We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Im VERY!! Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Atlanta, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Im VERY!! Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

we went to check it out and decided to STAY!...pool~Whirlpool~Suana...nice rooms beds are nice plenty of pillows!!..super Breakfast *Sausage*Fruit*Muffins*donuts*cereal* AND YOU MAKE WAFFLES!!! :O)Staff was very nice and helpful.
Great items for guest (Pantine!!) AND ..the coolest thing great goodie for kids (or kids at heart)a Yellow Rubber Duck!! now isnt that a hoot! lol

Room Tip: maybe not getting a room by end door if on bottom floor...it was kindof noisey door when a family ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    140
    68
    43
    6
See reviews for
156
109
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kendallville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We were pleased with this pet friendly hotel. Nice area behind for pet outside and a long hallway inside for a pet stroller...for an elder dog. Service desk was very accommodating to restaurant choices as we carry in.usually. Nice clean room was pleasant. Only suggestion would be to have a couple inexpensive chairs in back for retirees with a pet. Rate an A.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

well our basic stay was ok... the room was small but unfortunatly so was the TV... not to many hotels still have old 20 inch TV's... but we usually go up to the soo for the gambling anyway... but one problem that we did come across was during the day we wanted to use the pool and relax before going out again in the evening and we found that they rent out their establishment to the locals for parties... so there was a party for about 10 little girls all screaming that high pitches scream in a echoing pool area and running back and forth to the hot tub and pool... so the paying guests could not even enjoy the pool at all....not good business for the customers...probably would not return....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Would like to apologize for the inconveinence of the pool party that was happening. It is a general rule that we only allow them on sundays from 12-3, which is our slowest day of the week.This also falls between check out and check in time. Our rooms sizes are smaller in size than some hotels and the televisions are smaller in the smaller rooms. This does allow us to keep the cost down to the customer, especially in these tough economic times. Most people do come to Sault Ste. Marie for tourism and gambling so they do not spend a lot of time in rooms. We do our best to have great customer service and clean rooms. We do hope that you will return to our hotel and let us earn your business back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinconning, Michigan
Level Contributor
358 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

After looking on the internet at prices, we almost didn't stay here. When one of the other hotels was unavailable, we decided to take a look at Park Inn, and found out that it was more affordable than we had expected. We ended up getting a suite, which was very nice. There were two smaller beds in one room, and then in the other there was a sleeper sofa. It was nice to be able to have two separate areas for different family members with different sleeping habits. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. There were a number of nice amenities provided, along with a rubber ducky. The wireless internet worked well, and there was a continental breakfast provided. Overall, it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for you review of our hotel. It is always nice to get feedback on what our guests are saying. Our suites, like the one you were in, are very popular. They really give families more room to spread out and be comfortable. Glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Grove, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

My wife and I had an overall positive impression of this property. I admit that we stayed here using our accumulated Club Carlson points, so we had nothing vested in our stay, i.e. the price was right! Regardless, the rate offered by the hotel was still quite reasonable and anyone wanting to pay less for their room at another property will not get the value that the Park Inn has to offer.
We had the single, queen bed standard room - the infamous only-one-bed-will-fit room for which we feared. Fear not! It was small but, in my opinion, actually it was rather quaint and cozy and the critical cleanliness factor rated "perfect". Really, what more could you ask for if you don't spend a lot of time in your room? I had a wonderful night's sleep on the comfortable bed and the bathroom actually was very spacious.
I have only one word of caution...there are some hallway "rough spots" shall we say. Carpeting on the first floor is not spotless and there's some wear and tear especially on the rather cold, uninviting fire door that greats you to the 2nd floor hallway. I'm not sure why some hotels claim this fire door is a requirement yet others down the block don't have it, and in this instance, the door is more befitting for a stairwell than on your way to your room. Not a good first impression but ignore it because everything else is fine. I might have also seen some scrape marks on baseboards on our way to the room (in the lobby?) but all is fine.
The breakfast area is small but the offerings add value and will suite you fine for starting the day out right. While my wife and I were having our breakfast, General Manager Michelle came through to check if everything was ok and even offered coffee to several guests. Michelle seemed to be an engaging sort of person who is definitly an asset to the Carlson brand of hotels. Good luck Michelle!
Our one and only complaint, which I expressed to the 3rd shift desk clerk, was that a slight error in judgement allowed for a tour bus to occupy 7 parking spots right outside the lobby's front door! What was that all about? My wife has a bad knee so it wasn't appreciated that a bus was allowed to park horizontally across 7 spaces in the front, which meant that much more walking for us to enter. I good-naturedly grant a "1 star" for parking lot management for the night of our stay!
Michelle, desk clerks, and cleaning staff...Thank you all very much for a very comfortable stay. I urge anyone who has doubts about the Park Inn...please don't have any doubts...choose the Park Inn. You don't get all the glitz and glamour but you get clean accommodations, a friendly staff, plenty of room desk working space if you're on business, and just an overall pleasant accommodation choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packerfan1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy that we were able to accomodate you in such a good manner.
Let me start out by apologizing about the tour group bus that parked where he did. We tried several times to locate the driver but we were unsuccessful. My staff was reminded that we need to ensure larger vehicles, that take up more than one spot, know where to park.
Would also like to say that we are working on replacing some carpet and cleaning the other to make the appearance a much nicer one. Can't really say much about the doors into the hallway, except maybe we can paint them a brighter color. It is a fire code by the City of Sault Ste. Marie. Know that not everyone follows these rules, but we do.
One of the best times of my day is being able to sneak away from my office and visit with guests to see how their stay was. I feel it brings me closer to the guests and makes them feel more comfortable as well.
Thank you again for you review and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
430 reviews
275 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Nothing wrong with the property (other than a parking lot that doesn't drain well after a rain), but I just didn't find anything special here. The room reminded me of a fancied-up Microtel, the lobby oddly arranged, a good breakfast, quiet, clean, a bit pricy, but not worth coming back to if I could get a room nearby for less.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SenseIntoDollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate any feedback about us and how we are doing. We have different rate seasons all year depending on availablity and demand. The lobby is an "L" shape more than your traditional open concept. We renovated the hotel in 2006 and added the pool onto where the main entrance was. Thank you again for the response and we hope to gain your business back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Most of the good reviews have mentioned the main points: clean, pleasant room with lots of TV channels and excellent strength, FREE wireless internet. The sheets are clean and blanket double sheeted to keep the blankets clean. We had asked for an upper room away from the highway which we got, so it was quiet. I liked the built in a/c...much quieter than those bulky window type units.
I loved the pool and sauna which stayed open later for adults to enjoy. The free breakfast was quite decent...very similar to other places I've stayed, pretty good choices of cold or hot cereal, the popular waffle maker, toast and other pastries, I believe there were eggs.
The location of the motel is good for walking around; there are a few restaurants to choose from for dinner, and a small strip mall with some good stores. We were just overnighting there on our way to Thunder Bay, but we arrived early so we did enjoy the amenities and location. Finally, I did get the stay with my Carlson Club points which was one of the reason we stopped there...glad we did!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoa3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We appreciate the feedback. We are proud to be part of Carlson Hotels Worldwide. They are such a great brand. We hope that we can be another stop for your overnighting with such long travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie

Property: Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Address: 3525 I 75 Business Spur, I-75 at Exit #392, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3608 (Formerly Inn of Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing