We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Red Dock Cafe

Red Dock Cafe
Ranked #26 of 57 Restaurants in Saugatuck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Restaurant details
South Bend, IN
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Never eaten here but the drinks (a bit pricy) and setting are spectacular. Only open until sunset and sometimes not even that late if the owner has the urge to close up shop. "Sit and Wiggle" and "Stand and Shake" are probably the most photographed sites in Saugatuck.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RedWingFan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    26
    12
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place to "chill" with a beer.”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The area gets very crowded in the Summer with to many tourists (especially from Chicago) but, you can usually have a beer here and enjoy the local flavor and excellent views. Red Dock is on (pier) the water and features the usual bar fare for food - it is good though. Beer is not craft style - think PBR. Ther music can be too loud if you sit a the bar so, opt for a table. Small boats can and do pull up and tie off. A few bikers occasionly show up but, everyone gets along just fine. Stop by if you are in the area between Memorial Day and Labor Day but, leave the BMW or the Prius at home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WillyT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good place for a drink or two”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We've been coming to the area for a few years and just now finally found the Red Dock. We were hoping to grab one of the sandwiches everyone talks about but with the lack of seating we decided to just grab a few drinks which were poured quite well. This is a great place to just chill on a nice summer afternoon, we were here on a Sunday night which was a very busy night since it seems they have live music each Sunday. Our only complaints were the lack of seating and accepting cash only. Although more seating would be nice, it may also take away from the unique dock feeling so I guess if we want to try the food we'll try to swing by a little earlier in the day next time. I'm sure we'll make our way back here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RK2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Place to Relax and Take in the Beauty”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

On a recent visit to the Saugatuck/Douglas area, my wife and I came upon a hidden gem, the Red Dock, where Reggae music plays in the backdrop of a glorious view of Saugatuck Harbor. We didn’t eat, so I cannot comment on the food, but we each enjoyed a rum punch, the drink of the day, while chatting with other friendly vacationers as the breeze blew through our hair and the drinks helped any problems fade away. With the music spinning in our ear and the water bobbing before our eyes with seagulls floating in the air, it had a true Jamaican feel. The drinks were a bit pricey, but worth it, and the service was great. It is just a fun place to stop and enjoy a beautiful day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WritersChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Felt like a mini vacation.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled upon Red Dock Cafe on a visit to Saugatuck yesterday. It was a sunny windy day. We got there at 3:30, choose a picnik table outside, right by the water. There was a band coming at 4:00. The waitress was quick to serve us. The band came and sat up, the place got packed! Boat docked next to the dock to enjoy the band. I felt like I was at a bar in key west or maybe Southern California. Te band was Greg and my husband and i felt like we had been on a mini vacation. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loriann30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Dock Cafe also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Red Dock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing