We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlite Resort(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captains Quarters Motel(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
US$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pines Motor Lodge(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachway Resort(Saugatuck)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
125
16
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
16
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadirondack chairsfire pitowner robstepping back in timesuper chilllandscaped groundsbooked last minuteenjoy morning coffeeroadside motelbeautiful poolmid centurygreat recommendationsblue star highwayperfect spotgirls weekendcomfortable bedsbonfire
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Almost hate for the secret to get out! Stayed at the Saugatuck Motel in July and can''t say enough good things about our stay. Rob, the owner, was absolutely wonderful and made us feel like we were the only ones staying there and we were there on the busiest weekend of the year. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and completely remodeled. No expense was spared. The pool is sparkling clean and we loved the wooded grounds. We also enjoyed the fire pit on cool nights. Thank you, Rob!!! You were the perfect host. We look forward to returning year after year. We will never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: It's our secret!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChellnDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This motel is the best kept secret! Recently renovated, the rooms are cozy and clean with thoughtful amenities. The pool is clean and stocked for a day sitting in the sun. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a wonderful Michigan get-away!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngieSam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We went for my sisters birthday weekend. Rooms are small, but cozy and charmingly decorated. The bed was super comfy with plump pillows. The whole place has a relaxed, up north vibe to it. We didn't get to use the pool, but it was sparkling clean with lots of places to relax. The owner Rob went out of his way to make sure we had a great stay, he's the BEST! Can't wait to come back next year.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jcarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at The Saugatuck Motorlodge for one night on vacation - they had just opened - the lobby wasn't even finished or furnished yet but all the rooms were ready. The room was small but completely new with all new furnishings. The bed was very comfy and there was a nice flat screen TV to watch, it also had a microwave and small refrigerator. There is ample closet space and shelves along with a large dresser. The bathroom was also completely redone and everything new in it. Our only complaint was the walls must be pretty thin because you could hear people on either side. A suggestion would be to include a coffee maker in rooms. This motel also has an outdoor pool which is an extra perk!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladys234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Saugatuck Motel (formerly Shangri La) has recently been updated inside and out, and it really shows. The rooms themselves are small, but are tastefully decorated and modern. Having two Adirondack chairs and a table right outside the room was a nice touch and added to the roadside culture. The communal aspect of this outside seating was incredible-people offering each other drinks, fruit, snacks etc! Being able to sit around a bonfire at night was another nice plus. Did I mention the attentive and considerate owner? Rob could not have been more gracious, accommodating, and appreciative of our business. Do yourself a favor and book a stay at this great little place just a few miles from downtown Saugatuck and Douglas!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dprudzinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews