We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oak Bay Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Oak Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
edmonton, ab
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 11 July 2008

Can't thank you enough Wiggly. You made my lonely stay so enjoyable. Thank you for all the attention, food, breath taking TV room and beautiful bedroom. This B & B is the best by far that I have ever had the opportunity of staying at. I am very fussy and have high standards, this home and owner is a 5 star!!!!

  • Liked — The service and the friendliness.
  • Disliked — It was all perfect.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Terri1234Edmonton_Ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    38
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
80
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2008

We have stayed at the Oak Bay Guest House several times and
loved each visit. The new owners have their own style and personality to add to this home. They are a perfect addition to this great home and are continuing to keep this home # 1 on
our list of favorate places to stay in Victoria.
Peter and Debbie

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank JackNorthVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

We just returned from a three night stay at Oak Bay Guest House. There is a brand new couple running the property, but they are very attentive and trying to do a great job. Egle, the wife, is very personable and a great help in pointing out places to visit and places to eat. The place was nicely decorated for the holidays, and the main room downstairs is very charming. I have attached a couple of photos below. The room we stayed in had plenty of space and was very comfortable. The only place that was a bit rough was breakfast. They are still on the learning curve with that, but they have a lot of good humor and worked very hard to put out a fine meal.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

I stayed there in April.
I heartily recommend the Oak Bay Guest House.
The owners were very pleasant and did everything possible to make my stay pleasant and comfortable.
The breakfasts were very well prepared and presented. I loved the muffins!
My room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom clean and well stocked.
The guest house is in a residential neighbourhood. Also, it is close to a marina, so I had several pleasant evening walks around.
Oak Bay's main drag is just a brief drive-some good restaurants and amenities. There is a Starbucks, but be warned if you like McDonalds/White Spot/Tim Hortons et al, you will have to drive into Victoria.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacantvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2007

Staying at this guesthouse was a fantastic way to end our wonderful trip to Canada. There are several rooms to choose from - we had booked one of the smaller rooms, but on arrival were given the option of a bigger room as they had several available. Rod was very patient as we looked at each of the rooms and eventually decided on the Romance Suite - well it was the end of our honeymoon, so we thought we'd treat ourselves! This room is really lovely (as were all of them), but we loved the bathroom and the decor in here. Breakfasts were very good, and Rod and Heather were wondeful hosts. We had a bit of a problem with one of the whale watching companies in Victoria (our trip was cancelled, which was gutting as it was the last trip of the day and our last day in Canada!), which we told Rod about, not expecting him to do anything. He has something to do with the tourism industry in Victoria, and was not impressed with what happened to us, so phoned the company to complain!!
We loved the Butchart Gardens - go there, even if you are not into flowers / gardens (that said, be warned, it is pretty expensive!). We also really enjoyed the Royal British Columbia Museum - they currently have an exhibition about the Titanic on, which was really well done. Finally, we also enjoyed a stroll around Oak Bay harbour, where there are 2 resident seals that you can feed!
This really was a wonderful B&B, and was a great end to our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2007

This was an absolutely fantastic bed and breakfast. The rooms have all been individually designed with incredible attention to detail and were immaculate. The hosts are great, very hospitable, and the area is wonderful. We went to the nearby harbor and fed the seals and drank English tea in the nearby village.

I cannot even begin to describe the breakfasts and their presentation - you won't need to eat anything else for the rest of the day!

Cannot fault this place - if you are lucky enough to stay here, enjoy!

  • Liked — Breakfast and the room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chubbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level 6 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2006

The Oak Bay Guest House was built in 1912 and has been a B&B since 1922. The rooms are all ensuite, nicely decorated, and the beds are comfortable. The common areas include a living room with tv, a cosy lounge with a fireplace, and the breakfast room. The breakfasts are gigantic and include such things as eggs benedict, salmon quiche, omelets, and wonderful muffins. The house is set in pretty gardens, a city bus stops at the corner, and there are 4 good restaurants within walking distance. The only negatives are no phones nor tvs in the rooms. I'd certainly stay there again.

Helpful?
3 Thank Bedlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bay
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,194 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,026 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Guest House

Property: Oak Bay Guest House
Address: 1052 Newport Ave, Oak Bay, British Columbia V8S 5E3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Oak Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet, safe community of Oak Bay, where wealthy Victorians have been escaping the hustle and bustle of Victoria's Inner Harbour and the Empress Hotel for over a hundred years. Be only minutes (and a world) away from all the Victoria has to offer. This Victoria Bed and Breakfast, located in BC, Canada, is a gracious 1912 Victorian Home. The home was converted to the Newport Inn in 1922 and has been accommodating travelers to Victoria since then. There are 9 rooms and 2 suites, all with private bathrooms (10 of the bathrooms are en suite). Free breakfast. Sun lounge is perfect for an afternoon cup of tea or snack. A fireside lounge is cozy for an evening glass of wine. Oak Bay is a walkers paradise. Easy walking distance to Oak Bay Village, Oak Bay Beach Hotel, Oak Bay Marina, Victoria Golf Club, Royal Victoria Yacht Club, Willow Beach and almost countless parks. Close to University of Victoria and Camosun. Enjoy the tranquility of a traditional English home in the heart of Oak Bay Village, steps from the Salish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oak Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Guest House Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing