We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Was OK”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We booked 2 rooms via priceline.com and with four people, we were placed into two one-bedroom rooms. The clerk blamed priceline for putting us in the single bed rooms and was unable to accommodate us with at least one 2-bed room for the guys. There was a woman who checked in ahead and she was told she had gotten the last available room. We were placed on different floors, but he was able change the rooms so we'd be next to one another.
The pool is a salt water pool, deepest is 5', shallow 3'. There is a whirlpool and sauna.
The complimentary breakfast was decent and well stocked. We ate muffins, cereal, made waffles, eggs, and sausages.
Free wi-fi and free parking. There is a Chinese buffet, Great Wall, across the street. It was kind of expensive and we found some of the dishes were a bit saltier than used to.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Thank you for your review about our hotel. The unfortunate thing about booking through websites other than the hotel directly is they tell us that they book the room according to how many people are coming. They do not give you descriptions of the room type that you are booking. For instance if you put two travelors in they put you in a room that can accomodate two people. It does not take into consideration the relationship that those two people may have. This one being two guy friends. I would suggest if you continue to book through websites other than the hotels you should call the hotel after making the reservation to guarantee that you are in a room that meets your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    143
    68
    42
    7
See reviews for
160
111
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The hotel has everything necessary to enjoy an evening away from home without breaking the bank. The room was small, but comfortable and quiet with a decent breakfast provided free of charge.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrionTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Thank you for your review about our hotel. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The sign said that this was the newest hotel in Sault Ste. Marie, and I believe them. My friends and I were actually surprised at how nice it was. While the rooms are a bit basic, they are clean, and had everything we needed.

In terms of service, there was a big difference between the night staff and the morning staff. Even though we arrived quite late on a Friday night, they checked us in quickly and were very friendly and courteous.

I think that the morning staff was a bit surly mainly due to the breakfast, which was a frustration for us as well. While overall, it was as good or better than we expected, there were not nearly enough tables and chairs for a full hotel, especially since they seemed to have a permanent no vacancy sign on the door. It also took them a while to refill the eggs when they were empty. When the eggs finally arrived, they tasted quite good - for being obviously powdered.

Bottom line: it was a decent place to spend the night and I will probably consider it next time I am in town, especially if I get another good deal on http://hotels.com.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Thank you for your review about our hotel. The breakfast room can get cramped at time when it is a full hotel. We try our best to work with it though. We have made a few changes to it to open it up more without having space to add to it. Also want to let you know that even though great deals can be found through hotels.com booking through the hotel directly can get you the same if not better deal since we have promotions and specials going a lot of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My boyfriend and I vacationed in Sault Ste Marie at the end of June. I chose this hotel because of the great rate and the deluxe continental breakfast, although I was nervous that it would turn into one of those "you get what you pay for" deals. We were both pleasantly surprised. When you first walk in there is a little table with snacks (including fresh apples) and refreshments. Then there is the laptop set up for guest use. Around the corner is the front desk where we found any assistance we needed all week long. (They provided extra pillows as well as ideas of what to see and do in town!) Keep going and you will see a pool w/jacuzzi and the dining room where breakfast is held each morning. It's not a huge place, but I wouldn't call it no frills either. Our room was perfect for what we needed. It was a basic, one bed w/night stand, desk and tv. We spent most of our time sight seeing, so we didn't need a large room; however, cleanliness is always super important as well as bathroom space! The bathroom was actually really nice. They were trying out some new shower curtains (the kind that bow outwards to give more elbow room) that were beautiful as well as functional. The tub itself had a unique triangle design that really worked in that space. There was plenty of counter space along with all the towels we needed (replenished daily by a fantastic housekeeping staff), a blow dryer, soap, lotion, and my favorite of all - a little rubber ducky (who did come home with me). A note on towels - if you use the pool and don't have your own towels, you don't have to bring any down. They have a full stash of them next to the pool. We enjoyed the wi-fi and cable. The only thing the room needed was a night stand on both sides of the bed. My boyfriend and I kept fighting over who got the side with the table. Let's see...breakfast was really nice. It was simple and didn't vary during our stay, but I always enjoy starting the day off right (and saving money at the same time!). They have a waffle machine where you make your own waffles (it's quick & easy), you can add some sausage, pre-cooked egg patties, cereal, bagels, or donuts. Finish it off with apple or orange juice, milk or coffee. Then go check out the locks and our favorite, Valley Camp Ship Museum (plan to spend a couple of hours at least). This hotel is really close to the freeway, but just a short 5 minute drive to all of the attractions downtown. (If you get a cold or rainy day, there is a movie theater past the freeway going away from town.) Overall our stay in Sault Ste Marie was fantastic and when we come back to do more exploring, we'll definitely choose to stay at Park Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
Wow, thank you so much for such a detailed and positive response! This is very uplifting to know that you noticed even the little things we try and do here at the hotel. Our rooms are not the largest but work well as many people do come here to sight see and not live in the rooms. Cleanliness and friendly staff are two things we strive for to make up for the room sizes. We're glad you enjoyed your vacation with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed at the Park Inn for one night. What we liked about the hotel, our room was very clean, the pool area is very nice, breakfast was ok. The pool has the saline water, so there's no chlorine. What was just ok about the hotel, it's seemed cheaply made, thin walls, basic rooms. There were stains on the carpet in the hallways and the hallway to our room had a strange odor, but it went away, but again the room was fine. Staff seemed friendly and for families wanting a nice pool, I talked to a mom with a couple of kids and they were in the pool in the evening and next morning, it's perfect for the low price (we booked on the hotel website). Would recommend to someone wanting something inexpensive with a pool.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gypsi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We have been making updates to the hotel in regards to the carpeting and some other places. Thank you for bringing it to our attention though. Sometimes these things can get overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We really liked this hotel. We stayed in a room that had a kitchenette. It was a really reasonable price, roughly $80 per night during the week. We stayed two nights. It had 2 beds and a pull-out couch. The bathroom was nice and a good size. The pool area was nice. The breakfast was decent. If you are traveling with a family, I would really recommend staying in this room (especially with the kitchenette). My hubby and the kids played cards on the kitchen table and I watched TV in the bedroom. It was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james67gang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
Thank you for the compliment on our one bedroom suite with a kitchenette. This is truly a great room for a family that is staying at least a couple days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, ON
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We stayed at this location at the very end of June when heading south and about 12 days later on the return trip. We needed a location that was wheelchair accessible.

A staff member true to her word called me back the next day relative to the size & accessibility within the washroom. Many sites may say they are wheelchair accessible but all are not. This was.

We had 2 side by side rooms and the hospitality was friendly upon checking in. The rooms were very clean, comfortable & pretty basic. The beds could have been better and the sheets are pretty thin indeed. The year before I had been at a Travelodge in London Ontario and the room layout was exact and I mean exact right down to the shape of the bathroom & location of the TV up on a mantle. Interesting.

There is a nice indoor swimming pool & hottub, use of the computer/internet in the lobby and a small breakfast nook where the food was not too bad and would get you going for the day.

If you are looking five star, this is not the place. If you want a clean, quiet & comfortable location that gives you good value for your $$, I would not hesitate in recommending this location or staying again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blues911_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
Thank you for your compliment of our hotel. It is very nice to hear you comment on how a member of our staff went above and beyond to measure the widths of entries for our wheelchair accessible room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
686 reviews
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#15 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
97 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie

Property: Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Address: 3525 I 75 Business Spur, I-75 at Exit #392, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3608 (Formerly Inn of Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing