We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ship-N-Shore is the place to stay in Saugatuck!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ship-N-Shore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ship-N-Shore Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ship-N-Shore is the place to stay in Saugatuck!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just a fantastic place to stay. Right in the heart of town, within walking distance to everything there is to do. Front desk help was extremely attentive and courteous. Was given recommendations for dinner spots every night and was extremely happy each time. Room was very clean, soft towels, great water pressure in the shower and a very comfortable bed. Great pool and relaxing hot tub. Didn't wake up early enough (before noon) to take advantage of the continental breakfast but they had vending machines for a late night snack option. Arrived on a Saturday and the town was very active with people walking from place to place and live music playing into the night. Places were packed, people were out, just a great night to be out on the town experiencing all Saugatuck has to offer. Sunday through Tuesday it was the laid back, relaxing, small-town resort vacation you read about. If you're going to Saugatuck, the Ship-N-Shore is the only place to stay! Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mattygags13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    71
    16
    14
    14
See reviews for
41
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our family's experience at the Ship n Shore for a week this month was such that we will definately return & recommend to our friends & family. The rooms & over all facility were clean & very comfortable. We were greeted by management upon our arrival & felt as though we were the exception.......front desk staff & management were so attentative to my familty :). I've always respected a resort/ hotel who train their staff to treat customers this way.

Again, we will surely be returning based on our experience at this hotel!!!!!.

Room Tip: the water views of course....but any room will do....due to the excellent service & quality of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank btacooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My family and I are on our way home from a week long vacation at the Ship-N-Shore Hotel. As I read some of these reviews, I quickly got confused. Were these people staying at the same hotel as we were? I guess some people want to be able to get free things if they have one little complaint, but those are the people who find something wrong with everywhere they go, I guess.

Anyways, on to my review! It was sad to say goodbye to our awesome vacation. This hotel is the PERFECT location. We were able to walk (easily and without getting short of breath haha) to local restaurants, bars, and parks! The hotel is located on the water, and the view is beautiful!

As a family with kids, sleeping/noise is always a factor. The Ship-N-Shore had a variety of customers, age-wise. We had absolutely no problem falling asleep!! The noise was always under control, but that doesn't mean it was boring! There is always something to do!

The staff: The maids are always kind and helpful. The front desk girls, though young, were extremely nice. We met the manager, Ryan, a couple times, and he always remembered our names! Now that is service! He was very helpful with suggesting places to go locally, and even the nearby towns. We have nothing bad to say about this hotel!

The pool is great, and the marina is too!

The prices are perfect for this hotel, and I wouldn't suggest any other place!

Thanks, Ship-N-Shore!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Location of this place is great, within walking distance to everything, right on the water which is a beautiful setting and neat for watching boats traverse the river. The open-air setting of the lounge area is great too for eating breakfast or conversation, cards, etc. The rooms aren't plush at all, but adequate and charming. The water pressure in the shower was great, which is a lot of times lacking in a hotel. We did have a horrible experience, however. My husband had a private meeting with the general manager, but I do not feel it was adequately handled. On the second night of our 3-night stay, we chartered a sailing trip for our family and had them pick us up at the Ship-N-Shore dock, at the suggestion of the sailboat owners. It was a beautiful trip with wonderful people, and truly the highlight of our vacation. The sailboat owners had nothing but nice things to say about Ship-N-Shore while we were sailing, they said it seemed like a fun place to stay, etc., not one negative. When we got back from our 3-hour sail, a Ship-N-Shore employee, who was obviously waiting on us to return, immediately informed our sailing hosts that they were not allowed to pick up/drop off passengers, that was not allowed. I thought this bizarre, as we were guests of the hotel, and what better way to encourage people to stay there! His behavior was so inappropriate I am still in shock. He was very gruff and literally glared at all of us. We said quick goodbyes to our hosts and they departed ASAP. The whole thing was a very awkward ending to the most enjoyable part of our stay. The employee never apologized to us for his rudeness. My husband spoke with the manager, Ryan, the next morning when we checked out. Apparently it was ok for them to pick us up there and drop us back off, and he was going to call the charter folks and discuss that with them. He told my husband there would be a gift certificate waiting for us on check-out. The certificate was for a discount on a future stay, which I felt was very insulting. Why would we want to return to a place where we were treated so poorly? It seemed the manager was more concerned about making things right with the people who charter the sailboat rather than with us, which from a business standpoint makes sense, since they have the ability to influence a lot of people, and we are just one family. The behavior of this "dock police" employee was absolutely abhorrent and inexcusable, and he apparently doesn't know his job well, and certainly needs some social skills. The front desk employees could use some social skills as well. They should greet people, tell them goodbye, have a nice day, etc. as they come and go, the guests shouldn't have to be the ones to initiate any conversation whatsoever. The breakfast attendants, which also handled the front desk, phones, etc., were very unpleasant when asked if there were more of something that had run out, etc., complete with eye rolling and snippy replies. Really? Apparently the manager doesn't arrive until after breakfast is over at 10. Maybe he should start his day a little earlier and be there for at least part of the breakfast and maybe interact somewhat with the guests? Make sure their needs are being met?? Help the front desk people who seem to be over-tasked??? We were treated the best by the maids, who always seemed to have a smile and a good morning. They had the best social skills of anyone we were in contact with. HORRIFIC experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chen3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saugatuck hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Ship n Shore has made some updates over the past couple of years. But the bathrooms need a total gut job. The location is great. Party atmosphere when the boats are docked there. If you are looking for quite and serene, check out one of the bed and breakfast inns.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoNotreDameMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This place was one of three right on the water, and as others have said, in a great location in town. Room was ok, and service was mainly young kids at the desk, but adequate enough. Out noise complaint was brushed off completely.

I've never written a review, but upon reading one today and then the manager's response, I thought I should do so now.

We visited last weekend. We also experienced the loud music from the three large boats docked. It was so inappropriate and loud that we tried leaving the pool deck and going to the park next door. There was live entertainment at the park, and the performer there also tried multiple times to ask the drunk boaters to turn down their music.

You have to allow your guests to enjoy themselves. But to just be loud and drunk is a bit much. What this has to do with the festival is beyond me. There were hundreds of others a around town enjoying themselves without doing what these guests were allowed to do.

The manager's comment about a 40 rooms rebooking is also pointless, and untrue. We didn't rebook, and neither did our friends. We did book at the nice inn next door, just far enough away...



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
362 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Property is old motel style. Small bathroom with no shelf space. Beds were ok. No coffee maker in room which is unacceptable! Outside pool area with hot tub was clean and well maintained. Property is close to shops and restaurants. Room is not as important in this location in summer since you will want to spend time outside enjoying Saugatuk.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
10.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Holland
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maplewood Hotel
Maplewood Hotel
#11 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship-N-Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship-N-Shore Hotel

Property: Ship-N-Shore Hotel
Address: 528 Water St, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, the Ship-N-Shore Hotel is Saugatuck's Ultimate Waterfront Address! We are within walking distance to all of downtown Saugatuck's many shops, boutiques, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. We offer a heated outdoor pool and hot tub, as well as free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ship-N-Shore Hotel Saugatuck, Michigan
Ship n Shore Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing