We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence in the Michigan countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellence in the Michigan countryside”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Belvedere offers the modern comforts that the 21st century traveller requires, with the tranquil relaxation of a traditional B&B. It is clear that the owners carefully thought through the needs of their guests while attempting to maintain the old world feel that the inn and surrounding property afford.
While staying at the Belvedere for a wedding this past weekend, we were greeted with fantastic service by the staff, clean and comfortable beds, and rooms with ample space. We will certainly be choosing the Belvedere for our next stay in West Michigan!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    18
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
246
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I and my partner stayed here for a short two day get-a-way for some R&R. We had an amazing time, and really enjoyed EVERYTHING about this place. Shaun and the staff were just so awesome. There were times when staying here, we felt like we were transported somewhere on a European vacation! The food was so delicious, it is hard to express in words how good it really was. We stayed in the Belvedere Suite, and the shower and jacuzzi tub are so relaxing! It was also great to stay in the room where Jennifer Holiday stayed a little over a year ago. The room had a private balcony which also gave us access to the beautiful grounds directly from our room. It is only 5 minutes from downtown Saugatuck.

I have stayed at several B&Bs from California to Massachusetts, and this is by far THE VERY BEST!!! The other guests were so kind and warm. It is hard not to be nice when you are surrounded by the beauty and tranquility of the Belvedere. I cannot wait for my return to this magically, extravagant property. The people, the property, the spirit of service are all superior with an understated charm and elegance!

Thanks Shaun,
W&R

Room Tip: The Belvedere Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acrinc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This was a great place to get away from everything, slow down, and relax. It is about 5-10 min by car from downtown Saugatuck, which was not a hassle at all. The property is beautiful, the common areas beautifully maintained, and the room nicely appointed and comfortable.

We stayed in the Somerset room, which was comfortable, though a bit on the small side. But, there was enough room for sleeping, and sitting in comfy chairs, which was sufficient for our needs. There is a walk in closet with plenty of room for luggage and clothes. The bathroom had only the toilet and shower (no bath), and even though it was roomy, the sink was outside in the main room, which was a bit odd. But design principles 100 years ago were probably different than they are now. The room, the bathroom, AND the closet, had windows overlooking the beautiful landscaped back of the property, with pond/fountain. One warning- the floor in this room was rather squeaky, which made us feel self-conscious moving about the room if very late at night.

Except for sleeping, while were at the inn we spent more of our time in the common areas, which were roomy and varied. Our favorite was relaxing in the late morning in the sun room - with softly piped classical music playing - a great way to unwind. We were there before the season really gets hopping, so had a lot of space to ourselves.

In the afternoon and evening various snacks were available at the top of the steps. The highlight of the stay had to be the food. Full breakfast every day - from fresh fruit/yogurt/home-made-granola, to cooked entrees. The included four-course dinner (because we stayed two weeknights), a 100-dollar value, was exceptional! I had the pansoti, which was creamy enough to die for, the gazpacho (fine, but not rave-worthy like the other three courses), the chateaubriand - which was cooked exactly as requested (medium rare), and exceptionally flavorful, and the tatin tart - a kind of upside-down warm apple tart, with gelato on top. It is impossible to describe the richness of this dessert, which we enjoyed even more than the profiteroles, which themselves were chock full of chocolatey goodness.

The hosts were very accommodating, genuinely friendly, and clearly cared to make sure that we had a wonderful stay, which we did.

If we return to Saugatuck, we'll definitely check into the Belvedere again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank random112358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This was our first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast. It was so nice. We really enjoyed the personal service. I must say the food we had for dinner and even the breakfast was probably one of the best meals I have ever had. My husband just stayed at the Four Seasons and he said he had a better meal at The Belvedere Inn than the Four Seasons!! Unbelieveable!! This is a must stay if you plan to attend Sagautuck.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cantebury Suite. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justinak203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I am going to join the legions of people on trip advisor and highly recommend staying here. This is a beautiful place, with stunning grounds and very charming ground floor common areas as well as very nice rooms, great customer service and fantastic food. One common room is a handsome library with books and games. The other is the morning room, it’s very pretty and has a floral theme. There are two dining rooms on the first floor as well. Both appear to be in muted colors based off the Irish flag…very nice!

We stayed in the Somerset room. It was a feminine and very attractively decorated room on the second floor with a view over the back gardens. It was also in very good proximity to the “treat bureau” which was my name for the refreshment consul. It was always stocked with delicious home-made apricot biscotti or cookies, strawberry iced tea, lemonade or iced lattes, depending on the day, and various snacks like trail mix and salted nuts. The view was very pretty from the room. The Somerset is a somewhat cozy room but it has (and this is worth mentioning- the website does not say this) a very nice walk-in closet with plenty of room in there to put your suitcases and shoes. There is even a window in the closet over -looking the gardens as well as two very comfy wing chairs that flank the little fire place. This room has a simple stall shower and no tub though I do know the suites have spa tubs-just something to keep in mind when booking. There is no TV in the room but we did not miss it. The water pressure was good and there was plenty of hot water. The air conditioner also worked well, it made the room cold, and I am a stickler for air conditioning. They also gave us a little fan for white noise right when I requested one. The floors are a bit creaky due to the age of the inn but beautifully maintained and polished.

I had champagne and a cheese plate added to the room for the arrival, and I would recommend to anyone to have that added to their itinerary, since it was delicious and perfectly assembled. It’s all about the details at Belvedere, and even the cheese plate was made of top quality cheeses in a balanced variety and fruits. Bottled water is kept for you in your room, and yes it is included and replaced if you drink it! Breakfast was delicious and did not disappoint, they had a different selection each day and always a big variety of food to which to choose from, and dinner was also outstanding.

Saugatuck is a very nice town to visit and this is the place to stay when you go. You will love it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Somerset room. It was a feminine and very attractively decorated room on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This was our first visit to the Belvedere Inn and Restaurant and were delightfully happy with everything there. From the moment you walk in the front door you are made to feel at home and very welcome. The staff makes you feel very special and do everything they can to make your visit an enjoyable one. We enjoyed walking the grounds and seeing the flowers, pond and all they lovely things nature has for us to enjoy. Breakfast was a gourmet treat; unfortunately we were not able to try the dinner but plan to do so on our next visit. This is a place not to miss if you are in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDWRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Michigan, USA
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We really enjoyed staying at the Belvedere Inn, it is a great blend of old world charm and modern amenities. Dinner was oustanding and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was not large but very nice and quiet and had everything we needed. Would definitely return again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#6 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.8 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maplewood Hotel
Maplewood Hotel
#11 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Inn & Restaurant

Property: Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Address: 3656 63rd St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9705
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belvedere Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Michigan's very own Mini Versailles located in Saugatuck, Michigan. This Frank Lloyd Wright architecture inspired mansion boasts 10 beautifully appointed guest rooms and a fine dine restaurant sitting on over 5 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens.Enjoy the intimacy of a Bed & Breakfast while feeling the sophistication for a European style boutique Inn. You won't feel like you are in some ma & pa home here. Breakfast is served in our formal dining room at your own table!The Belvedere Inn has found the perfect balance between a B&B and Boutique Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Belvedere Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Inn And Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant Hotel Saugatuck
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant Saugatuck, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing