We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay and relax”
Review of Quinta dos Poetas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quinta dos Poetas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pechao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is a small rural hotel, with around 20 rooms, nice architecture and tasteful decoration, friendly and warm service, in a quiet spot in Algarve’s splendid countryside (10 minutes away from Faro or Olhao). A car is strongly advised. The route can look complicated at the beginning, but there are lots of signs around the villages of Estoi and Pechao.
Lots of things to do / see very close, from the Roman ruins of Milreu, to boat trips in Ria Formosa, bird watching or just sunbathing around the swimming pool.
Relaxed, quiet atmosphere. The grounds/gardens are well maintained and the restaurant is excellent and very reasonable priced. The pool is nice and very clean, and there are also some golf grounds to practice.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable and modern. The rooms facing South can get really warm in the afternoon, but all have a/c. Beds mattresses rather firm, which for me is an advantage.
Breakfast was good, but not 5* (the only thing I will rate 4*). Limited room mini-bar, but then I have not asked for more.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed here for the last two days of our Algarve trip and we can only echo the positive reviews listed previously. This tastefully decorated hotel is perfectly located in beautifully kept grounds. The quiet relaxed atmosphere is matched by the friendly attentive service. We were often the only people by the swimming pool and at times felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. Spacious rooms were well appointed with excellent en-suite facilities. The restaurant/dining area within the grounds was lovely with excellent food.
If staying for a longer period, then the seafood restaurants in Olhao and a ferry ride to the Barrier islands are a must. The only way to enhance our stay would have been the addition of a water cooler or two, a more eco-friendly solution for drinking water than having to buy bottles from the mini-bar or ordering them from reception. Our room faced the pool/grounds and provided lovely views. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend and return.

Room Tip: Request a pool view room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guest_234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I found this hotel very peaceful and relaxing. The staff were helpful and friendly. The pool was lovely and the restaurant food was good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RateMyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I've just come back with my family (6 adults 2 one year olds) and I have to say the Quinta dos Poetas is one of the best hotels i've stayed in.

It's so comfortable, friendly, welcoming and nice. It's incredibly relaxing, just sitting by the pool. Or perhaps a quick game of golf on their mini cours (5 holes around 100m each). Th on site restaurant was top quality and seemed busy with Portuguese people (a good sign).

The staff are very friendly and helpful and would do anything to make your stat a bit more pleasant.

I woul thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday away from the main tourist areas in Portugal!

Room Tip: Ask for cafe con lait at breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StevenMather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I hosted a long weekend “big” birthday party for 16 at the Quinta in February 2011 and have nothing but praise for the establishment and the staff. From the moment that I contacted them to enquire as to the possibility, they were friendly and highly responsive by email, even in the evenings and at weekends, and the event itself went extremely well.

The Quinta is most attractive and is only 20 minutes by car from Faro airport towards the quieter, less developed Eastern Algarve. It is 10 minutes drive from Olhao, where there are plenty of restaurants for variety of eating plus interesting walking through the markets, along the “front” and around the Ria Formosa Natural Park. If without a hire car, one can easily call for taxis.

The bedrooms are large and very comfortable, with Ethernet ports in each one. The rooms are on the ground and first floors (there is a lift for luggage only), with magnificent views over the largely open country. There was a very welcome open fire in the lounge/reception area. There are large grounds, with a 5 hole pitch and putt course and an outside swimming pool.

Breakfast is taken in the hotel building; the only thing that some people thought could have been better was the coffee (although tea drinkers were delighted with the electric kettle which ensured boiling water). The restaurant (which also caters for large events) is some way away at the bottom of the slope so that hotel guests are not bothered by any noise (although the location did cause us a bit of a problem when torrential rain occurred just as my guests wanted to walk from the hotel to the restaurant for my lunch event!) The food was excellent – perhaps starters were a trifle too large!

This is a small family-run hotel in a quiet location; nothing was too much trouble. Thoroughly recommended - especially for a mature birthday party with a difference!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thurza_Child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

From the first email till the day we left the communication with Margarida, Rosario and all the other members of their family and staff was great.
I am a Coeliac and they went out of their way to make sure I had an equal enjoyable breakfast as the rest of their guests. At the end of our stay I was presented with a bag full of leftover cakes, bread and muesli, which was such a help as we had to stop at restaurants and hotels on our way back in our hired car to Madrid.
Their restaurant on the other side of their beautiful gardens (including a golf course) was also superb and we enjoyed several lunches and dinners there.
Many other guests used their hotel as a base during a cycle holiday and had day trips around the beautiful area of Algarve. I would love to return for another holiday, but we live in Australia so it might not happen, but we treasure the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 167elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Sorry this review is very late as I had a very busy year being pregnant with my third child! We stayed at this lovely hotel for a few days last May. Myself and husband, our two small children and my parents visiting from Australia. It is a fairly small hotel, set beside a small golf course, in the peaceful countryside about 15 mins by car from the port town of Olhao. Things that spring to mind ... spacious reception area with comfortable sofas for lounging and reading and a plasma TV (although Portuguese channels I think). Breakfast room / bar area is fine and there was a nice spread of continental breakfast every morning ... cereals, bread, fresh fruits, fresh - I think you can order eggs if you fancy.
The staff were very friendly, nothing was ever too much trouble. If you want to stay by the pool all day, they do nice toasted sandwiches (rolls or bread, ham, cheese, chorizo - not alot of choice) and fresh juice, beers, wine etc for lunch. Or the restaurant is also open most days for lunch and they do a set menu for a brilliant price - although sorry can't remember how much!
We had dinner in the restaurant one night and the meal was superb. Fresh local ingredients and the chef is always around for a friendly chat to talk about where the food is sourced from and to give you some good tips on the area. Wine list was excellent too. I think that lots of locals come from far and wide to eat here as although it's in some kind of strange pavillion thing, it seems like quite an "event" to eat there.
The pool area is lovely - huge pool for the size of the hotel. Lots of sunloungers too. It was fairly quiet when we were there (late May), couples only, no other kids. We had one day when it was fine to swim but unfortunately the other days it rained.
My dad and husband played golf every morning and the kids followed them around the small course which kept them amused.
As I said, it's very close to Olhao so you can take a taxi into town for shopping, and to go out for lunch or dinner as there are so many restaurants to try.
The rooms weren't huge but they were light as we had a small balcony, and the beds were comfy. We shared our room with the kids, one of them in a foldaway bed and the other squeezed between us !
All in all terrific value for money and a real little gem.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pechao
3.3 mi away
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
3.1 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Casa Modesta
Casa Modesta
#1 of 7 in Olhao
114 reviews
2.4 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 28 in Faro
142 reviews
7 mi away
Monte dos Avos Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta dos Poetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta dos Poetas

Address: Pechao-Estoi, Pechao, Olhao 8700-245, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao > Pechao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pechao
Price Range: £50 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta dos Poetas 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most beautiful natural scenery that the Algarve has to offer, Quinta dos Poetas brings together the best that can be expected of a rural Portuguese hotel: A warm and familiar environment, tranquillity, comfort, proximity to the beach and excellent gastronomy. The hotel offers a restaurant, bar, large pool, beautiful gardens, jogging track, gymnasium, games room, free wi-fi, putting green and private parking. The rooms feature enhanced decorations have the most modern conditions of comfort: air conditioning, LCD TV, free wi-fi, telephone, minibar, safe, fully equipped bathroom, bathrobe and hairdryer. A few minutes by car or bicycle rented in the Hotel, you can explore the Ria Formosa Natural Park, one of the natural wonders of Portugal, known for its beautiful beaches and islands or the interior of the Algarve mountain range and their rural villages, a journey marked by the interaction between Nature, Heritage, Rural Life, Tradition, Innovation and Knowledge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta dos Poetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Dos Poetas Olhao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing