strange too. If you leave during the day, you will have to circle like vultures trying to get into a free parking lot next to the hotel. There is no designated hotel parking.
Overall, the location and updated suites make up for shortfalls, but be prepared to pay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The Boulevard Inn, offers an amazing view of Lake Michigan in a comfortable and classy setting. The Hotel restaurant is top notch in quality and service. Every staff member that I came in contact with, greeted me with a warm smile and helpful attitude.

The proximity of the hotel to the beach, and local shopping can not be beat! It was easy to take advantage of all the attractions St. Joseph had to offer all within walking distance.

The guest rooms, were clean and spacious and had recently been updated. I would recommend The Boulevard Inn to anyone traveling to the St. Joseph or Benton Harbor area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rae46219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
213 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
3.7 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
5.6 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulevard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard Inn

Address: 521 Lake Blvd, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-1311
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range: £120 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boulevard Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in our newly remodeled all-suite accommodations at The Boulevard Inn, ideally nestled atop the bluff overlooking Lake Michigan. Allow our courteous staff to anticipate your needs and exceed your expectations! Quaint shops, gorgeous beaches, and an abundance of dining options are located just a short walk from our hotel in St. Joseph, Michigan. As our guest, you'll enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast served in the Bistro on the Boulevard each morning. While you're here, delight in lunch, dinner or cocktails served in the area’s most highly regarded restaurant. Our signature style takes advantage of local, fresh, seasonal ingredients simply and elegantly prepared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and TravelClick so you can book your Boulevard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard Hotel Saint Joseph

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing