We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit again!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Secret of Saugatuck Suites
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must visit again!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Coming from Montana to Michigan for a fall color tour, We wanted to stay someplace that offered great, close to town, fine dining and beautiful rooms. We had all of that and more at the Secret of Saugatuck Suites. I think it was the large comfortable bed that captured me the most. Still wondering where she bought those sheets! We stayed at the house that sleeps a large number of guest and LOVED it. Beautifully decorated with all of the amenities of home and more. The hot tub was a true blessing after a long day of shopping and then eating. Sitting on the patio the next morning, we saw deer and other critters native to Michigan. The color tour was spectacular! Owners were on site and able to direct us to local hot spots and were helpful and friendly. They advised us if we needed anything such as fresh linens or further instruction, they would be happy to help. It wasn't necessary though as everything was provided and more. The entire grounds are well maintained and clean. I would recommend anyone to stay here. In fact, I'm going back this October for another color tour and photo session and booking my stay at the same resort. Thank you for a great time in Michigan. See you soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    15
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
39
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at the Secret of Saugatuck Suites many times. The owners are great people and take care of the facility. There are numerous units that are available to rent. One of my favorite is the house on the property that sleeps at least 15 people. Great place for a family reunion or a big family get together.

Beds are clean and comfortable as well.

I highly recommend this resort for any type of vacation.

Room Tip: They have two, three and one bedroom units available and don't forget about the entire house wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugatuck, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Close to Lakes and down town Saugatuck. Everything we could ask for, home away from home. Our spacious clean two bedroom condo was awesome. Fresh towels, linens, always available on request .Natures wonderland from frogs, hawks, turkeys, humming birds, deer and many other wild animals make the scenery relaxing and interesting. We highly recommend Secret of Saugatuck to those who wish to have peaceful surroundings, A wonderful place to bring the whole family: enjoy the pool & hot tub with plenty of umbrella covered tables & seating and lounge chairs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Secret of Saugatuck Suites is in a quiet secluded location. The inn falls between downtown Saugatuck and Oval Beach. When we arrived we stayed in the car to watch a couple of deer play in the field by the Inn. The owners sent a text the week before notifying us of our room number and door security code. Though this was convenient, an email confirmation would have been a nice touch. We arrived not knowing what to expect since there was no introduction from the owners (email, follow-up phone call etc.). Like I mentioned, the location was great and the pool was nice and clean... though the hot tub has seen better days.

We stayed in C-1 which is right by the pool and a nice yard for our Miniature Schnauzer to play in. The room was spacious (small bedroom) and it was obvious that some updates had been made. However, the finishing of the entire suite was outdated and we were disappointed with the overall feel. Though the room was clean, the paneling on the walls is bowed and the trim was never finished. There was a mold on the caulking in the bathroom and the whole suite had an old closed up smell. This alone is probably a reason we will not return. My wife has sensitive allergies and sneezed and coughed the entire trip- it didn’t bother me as badly (though it was evident). The paint is chipped and the furniture has seen better days. The only other complaint we had was the exterior lighting around the rooms. The lights in the exterior hallways put off a large amount of light. Unfortunately, the window coverings allow this light to flow through. We woke several times thinking it was daylight outside. It would be nice to have a pull curtain on the windows and bedroom door that would allow quests to block this light if desired.

In a nutshell, the suites were acceptable but below average and did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

While I would probably stay at this property again (nice pool, good location, friendly guests), there are some missed opportunities for providing more comfort and convenience for guests. I'm likely more cognizant about my surroundings due my own background in hospitality.

Throughout our travels, locally and beyond - we've encountered some outstanding service and amenities. Comforts of home are always appreciated, in particular when staying in a suite. Having a refrigerator, a separate living/TV area from bedroom -- even dining area is a plus - esp. when staying longer than just a couple of nights. Here, cooking utensils and more - were plentiful. But what about having some level of WOW factor so that a property is recommended highly -- to others.

Maybe not a WOW, but being mindful about your guests and their daily needs: as an example, having more than just a small mirror - on an old worn out medicine cabinet. Uncomfortable when two people trying to ready to go out, and have to wait for this tiny mirror. I am sure the cost of a one night stay would likely pay for one full length mirror in each room/suite -- on the back of the outside of a bedroom door for instance -- would be very convenient for everyone.

Lights weren't working properly if at all but it felt awkward, w/o any office/professional presence onsite, to make a call to a 'front desk' or housekeeping -- if something was needed, had to text;
No ice machines onsite; No housekeeping upkeep or supplies replenishment during our stay - but... they were waiting at our doorstep minutes before checkout time.

Living room and furnishings were quite comfortable, though cable TV or even a TV guide would have been appreciated. Pool was clean though not heated. Having a place, even poolside - where local events are posted would be adding to the convenience factor and enhancing the visitor's experience.

Having to pay in full, in advance -- was a concern for us. Yet, there was no 'welcome to our property' or 'thanks for staying with us - come back again' was ever uttered. This is essential when in the hospitality business. Felt more like a campground in a way -- totally on our own, fend for ourselves kind of environment, but w/o tents.

Here's a thought about providing a unique WOW along with supporting your community -- of artists. Why not feature some of the local artists' works in rooms or around the property, This is a risk-free opportunity to spruce up the ambience - and allow guests to purchase the artwork. Everyone benefits, and you might stand out from the rest.

So yes, we might stay there in the future. But there are so many opportunities to improve on service, amenities, and more -- and really not that costly considering the long-term impression .

Room Tip: Some people live on this property full-time, so you may want to consider your room location, especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very laid back and a great escape. Really nice pool area that was never crowded. Quiet and peaceful. No maid service at all during our Thursday-Sunday stay, so it would've been nice if they would've stopped in to ask if we needed any towels or toilet paper, etc. Other than that, great. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michigansnowbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were in the area for my niece's beach wedding and after researching several rental properties, we came across this place. It was very pleasant, clean, nice amenities, family and pet friendly and the owners, Dino & Cheryl were very kind and helpful. The pool and Jacuzzi were very nice and there are even very nice community grills to use. I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.5 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#8 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret of Saugatuck Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret of Saugatuck Suites

Property: Secret of Saugatuck Suites
Address: 560 Campbell Rd, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9730
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowning the bluff between Lake Michigan and downtown Saugatuck, Suites of Saugatuck's premier condominium resort is conveniently located between Oval Beach and Douglas Beach. Suites of Saugatuck's large grounds and huge pool provide a perfect place for family picnics and relaxation. Suites of Saugatuck offer a secluded, beautifully landscaped setting on four private acres. Newly remodeled and traditionally redecorated, Suites of Saugatuck has one and two bedroom condos featuring separate bedrooms with queen size beds. In the living room you will find a sofa sleeper, free cable, and a fully equipped kitchen, and complementary coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Of Saugatuck Hotel Saugatuck
Hotel Saugatuck
Secret Of Saugatuck Suites Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing