We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ahh.. Pure Relaxation..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Ranked #4 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Ahh.. Pure Relaxation..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Tuscany cottage March 15- March 17 . We loved it!!! Everything was perfect, cozy and warm for our relaxing winter getaway. The breakfast basket in your room is a fabulous alternative to communal breakfasts at traditional b&b.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geokai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    24
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
236
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed in the Orleans Cottage Jan 31-Feb 2 and our weekend was wonderful. The cottage included every amenity we could have possibly needed: the continental breakfasts were fresh, the fireplace was especially nice given the weather, the movie selection was great, and the jacuzzi tub even came with bath salts. I loved being right in downtown Saugatuck; we will definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
198 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The location -- discreetly just off the main drag in downtown Saugatuck, with some parking -- and (in the cottages) privacy make this a nice option for a cozy weekend stay in this weekend-friendly town. Only thing missing from a typical B&B experience is a common breakfast room; supplies for a private breakfast (yogurt, muffins, cereals, coffee/feas, etc.) await in your room's minifridge. Whether that's a plus or minus depends on you. Congenial hosts who know the territory are, for sure, a positive.

Room Tip: The Tuscany Cottage provides maximum privacy, if that's a priority.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alsolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We went in March 2013 for a babymoon, and stayed in the New Orleans cottage for two nights. March in West Michigan is still cold and often snowy, so the location near multiple walkable great restaurants (as well as the folder with menus and personal recommendations in our room) was excellent. I am a neat freak (yes, I look at baseboards), and this tiny room was very clean. Bed even had washable duvet covers and blanket protectors so you knew that you weren't lounging on anything that wasn't your own cooties. Loved the kitchenette - well stocked with popcorn, coffee, teas, hot cocoa, granola bars, chocolates. Breakfast for the next morning was already there when we arrived the prior evening - milk, juice, fresh fruit, homemade muffins, yogurt. This was fantastic as it avoids the inevitable awkward table conversations guests may have at a more traditional b&b. Also, we used it as our snack food for the evening/next day. This room has a skylight, so in the winter can you enjoy both the warmth of the fire and have a bit of the precious daylight stream in and still have privacy. They provide robes, umbrellas, current movies, current magazines, etc. The jacuzzi was plenty big for two (clean!). While Saugatuck has much to offer in the winter, you could have stayed in this cozy room for two days and been happy.

Room Tip: Off season rates are a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was our first weekend away (alone!) since the birth of our son. We stayed it the Orleans suite, December 13th-15th and loved the quiet location-it was amazing we were in a downtown! The suite was cozy and romantic-if you could be snowed in any where, this is the place!!! We look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I stayed it the Orleans suite, Nov. 24-25th and loved the wonderfully decorated interior, the quiet location, and central location in downtown. Loved the fire place and how it warmed the room even though the temperatures outside was below freezing. The large whirlpool bath was an extra bonus after being outside. The perfect get away place. Looking forward to staying here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bstobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed November 19th through the 21st in the Tuscany Cottage. Jonathon and Gary were helpful and available but not intrusive. The cottage is nicely designed, furnished well, and very comfortable. The fireplace warms without overheating the cottage. Everything that we might need was provided, including umbrellas. The thoughtfulness about what guests need really stands out. The location.is both quiet and perfect for walking to the downtown shops and restaurants, which are part of the attraction of Saugatuck, home to several good art galleries.

Room Tip: The Tuscany Cottage is a separate building with a lovely side garden. Singing birds gathered in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Tripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
2.8 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#6 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Property: Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Address: 247 Butler St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9493
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for guests seeking a more private Bed & Breakfast experience, these romantic getaways feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs for two, mini-kitchens, in-room continental breakfast and off-street parking. Located in the heart of downtown Saugatuck, steps away from everything. We wouldn't think of telling you how long your visit should be so there's never a minimum stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Garden Cottages Hotel Saugatuck
Hidden Garden Cottages And Suites
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites Saugatuck, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing