We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Wickwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wickwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 19 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Wickwood Inn - they were wonderful, peaceful, and I loved the Sticky Buns………..and the Hor’s ‘douevres were OUTSTANDING………you must go----it is one of a kind- beautiful, delectable, amazing! Julee Rosso, not only is a famous cookbook writer (The Silver Palate), she is Innkeeper
extraordinaire!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmomma21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

We just spent 5 lovely days at the Wickwood Inn.

We stayed in the large room with a fireplace which we used at night. The Inn is quiet and luxurious. Breakfast is a delightful way to start the day with fresh fruits, delicate fritattas, house made sausages and more. Each morning there was a pot of coffee waiting outside our door and each afternoon found the most wonderfully baked treats in the library. At six we were served wine with more food! We ate in the garden and met some wonderful people who shared the passion for great inns and good food.

We found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and pleasant to be around.

The town of Saugatuck is charming, unpretentious (like the Hamptons without the snobbery, traffic and crowds). The beaches are wonderful, stretches of sand and not a lot of people. Lake Michigan is freshwater so swimming was a pleasure too.

The Wickwood is the place you should stay when visiting Suagatuck. No question about it!

Room Tip: For a treat try the Lodge Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelerdeb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed one night recently. Nicely appointed room though small. The bathroom was slightly larger than a phone booth. The night turned cold and so did the room. The fireplace (a feature in the more expensive rooms) did not work - "turned off for the summer". Went down to breakfast to find mostly empty serving plates so we went into town to eat. Pretty setting, convenient, just not a do-over.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We spent two midweek nights in the Swedish Cottage room. The inn was quiet and restful, even though filled to capacity. The food was excellent, but it should be for the price. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts and the after dinner "surprises." The hosts were very kind and accommodating and made each guest feel special. Definitely worth a visit for the hospitality, the food, and the location.

Room Tip: The Swedish Cottage room was tiny, but quiet. Plenty of space for most couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familyvisitor09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Just got back from a quick trip to Saugatuck and stayed one night at the Wickwood Inn. We found a parking space right in front (yahoo!) but they do have a parking lot for guests. Was warmly greeted by Nancy and shown around the B&B. Lovely common areas, a wonderful, relaxing screened in back porch, and assorted beverages available in the refrigerator. The room was nice, a king size bed and a selection of CD's to listen to. (I wish B&B's would put a clock radio in the room, not everyone has a cell phone with an alarm.) There was a lovely appetizer hour with delicious offerings and wine and friendly people to offer suggestions on where to eat, what to see, etc. When we got home from dinner around 9:30 there were cookies available, decaf coffee and nice folks to chat with. Breakfast was wonderful! I'm sure that is because the owner is a cookbook author...one of the reasons we chose this place. Expensive but worth the splurge!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ironpen47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Probably the nicest place we've every had the luck to find in the US; a high end B&B, friendly and breakfasts to die for.

We booked the Villa Junior Suite, not one of the most expensive rooms, but fabulous just the same, stuffed full of antiques, books, paintings & wall hangings. The bathroom was very small, but the shampoos and bath stuff plentiful and gorgeous smelling.

We loved the breakfasts and found the staff friendly and helpful. The food was plentiful and of a high standard and unfortunately helped increase our waistlines!

Saugatuck itself is dreamy, can't believe we've never been here before.

As for returning, a big YES!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sueandpauluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Wickwood for a night over Memorial Day weekend. What a beautiful place! First off, the location is awesome. It's right on Butler where everything is, yet tucked away just far enough down the street that it's quiet. We stayed in the Swedish Cottage. It was really cute, but very tiny. The room wasn't so bad, but the bathroom definitely couldn't allow for more than one person. It really wasn't a problem for us, but I know others may desire a little more space. Also, I can't forget to mention the food. Everything was delicious! The appetizers at night were so plentiful we skipped dinner and just went for dessert :)

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor if you don't want noise. At around 2am it got pretty loud with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALH0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
913 reviews
2.7 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 19 in Saugatuck
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 19 in Saugatuck
84 reviews
0 mi away
Maplewood Hotel
Maplewood Hotel
#12 of 19 in Saugatuck
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 19 in Saugatuck
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickwood Inn

Address: 510 Butler St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range: £154 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wickwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wickwood! Perfectly placed in the heart of Saugatuck's Historic District, our Inn is prodigious - providing you with more privacy than a Bed and Breakfast and more pampering than a Boutique Hotel. We can't wait for you to experience the difference of life at Wickwood! We are smitten by the fresh flavors of the seasons, and we're serious about celebrating local food. Everyday we serve our owner and Silver Palate Cookbook author's distinctive Champagne Brunch, Evening Sips & Small Plates, and Scrumptious Sweets & Treats throughout your stay. All of this is complimentary because we adore the cheer that comes from sharing good food and wine seasoned with a generous dash of laughter. Of course, high speed WiFi and private parking are also part of your stay. Life it too short to worry about additional charges and costs. As you step outside our doors, the charm of our coastal Village awaits. With its pristine beaches, award winning art galleries, unique boutiques and intriguing historic interests ... you may be unable to resist life in Saugatuck! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wickwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickwood Hotel Saugatuck
Wickwood Inn Saugatuck, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing