We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tuscany Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Ranked #3 of 19 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were so happy to find this gem of a place to stay! An Italian themed cottage that sits behind the main house, tucked away with little gardens and privacy. We enjoyed our 4 night stay and would absolutely return! Owners Gary and Jonathon were outstanding as gracious hosts and assisted us in trying to find parking during downtown construction. Everything was close by and we had a wonderful getaway! Thanks again!

Room Tip: The Tuscany Cottage is located by itself behind the main cottage and offers more privacy than the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindysg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

This review is long past due. My husband and I spent a wonderful fall weekend at Hidden Garden. We were in the San Juan Suite and it was perfect for us. Full kitchen, comfortable living room facing Butler Street - great for people watching but no problem with noise, etc. - and what I think might be one of the biggest bathtubs I have ever seen! Comfortable bed in the separate bedroom. The location cannot be beat, perfect for walking anywhere in town.

The owners/hosts were fantastic to work with and very welcoming. We loved the breakfast basket each morning. We've stayed at more traditional B&Bs and have to say that we've had some strange experiences where we felt "managed" by the hosts, including getting unwelcome early morning phone calls to the room when we chose to sleep in and skip breakfast. Nothing of the sort here - perfect for more independent travelers like us - particularly when the whole point of the trip was to get away and reconnect.

We will definitely be back again this fall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband & I stayed the weekend of April 25-27 to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in the Orleans room which is actually a small cottage tucked away in the back with a porch to sit on & a garden to enjoy and all very private. We were right in the heart of Saugatuck but felt totally secluded at the cottage. We truly enjoyed the fireplace in the evening as the weather was still chilly. And the breakfast of amazing muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt & orange juice that awaited us every morning was wonderful. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nana625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I had a great time staying 4 nights at the Kilimanjaro room April 5-9, 2014. The location was perfect and I really enjoyed seeing Saugatuck for the first time. Even though it was the off-season, there was still a lot to do and the sunsets over the lake are beautiful! I will definitely be staying again the next time I visit!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The weekend of April 11 - 13, my girlfriend and I stayed in the Orleans room. It was our first time visiting Saugatuck and this place was the perfect location. We felt like we were in the heart of Saugatuck. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this place to any couple looking for a quiet, romantic getaway. It was nice having breakfast stocked in the fridge while we were gone during the day. It was ready for us in the morning and we could eat in private.

My only negative comment is on the additional package I purchased - Wine, chocolates and bath salts. Everything was great except for the wine. The bottle had a bunch of dirt around the cork and the wine itself tasted funny. We mentioned it to the owner and he was kind enough to give us another, "new" bottle. Unfortunately we still ran into the same issue. My only recommendation to the owner would be to invest in a different wine.

Other than that, great place and I will be staying there again the next time I visit Saugatuck!

Room Tip: Orleans overall was a great room for two for a romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolginke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I spent a fantastic 5 days, April 5-9, at Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites in the Tuscany Cottage. It was a beautiful room with amazing hosts. The cottage was built to give you a small and cozy feel. We have the wonderful fire place and the whirlpool tub, not to mention the amazing muffins, fresh fruit and yogurt. It allowed us the private location and time, but close enough to small town hospitality. Eating at Phil's is a must! The beauty along with the shops and beach made this a wonderful location and we will be back.

Room Tip: Although we stayed in the Tuscany Cottage, all of the locations would be wonderful! Good size beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at The Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites to celebrate our 20th anniversary. The room was lovely, breakfast was delicious and our hosts were lovely. The town of Saugatuck was fantastic, everyone was eager to tell us about their town and how wonderful it is. We couldn't agree more. We are looking forward to our next trip when the weather will be warmer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Orleans and the jetted tub was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 19 in Saugatuck
81 reviews
2.8 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 19 in Saugatuck
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 19 in Saugatuck
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maplewood Hotel
Maplewood Hotel
#12 of 19 in Saugatuck
131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
0.1 mi away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#6 of 19 in Saugatuck
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Address: 247 Butler St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range: £130 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for guests seeking a more private Bed & Breakfast experience, these romantic getaways for two feature king or queen beds, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs for two and kitchens. An in-room continental breakfast of homemade muffins, fresh fruit and yogurt allows you to start your day whenever you like, there's no schedule here at Hidden Garden. Located in the heart of downtown Saugatuck, steps away from restaurants, shops, galleries and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Garden Cottages And Suites
Hidden Garden Cottages Hotel Saugatuck
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites Saugatuck, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing