We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice people and place, but too espensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Park House Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park House Inn B&B
Ranked #10 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Chicago
1 review
“Nice people and place, but too espensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Very nice people, ok place, but over $200. per night is too high.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank basketballjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    14
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
46
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

I just returned from a trip with a friend to the Park House Inn in Saugatuck, Michigan and cannot wait to go back. The Innkeepers, Toni and Melissa, are such great people....kind, considerate and willing to take the time to answer questions.

The Inn itself is the oldest residence in the town of Saugatuck. It's been very well kept up and the rooms are first rate. We stayed in the Loft Suite which is the former attic of the home, that was converted to a two bedroom suite. It's the most rustic of all the rooms and gives you a sense of being in a treehouse since the view out the side from the third floor is of mature maple and juniper trees...very private. There's also an in-room fireplace.

Breakfasts are great, as well as all day snacks available for those who hungry between meals, or late at night.

The location of the inn is very nice, off of the busy main streets of downtown, yet a pleasant 5-10 minute walk to the center of town.

There is plenty of off street parking for cars. Downtown inns suffer from bar/restaurant noise which is not a problem here...very quiet at night.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — no exterior hot tub
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kyle19125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2008

My husband and I went to Saugatuck to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary, This is a very charming B&B to stay at. Very relaxing with all the comforts of home. The inn keepers do an excellent job of explaining the history of the inn as well as making you feel comfortable for the duration of your stay. We had a relaxing getaway and really enjoyed everything. I would recommend The Park House Inn to everyone!

  • Liked — That it was charming and relaxing!
  • Disliked — Can't say I had a great time!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bre1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2007

What a wonderful get-away! I used to go to Saugatuck several times per year, but had not been since my formerly favorite B&B had changed ownership about 15 years ago. A friend and I were looking for a place to go for a girls' weekend, and picked Saugatuck. After some research, I booked the Loft suite at the Park House Inn.

Well, it was wonderful! The innkeepers were warm and welcoming, the atmosphere was cozy, and the room was spacious and comfortable. There is always a good selection of nibbles, plus tea and cocoa and instant coffee, in the dining room, and the sitting room is decked out with comfy places to sit. We had a VCR in our room, and found many viewing options available in a cabinet in the sitting room. Also, since the weather was still warm, we were able to breakfast on the wonderful wrap around porch, which overlooks a lovely garden.

The breakfasts, incidentally, were really good, too. Wonderful mixed fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, English muffins, and multiple offerings for main dishes. One day, there was a choice of muffin cup eggs with or without bacon, the next day was a choice of either blueberry pancakes or scrambled eggs. And the coffee is fabulous!

I've already planned a return trip, and I suspect that there will be more!

  • Liked — The cozy atmosphere and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The gravel parking lot shared with a popular restaurant. Many guests took advantage of having spaces unmarked to take up a lot of room.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMTTYRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2006

We stayed at the Park House the weekend of 11/10/06 and had a great time. Adele and Toni are wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. We loved the fire in the dining area. This was our first time there with Toni and Adele and they have only improved on Joe and Lynda's original ideas. We loved the new touches. The other couple that came with us had never been to a B&B and will probably never stay at a hotel again! Thank you so much. We will be back.
PS Don't miss the Pansy or Mignon Suites!!

  • Liked — location and ambiance
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book early
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2006

We had a couple friends tell us that they were staying at the Park Place so we decided to hook up with them for a weekend in Saugatuck, and we booked the Pearl Room. I really enjoyed my stay here. The Pearl room was not one of the fancier rooms but it sure didn't lack in comfort. The beds were so comfortable. Toni the Innkeeper was very friendly and was always making sure that we were enjoying ourselves and that we had everything that we needed. She made cookies both nights that we were there and there is a refrigerator downstairs that was always stocked that you could just help yourself. Breakfast was wonderful, especially the fruit filled french toast. And the breakfast was buffet style so you could keep going back for more! And then you could take it out to the screened in porch to enjoy the gardens while you enjoy breakfast! I would recommend this BB to anyone, within walking distance to downtown and really easy to find on Holland street. We had a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmmcclint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2006

We just spent a fantastic weekend visiting the Park House in Saugatuck, Mi near Lake Michigan. The accomodations were top rate -- a historic bed and breakfast that is over 100 years old -- beautiful antique furniture -- a porch/veranda overlooking a lovely wrap around garden with flowers in full bloom -- breakfast included and food prepared with herbs grown in the garden; wonderful fresh seasonal fruit; the blueberry french toast will always be remembered! We were very fortuate to stay in the Susan B. Anthony room on the first floor of the Park House. It has its own entrance off the front porch that leads into a private porch that has a hottub and lovely iron table and chairs and candlelight! You enter the room from the porch (there is another entrance to the room in a hallway off the main lobby) and instantly are taken by its ambianance -- antique fireplace, lovely windows (including a stained glass window by the bed) good size room, the quality of the bed/linins was exceptional -- very clean, cozy, comfortable, and plush. There is a completely updated private bathroom that is clean and well appointed. The innkeepers were very gratious, and friendly, and worked to ensure that our visit was a pleasant one!! We had a wonderful experience and have booked the same room for next year!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
2.4 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maplewood Hotel
Maplewood Hotel
#12 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
0.4 mi away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Inn B&B

Property: Park House Inn B&B
Address: 888 Holland St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9607
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 150+ year old property 9 guest rooms all private baths & seasonal use fireplaces, some rooms with private hot tub or over sized jetted spa tub and balconies. Full breakfast daily, warm weather seating on wrap around screened porch overlooking beautiful gardens. Onsite parking, short walk to downtown shops, restaurants, and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Park House Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park House Inn B&B Saugatuck, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing