We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 3!!”
Review of The Hickory Pit - CLOSED

The Hickory Pit
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top 3!!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Being from Kansas City, I have a little bit of a stigma when it comes to new bbq. This place is great. The people, atmosphere. And not to mention the food . Brisket is mouth watering. If you're in the area, this is a must stop

Helpful?
1 Thank adck9d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alsip, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the best ribs in all of Michigan”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

It's March 7th 2014 and for the first time in many months the temp is above 40, and I'm in rib withdrawal but then I read on Facebook that the Hickory Pit in Saugatuck is opening up in late March. Ok I know that I'm a little crazy, but sometime in mid April my wife and I will drive the 140 mile trip for the best Ribs that I have had in years, the only difference is that we will bring a cooler so that we can bring some home. Yep it's worth the trip for the ribs and to see Yates family and we will be back the end of May beginning of June for a few days

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Not sure what today's other reviewer is talking about? I was not served on a paper plate.
Regardless, I love this food, and am so happy they're about to reopen for the season.
In fact, I enjoyed this food so much, I've booked them to cater my wedding in May!
Reasonable prices, in my opinion great food, and lovely people.
I'll see you when I'm up next weekend folks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyZSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's okay.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were hoping for that wow! experience. It was an average meal, nothing fabulous. But that's okay. It was a clean place with paper plates and a great location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“It's okay”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

It's just okay - not great at all. The pulled pork was fine, but the sauce was too tangy for me. My corn bread muffin was burnt along the sides and extremely dry - not impressed at all. I did try one of the deviled eggs which was good/sweet.

I wouldn't go back if I was in the area. The food wasn't that great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hickory Pit also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing