We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic get away!”
Review of Lake Shore Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Shore Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent three days last summer and we are returning again this year. The beach area is wonderful and the area is so peaceful. They serve a great continental breakfast every morning. The Lake Michigan sunsets are spectacular.

Room Tip: Call them early for reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

Location, location, location!! The best location! Pool and rooms very clean. Breakfast room sunny, clean, and relaxing. Lots of steps to the lake. But chairs to look at lake from the top. Outdoor fire pit. Very quiet. Rooms small and older. Bathroom very small. Short drive to Saugatuck. (Not a location or really a town children would enjoy.)

Room Tip: Ask the front desk. Very helpful. Some rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Peaceful275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I was looking for a place on the beach within 3 hrs of Saline, and this was the only hotel that fit the bill. This is really not a resort, but a quaint old motel that has been nicely renovated. We had no complaints at all about the room, and the continental breakfast was superb, with homemade baked goods every morning. Most appealing to me was the availability of bicycles and kayaks (included). Behind the hotel are lovely wide trails for bikes or just walking. There are 3 fire rings that stay lit until 10 pm. Yes there is a long stairway down to the beach, but it's great exercise and the view from the bluff is amazing. Saugatuk is a 5 min drive, full of great shops and restaurants. Internet is only available in the lobby and cell phone reception is sketchy, but it is peaceful and romantic!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
10  Thank MarthaS767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I agree with other reviewers. The room did smell old and of chemicals.. I did not like having to cross a road and navigate 100 steps to the beach. I have some arthritis in my knees and those steps were terrible. The main draw, for me, was the water and the steps made it nearly impossible. This is not a resort, really just a plain old motel. The bed was so uncomfortable my back hurt the entire time While there, however, I did find several other locations that will work for me in the future, not nearly as expensive either!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank bbaapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Beautiful, quiet place with a great beach! Room smelled strongly of cleaning supplies which we remedied by opening the windows. However, the people next to us were sitting outside thier room smoking so that didn't work! A scented candle did the trick. Helpful staff at check-in! The rooms are almost clean and could use an update but we had a pleasant evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susieforthebecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The room smelled when we entered it the first time. Like a real old building smell. Used air freshener and candle for all four days of visit. Thought room was clean but on the third day an additional smell of chemical cleanser prevailed. Turns out the stains in the bathroom were not permanent after all! There were problems with the plumbing too. And not just in our room but in all three rooms reserved by my family. The toilet flushed but barely and there were strange gurgling's which resulted in raw sewage coming up in the bathtub on the last morning. When I mentioned this to the woman at the desk (the owner, I guess) did we get a "sorry for your inconvenience" or anything. No, we were chided for not calling them immediately. "What would you do if there was a fire," she scolded. Uh, call 911? The place is not cheap even in off season and we will never stay there again. By the way, the resort is on a bluff separated by a road from the water. It's still a nice view but if you don't want to walk the 90 steps down, go to Oval Beach which isn't too far away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Wordpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeLSR, Manager at Lake Shore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

I spoke to this guest on the fourth and last morning of her visit when she FIRST mentioned the toilet malfuntion. Within five minutes the toilet was working properly. Since the guest indicted she felt inconvenienced, understandably, I advised that I wished she had called the office at the time of the problem so we could have corrected it immediately. When she said she did not think there was anyone available at 6:00 am, I told her staff is available 24 hours to assist our guests or respond in the event of an emergency such as a fire.

With regard to the condition of the room, we place the highest priorty on cleanliness of our rooms and our record supports this concern. We are disappointed to hear something may have been overlooked by housekeeping. However, if we missed something, we would have appreciated knowing about it during this guest's 4 night stay to resolve the issue rather than hear about it for the first time on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Lake Shore Resort.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, something I am a bit of a stickler on as there is nothing worse than a dirty room that smells :( So for me to say it was clean and comfortable is saying something.
The staff was always available and helpful with any questions we had for them. The breakfast was centennial style with fresh (homemade?) muffins, fruit, yogurt and boiled eggs. Coffee and orange juice. All served in a nice clean kitchen/eating area.
The location of the resort was perfect for us. It is towards the end of Lake Shore Drive so there is very little vehicle traffic, so it was nice and quiet with no problems with taking a stroll on the road.
The views....AWESOME! Beautiful sunsets from many different vantage points, be it on the multi-level deck that leads down to Lake Michigan to the immaculately groomed grounds of the resort.
Star gazing was amazing as you looked over the lake sitting by one of two gas lit fire pits. Also a great vantage point was off the multi-level deck to watch the stars. I was able to see 4 shooting stars from that view.
If you’re looking for a nice quiet place to relax, take in some really beautiful views and rewind...this is the place for you.
I know that we will be going back many times as it really did the trick for us!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vega15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
888 reviews
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
3.1 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#2 of 10 in Saugatuck
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
2.6 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
141 reviews
5.1 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Shore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Shore Resort

Address: 2885 Lakeshore Drive, P.O. Box 121, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Price Range: £121 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Shore Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View breathtaking sunsets... Walk the Lake Michigan Shoreline... Bike scenic Lakeshore Drive... Relax to gentle lake breezes. The Lake Shore Resort redefines relaxation. Lakeview rooms resting atop the bluff on the shore of Lake Michigan only 3 miles from downtown Saugatuck. Amenities include: private beach with lounge chairs and umbrellas (dependent on lake levels), kayaks, bikes, large heated pool, continental breakfast overlooking Lake Michigan, 2 miles of private nature trails, and much more. Come stay with us. Experience Saugatuck and Stay on Lake Michigan...it's GREAT! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lake Shore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Hotel Saugatuck
Lake Shore Saugatuck
Lake Shore Resort Saugatuck, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing