We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very relaxing romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Ranked #4 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Bend
1 review
“A very relaxing romantic getaway”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in the Orleans cottage for our anniversary and just had a wonderful relaxing stay. It's very private yet so close to restaurants and shopping! We enjoyed it so much we booked our stay already for next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnolia430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    24
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
239
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Hidden Garden's will always be our fist choice in Saugatuck. We've stayed in both the San Juan Suite and the Tuscany Cottage. You cannot ask for a more convenient location. Right in the center of everything, but so secluded, you would think you were on the outskirts. Good job, guys!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentShuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

They really thought of everything. You could literally just bring your clothes and a toothbrush. So nice the website doesn't even do it justice. Very comfy bed right in the middle of town. My only regret is not spending more time here. The Kilimanjaro suite was so nice. Definitely recommend to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lauagreenbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed in the Puerto Rico themed room. The hotel is well located near the shops and restaurants. The suite was very spacious and the tub was a nice surprise. I was pretty disappointed with the breakfast though. I guess by the name there is no expectation about the breakfast in a B&B but I just imagine that for the price we would get something a little different than a muffin each day. The owners were otherwise very nice and helpful and had a great movie selection!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were so happy to find this gem of a place to stay! An Italian themed cottage that sits behind the main house, tucked away with little gardens and privacy. We enjoyed our 4 night stay and would absolutely return! Owners Gary and Jonathon were outstanding as gracious hosts and assisted us in trying to find parking during downtown construction. Everything was close by and we had a wonderful getaway! Thanks again!

Room Tip: The Tuscany Cottage is located by itself behind the main cottage and offers more privacy than the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindysg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This review is long past due. My husband and I spent a wonderful fall weekend at Hidden Garden. We were in the San Juan Suite and it was perfect for us. Full kitchen, comfortable living room facing Butler Street - great for people watching but no problem with noise, etc. - and what I think might be one of the biggest bathtubs I have ever seen! Comfortable bed in the separate bedroom. The location cannot be beat, perfect for walking anywhere in town.

The owners/hosts were fantastic to work with and very welcoming. We loved the breakfast basket each morning. We've stayed at more traditional B&Bs and have to say that we've had some strange experiences where we felt "managed" by the hosts, including getting unwelcome early morning phone calls to the room when we chose to sleep in and skip breakfast. Nothing of the sort here - perfect for more independent travelers like us - particularly when the whole point of the trip was to get away and reconnect.

We will definitely be back again this fall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband & I stayed the weekend of April 25-27 to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in the Orleans room which is actually a small cottage tucked away in the back with a porch to sit on & a garden to enjoy and all very private. We were right in the heart of Saugatuck but felt totally secluded at the cottage. We truly enjoyed the fireplace in the evening as the weather was still chilly. And the breakfast of amazing muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt & orange juice that awaited us every morning was wonderful. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nana625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
2.8 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#6 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maplewood Hotel
Maplewood Hotel
#11 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Property: Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Address: 247 Butler St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for guests seeking a more private Bed & Breakfast experience, these romantic getaways feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs for two, mini-kitchens, in-room continental breakfast and off-street parking. Located in the heart of downtown Saugatuck, steps away from everything. We wouldn't think of telling you how long your visit should be so there's never a minimum stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Garden Cottages Hotel Saugatuck
Hidden Garden Cottages And Suites
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites Saugatuck, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing