We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit the Elbo Room”
Review of Elbo Room - CLOSED

Elbo Room
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Visit the Elbo Room”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Elbo Room was quite close to our accommodations, so it was our first breakfast in Saugatuck. The farmers omelet and eggs benedict were very good as was the service, and while the food didn't blow us away, I would go again. We had a table by the window and enjoyed the setting almost as much as breakfast. It has the relaxed, resort feel combined with careful attention to the meals. It was definitely an above-average experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate to go here.”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This was our first time in Saugatuck. We chose the Elbo Room because of Tripadvisor reviews. Everyone was right. So I am also giving it a great review. The cinnamon roll is huge, well worth it and we had the extra boxed up to take with us. We ordered an omelette to share which was plenty, but if you want a big healthy portion order one for yourself. We had the one with the jalapeño, good. We were there about 9:30 AM on the 4th of July and got right in. Shortly after we were seated, there was a short line to be seated. The view is great, right on the river with many passing boats. The service was excellent ( thank you Shelly). So try the Elbo Room if you haven't, you will like it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fivestar98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our breakfast here. We started with a delicious -- and enormous! -- cinnamon roll that four of us shared. I then had great eggs Benedict with avocado and spinach and my husband had biscuits and gravy. The food was fresh and very good. The fresh-squeezed OJ was also really good.

The restaurant itself isn't much to look at but we were seated by the window of the view of the boats and river was beautiful! It was a foggy morning and incredibly picturesque.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momtotwingirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
325 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Excellant Excellant”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We decided to give this restaurant a try for breakfast after reading the reviews. It certainly lived up to them. The location is a bit off the main area but not too far and is walkable. From the front it doesn't look like much but it is very cute inside and has water views. We wanted to try the HUGE cinnamon roll so we split that and an crab omelet. The roll was gigantic but light and fuffly with a tasty frosting...but than the famous guy in the mall.
The omelet and homemade sour dough bread wonderful. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jwoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Elbo Room”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

TThe omelettes were very good here but not otherworldly great and they had good side dishes and service. The view and setting were wonderful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smk47807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elbo Room also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing