We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time just as great as the first!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Ranked #4 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bourbonnais, Illinois
1 review
“2nd time just as great as the first!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed in the San Juan suite April 4-6 and it was just wonderful! This was our 2nd visit to Hidden Garden and we are already planning our 3rd! Gary and Jonathan are wonderful hosts. From the AWESOME homemade muffins to the bath salts they leave in the bathroom to use with the huge whirlpool tub, you will not be disappointed when staying here. The San Juan is basically a one bedroom apartment and has a great wood burning fireplace. We've also stayed in the Orleans cottage and that was just as wonderful. We cannot wait to come back and check out the Tuscany cottage and the Kilamanjaro suite! Also, it's wonderful to be within walking distance of fun stores and great bars/restaurants (you must try Phil's!). I would definitely recommend this place. We love it here and you will too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwheelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    24
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
236
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I stayed in the San Juan Suite March 23rd - 25th to celebrate her birthday. We had previously stayed in the Tuscany Cottage, and once again the experience was wonderful! Gary and Jonathan never fail to provide all the amenities you could want for a relaxing getaway for two. The San Juan Suite is the largest at Hidden Gardens, with a full kitchen, wood burning fireplace, and plenty of room to stretch out while still maintaining a very cozy feeling. The in-room breakfast is a nice touch, and the muffins are not to be passed up! We have made reservations for New Years Eve in the Orleans Cottage, and are very much looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeeland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I attempted to book a room for my honeymoon at Hidden Gardens. I talked to a gentleman about the dates and had everything almost finalized. I told him I would call him back shortly to make the payment to secure the room after I had all the details worked out. (Keep in mind that this was during the day, between the hours of 11am-1pm roughly). I called back about 10 minutes later, no answer. Called back again about 20 minutes later, no answer. Called back about 30 minutes later, no answer. Called back an hour later, no answer. Called back again 4 more times, no answer. I left them a message and told them I was trying to make the payment to reserve the room and gave them my phone number, but no one ever returned my call. I called them about 8 hours later (after having to go to sleep, as I work third shift) and finally spoke to the gentleman, who then informed me that they had booked the room with someone else and they were all full. Terrible experience, but given the information I acquired from this experience, it is probably for the better that I did not stay here... if this is what happened just trying to book a room, I can only imagine how unprofessional the actual stay would have been.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackieChiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeffect, Owner at Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I am so sorry that we were unable to accommodate this person. There are times when we are unable to answer the phone. We are not a Hilton Hotel with a 24 hour front desk. We are a small 2 person run bed and breakfast that must find time between guests to go grocery shopping, run errands, make repairs, clean rooms, do laundry and finally check in new guests. On this particular day I was working by myself. I had already had 3 lengthy conversations with this particular person that did not result in a reservation. It became necessary for me to prioritize my time and to get ready for incoming guests. Why this person called 8 times over a 3 hour period but not leave a message until the 9th call is puzzling to me. We received a reservation request for the same dates via e-mail that same afternoon. I carefully checked when the e-mail came in and when we received the phone message and determined that the e-mail was first. If this person had left a message after his first call, he would have gotten the room. We hope this person found other accommodations in Saugatuck and we ask that he stop by for a complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate his wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Tuscany cottage March 15- March 17 . We loved it!!! Everything was perfect, cozy and warm for our relaxing winter getaway. The breakfast basket in your room is a fabulous alternative to communal breakfasts at traditional b&b.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geokai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed in the Orleans Cottage Jan 31-Feb 2 and our weekend was wonderful. The cottage included every amenity we could have possibly needed: the continental breakfasts were fresh, the fireplace was especially nice given the weather, the movie selection was great, and the jacuzzi tub even came with bath salts. I loved being right in downtown Saugatuck; we will definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
198 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The location -- discreetly just off the main drag in downtown Saugatuck, with some parking -- and (in the cottages) privacy make this a nice option for a cozy weekend stay in this weekend-friendly town. Only thing missing from a typical B&B experience is a common breakfast room; supplies for a private breakfast (yogurt, muffins, cereals, coffee/feas, etc.) await in your room's minifridge. Whether that's a plus or minus depends on you. Congenial hosts who know the territory are, for sure, a positive.

Room Tip: The Tuscany Cottage provides maximum privacy, if that's a priority.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alsolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We went in March 2013 for a babymoon, and stayed in the New Orleans cottage for two nights. March in West Michigan is still cold and often snowy, so the location near multiple walkable great restaurants (as well as the folder with menus and personal recommendations in our room) was excellent. I am a neat freak (yes, I look at baseboards), and this tiny room was very clean. Bed even had washable duvet covers and blanket protectors so you knew that you weren't lounging on anything that wasn't your own cooties. Loved the kitchenette - well stocked with popcorn, coffee, teas, hot cocoa, granola bars, chocolates. Breakfast for the next morning was already there when we arrived the prior evening - milk, juice, fresh fruit, homemade muffins, yogurt. This was fantastic as it avoids the inevitable awkward table conversations guests may have at a more traditional b&b. Also, we used it as our snack food for the evening/next day. This room has a skylight, so in the winter can you enjoy both the warmth of the fire and have a bit of the precious daylight stream in and still have privacy. They provide robes, umbrellas, current movies, current magazines, etc. The jacuzzi was plenty big for two (clean!). While Saugatuck has much to offer in the winter, you could have stayed in this cozy room for two days and been happy.

Room Tip: Off season rates are a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
10.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
22.6 mi away
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#6 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Property: Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Address: 247 Butler St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9493
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for guests seeking a more private Bed & Breakfast experience, these romantic getaways feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs for two, mini-kitchens, in-room continental breakfast and off-street parking. Located in the heart of downtown Saugatuck, steps away from everything. We wouldn't think of telling you how long your visit should be so there's never a minimum stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Garden Cottages Hotel Saugatuck
Hidden Garden Cottages And Suites
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites Saugatuck, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing