We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Thanksgiving To Remember..”
Review of Wickwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wickwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Thanksgiving To Remember..”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

First, let me start off by saying I am really happy to see so many recent positive reviews about Wickwood Inn - it is hands down, the most beautiful inn I have ever stayed in! I have to admit that I was a bit nervous about staying here at first, due to some not so good Trip Advisor Reviews. But as soon as we walked through the door, I knew I had made the right choice. To this day, we still talk about our weekend at Wickwood...

Anyway, back to the review: So Thanksgiving was rolling around, and not having any friends or family close by, we decided to take a trip to Saugatuck for the holiday. We arrived late on the Wednesday evening and the Inn looked like something out of a Christmas movie - covered in a couple feet of snow and decorated with the most beautiful Christmas decorations.

We were warmly greeted by the innkeeper and offered an upgrade to a room that contained a fire place. Score! Before taking us up to our room, she gave us a quick tour of the living and dining area. The cozy Christmas decorations and warm crackling fire made us forget that we were away from our families on the Thanksgiving Holiday. Frankly, we don't like a lot of our family members lol (don't tell anyone!) so we secretly preferred the fact that we had the whole Inn to ourselves!!

Our Room was everything we could of expected and more. And we even had our own Christmas Tree! lol (ok maybe that was a bit much haha). You can tell the rooms have each been thoughtfully decorated with furniture and items from the owners' travels. We quickly unpacked and I changed into a robe, popped a Christmas cd into the CD player, and sat by the fire. Perfect. Just perfect. (One word on that though, and my only complaint..the fire made the room really hot! We should'v expected that as I did run in for about an hour or so..but I wish the innkeeper would've said something about it. We had to open a window (with considerable difficulty) to get some of the heat out! As far as we could tell, the Inn doesn't have AC..so we did have to spend the first night with most of the sheets off. But that is more my fault than anything else.)

Thanksgiving Day was absolutely perfect as we were literally the only two people in the Inn - and the innkeeper didn't at all make us feel uncomfortable for it. We popped out for a bottle champagne and the innkeeper kindly provided us with all of the orange juice we needed for mimosas! We spent the afternoon drinking and reading books in the study. I couldn't have pictured a more perfect day. Truly. We went to Thanksgiving Dinner at The Belvedere Inn - but I will talk about that in another review.

We spent "Black Friday" pretty much the same way we spent Thanksgiving..except we went into the town to check out the shops on Butler Street. Wickwood Inn is only a few minutes a way away from all of the art galleries, shops, and restaurants. We had coffee, bought two paintings, and headed back to the Inn. This definitely had to be one of the only times during my travels where I actually wanted to stay in our hotel/inn as much as possible. To be fair, Saugatuck is a small town. But Wickwood Inn is what made this trip truly memorable..it's the type of place that makes you want to open a B&B of your own.

I suppose I should address the breakfast as others had. I too was attracted by the fact that a famous chef was one of the owners..but I do have to agree that it seems like she/they aren't involved in the day-to-day management of the place. That being said, the breakfast was superb and we really couldn't have asked for more. We were served an egg casserole one day and a dutch pancake the next. There were also sausages and ham, pastries, yogurts, fruit, and as much bread as you could ever want. I can't really comment on the hors d'oeuvres as we weren't in the Inn when they were being served. And I do have to agree with some of the reviewers that while there were sweets in the living room throughout our stay, they were MUCH smaller in size than what the website made them seem/look like. But that's hardly a reason for me to dock a star.

Anyway, I'm rambling. Let me finish by saying that we loved Wickwood Inn so much that we have decided to return for a mini-honeymoon before our actual honeymoon after we get married this September.. And we are going to make it a habit of returning every Thanksgiving from now on. Thank you for a truly memorable stay! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    40
    29
    19
    24
See reviews for
20
197
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

After a very long and brutal winter, my husband and I finally found some time for a relaxing weekend in Saugatuck! Friends had recommended Wickwood and we were lucky enough to have reserved the last room of the weekend! It was fabulous! The entire experience was top notch! Our room was so comfortable and beautiful. I must confess that I will be stealing some of the decorating ideas! The location is perfect, we loved the fact that the town was a little less congested in the off season. We usually visit Saugatuck in July when things are a abuzz and love that too! The Innkeepers were so friendly and helpful and we even were treated to a surprise visit at breakfast by Julee Rosso, the owner! Food was exceptional...especially the mornings sticky buns! This stay was the quiet and relaxed refuge we had so dearly needed....the entire Inn surrounds you with warmth and gives the feeling of being in a well loved "home"...we have stayed in many of the other accommodations in Saugatuck but now that we have experienced Wickwood, will never go anywhere else! Already booked our July stay and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Upon arriving we found the property wwll cared for on the outside. The big selling point on the property was the award willing chef. I found the food to be mediocre at best. I sense the chef is the owner but really is not part of the operation. The rooms while nice were not up the the standards of the price paid. The walls could use sound reducing materials to reduce the noise from the room next door The pillows on the beds looked nice but were hard and uncomfortable. The location was ok as it was out of the busy part of town. Paying this kind of price for an average experience was not what I was looking for. It might be a value if the price was cut in half.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband had always wanted to stay at the Wickwood, so we reserved 2 nights midweek in February. The first night we were the only ones there and they offered us a free upgrade! The staff could not have been more warm and welcoming; they absolutely spoiled us. It was a perfect place to relax in front of the fireplace with a good book and a glass of wine on a wintry day. The food is incredible, with wine and substantial appetizers every evening. One evening we did not even go out for dinner; we had plenty to eat and a lovely setting right at the Wickwood.
Saugatuck is a fantastic summer destination, but we were entirely contented to settle in, relax and do nothing much for a couple of quiet days this winter. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klschell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Wickwood Inn is beautiful and was decorated with fresh evergreen and festive Christmas lights! Breakfast was delicious and a special treat was appetizers and wine Happy Hour each evening to meet and mingle with other guests. Met some wonderful couples. Enjoyed the spa feature with a wonderful massage! Staff is excellent! The town is magical and quaint in the snow. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the inn this December and were wowed by the beautiful Christmas decorations, the wood fires, and the fantastic service and wonderful food. While I am sure this is a wonderful place to stay in summer to enjoy the lake it is really special at this time of year. We had a wonderful relaxing time strolling through the quaint village and then returning to sit fireside and read. Just wonderful!

Room Tip: The large suite in the front on the second floor is a nice large room with a fireplace and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonypose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Wickwood was our favorite inn/hotel during our Lake Michigan road trip. We loved it. It was everything you would expect from a Bed and Breakfast - but classier! They were also particularly helpful with driving directions and tips as we had made a very spur of the moment plans. We had a great time, though too brief. Thanks Wickwood!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
2.7 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
0.2 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickwood Inn

Property: Wickwood Inn
Address: 510 Butler St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wickwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wickwood! Perfectly placed in the heart of Saugatuck's Historic District, our Inn is prodigious - providing you with more privacy than a Bed and Breakfast and more pampering than a Boutique Hotel. We can't wait for you to experience the difference of life at Wickwood! We are smitten by the fresh flavors of the seasons, and we're serious about celebrating local food. Everyday we serve our owner and Silver Palate Cookbook author's distinctive Champagne Brunch, Evening Sips & Small Plates, and Scrumptious Sweets & Treats throughout your stay. All of this is complimentary because we adore the cheer that comes from sharing good food and wine seasoned with a generous dash of laughter. Of course, high speed WiFi and private parking are also part of your stay. Life it too short to worry about additional charges and costs. As you step outside our doors, the charm of our coastal Village awaits. With its pristine beaches, award winning art galleries, unique boutiques and intriguing historic interests ... you may be unable to resist life in Saugatuck! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wickwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickwood Hotel Saugatuck
Wickwood Inn Saugatuck, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing