We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR SECRET IS OUT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
Ranked #4 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dearborn, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OUR SECRET IS OUT!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Almost hate for the secret to get out! Stayed at the Saugatuck Motel in July and can''t say enough good things about our stay. Rob, the owner, was absolutely wonderful and made us feel like we were the only ones staying there and we were there on the busiest weekend of the year. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and completely remodeled. No expense was spared. The pool is sparkling clean and we loved the wooded grounds. We also enjoyed the fire pit on cool nights. Thank you, Rob!!! You were the perfect host. We look forward to returning year after year. We will never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: It's our secret!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChellnDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This motel is the best kept secret! Recently renovated, the rooms are cozy and clean with thoughtful amenities. The pool is clean and stocked for a day sitting in the sun. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a wonderful Michigan get-away!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieSam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We went for my sisters birthday weekend. Rooms are small, but cozy and charmingly decorated. The bed was super comfy with plump pillows. The whole place has a relaxed, up north vibe to it. We didn't get to use the pool, but it was sparkling clean with lots of places to relax. The owner Rob went out of his way to make sure we had a great stay, he's the BEST! Can't wait to come back next year.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jcarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at The Saugatuck Motorlodge for one night on vacation - they had just opened - the lobby wasn't even finished or furnished yet but all the rooms were ready. The room was small but completely new with all new furnishings. The bed was very comfy and there was a nice flat screen TV to watch, it also had a microwave and small refrigerator. There is ample closet space and shelves along with a large dresser. The bathroom was also completely redone and everything new in it. Our only complaint was the walls must be pretty thin because you could hear people on either side. A suggestion would be to include a coffee maker in rooms. This motel also has an outdoor pool which is an extra perk!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladys234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Saugatuck Motel (formerly Shangri La) has recently been updated inside and out, and it really shows. The rooms themselves are small, but are tastefully decorated and modern. Having two Adirondack chairs and a table right outside the room was a nice touch and added to the roadside culture. The communal aspect of this outside seating was incredible-people offering each other drinks, fruit, snacks etc! Being able to sit around a bonfire at night was another nice plus. Did I mention the attentive and considerate owner? Rob could not have been more gracious, accommodating, and appreciative of our business. Do yourself a favor and book a stay at this great little place just a few miles from downtown Saugatuck and Douglas!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dprudzinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to rent the very last room available at this awesome property over Venetian Fest weekend in Saugatuck, MI. The Saugatuck has everything going for it... A very friendly and helpful owner, beautifully renovated rooms (very cool style), a clean and re-modeled pool area, fire pit, and a great location (within 5 minutes of downtown Saugatuck). We would recommend The Saugatuck to anyone looking for a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILoveMilesyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
862 reviews
4.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
345 reviews
2.5 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
154 reviews
3.0 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#2 of 10 in Saugatuck
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saugatuck Retro Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saugatuck Retro Resort

Property: The Saugatuck Retro Resort
Address: 6190 Blue Star Hwy, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9695
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Saugatuck Retro Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly christened Saugatuck Resort Motel aims to build on the property's decades old reputation of family-owned quaintness and hospitality. The resort takes guests back in time to the days of small roadside motels where the owner checked you in complete with flashing neon signs, large grassy yards with big shade trees and cozy rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Saugatuck Retro Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saugatuck Retro Resort Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing