We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable”
Review of Park House Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park House Inn B&B
Ranked #10 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This was our second time in Saugatuck, and our first time at the Park House Inn. My husband and I always stay at B & B's when we travel because we enjoy the homey feel compared to chain motels. We LOVED our stay at the Park House; it was very clean, comfortable and relaxing. The off street parking, freshly prepared breakfasts, and quiet surroundings (a 4 block walk to downtown) were all pluses! The innkeepers were VERY friendly and accommodating. We highly recommend this B & B will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Saugatuck!

Room Tip: Close enough to walk downtown, so wear comfy shoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tw0HappyCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    14
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
46
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Park House Inn during a long weekend to celebrate out Anniversary and it was great. It's location was perfect. We stayed in Maude's room and it was located right inside the main door to the B&B. I thought this was going to be a problem but it was very quiet and we even had a hot tub all to ourselves.

It is located close enough to walk to the town but far enough away from the nightlife noise. Toni was the Inn keeper we saw the most and she was amazing. She was very helpful from the moment we got there. Whenever we were looking for something to do she had great tips and advice. After our stay I left two sport coats in the closet and I received a call from Toni right away and she had them in the mail the next day!

I would also highly recommend that you check out Douglas. It was great and not as busy as downtown.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winfield IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We paid over $250 for one night for an average king size bedroom. The place was clean enough but the service was disappointing. The breakfast food was only average, but was self serve and there wasn't even a tablecloth on the table! At half the cost this would have been ok but not at the price we paid. The coffee was watery, they didn't have decaf and we went out to get good coffee and agreed we wouldn't be going back.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank UnhappyInWinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

While we loved our room and enjoyed the breakfast, we thought the service was awful! We were told to put dirty towels/washclothes in the tub if we wanted them changed. We left the first day, expecting our room to be serviced and to get new towels. When we came back, nothing had been done. The same thing happened the second day. The owners were absent, the note said enjoying the beach (not that I blame them). I put the towels in a bag and left it by the entrance where they would be sure to see it, asking for new towels (since, at this point we had no more). Someone took the bag and the note, but still didn't replace the towels! It was really frustrating to have no room service at all for a four day stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slroyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

All in all the Park House Inn is a lovely place to stay. As others have stated in prior reviews, not directly downtown but only about 5-6 blocks away so nice location. Value wise it was the best priced room we found for our Thursday night stay. Nice screened in porch, nice amenities out all day - tea, peanuts, chex mix, etc. Our room was well appointed. Breakfast was very good, scrambled eggs, sausage, blueberry pancakes and fresh fruit.

Here is the odd part of our experience and for some this would be a non-issue so it should not deter from booking this Inn. I had spoken to one of the owners last week and informed her that we might be early as we were coming directly from taking our son to school. She assured me that was no problem, and if the room was ready she would get us in early. I assured her that we understood the check in time was at 3 and we would stop by when we arrived to check in. We arrived at 11:30 and rang the bell and walked in as instructed by sign on the door. A woman was sitting in the other room and came around the corner and asked "can I help you"? I told her who I was (we were one of the two guests in the ten room Inn that night). She looked frustrated, consulted someone in the other room and told us to come back at 3. No offer to bring any bags in, get advice on the area, or even introduce herself as one of the proprietors. We felt very uncomfortable and out of place and left quickly. We did return after 3 and she was much nicer and very accommodating but the entire experience was so different from any other b & b we have ever stayed at. We usually love staying at b & b's where you feel at home right away and this was just not the case for us. We really had no expectation of getting our room early but did hope to meet the owners and get acclimated to the area. So yes I would recommend this Inn to a friend for the price, location and nice room but with the caveat that we felt more like customers only once we were allowed to check in and never really felt like guests at their Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The inn keepers were friendly and very helpful, but not intrusive. We stayed in Tamar's Room, which had a queen bed, mini flatscreen, dvd, a/c, fireplace, dresser, and full bathroom. The bed was squeaky and uncomfortable. We did not sleep well. Overall, the room and bathroom were clean. I would suggest staying in a room with a larger bed.
Breakfast was filling. We had blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs, and fresh fruit the first morning and a Mexican egg casserole, corn bread, and fresh fruit the next morning. There was also, coffee, tea, orange juice, cereal, and yogurt. We ate breakfast on the enclosed porch with a view of the gaden. Very relaxing.
The B & B is less than a 5-minute walk away from downtown Saugatuck. It is quiet at night because it isn't located downtown. There was parking on site for all guests. Next door is a very good restaurant called Elbo Room. Delicious food and very friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Detroit
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Stayed over Venetian festival weekend. Park house is a nice B&B , good food and lots of it for breakfast, relatively quiet at night for sleeping. About a 10 minute walk into town. Nice common rooms, screened porch, and garden area outside.

Does share a parking lot with a restaurant and marina, so that can create noise and tight parking spaces, but mostly not an issue.

Our favorite B& B of the three we have stayed at in Saugatuck.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBH1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
2.4 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maplewood Hotel
Maplewood Hotel
#11 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
0.4 mi away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Inn B&B

Property: Park House Inn B&B
Address: 888 Holland St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9607
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 150+ year old property 9 guest rooms all private baths & seasonal use fireplaces, some rooms with private hot tub or over sized jetted spa tub and balconies. Full breakfast daily, warm weather seating on wrap around screened porch overlooking beautiful gardens. Onsite parking, short walk to downtown shops, restaurants, and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Park House Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park House Inn B&B Saugatuck, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing