We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALLWAYS A FUN PLACE”
Review of Kewadin Casino

Kewadin Casino
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have gone to the Kewadin Casinos for over ten years, missed the last two years, when we came back, most pleasant surprise. All new machines , looks great , had good time , great place to go to.

Thank wel79zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawna L, Kewadin Marketing Data Analyst at Kewadin Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi wel79zim,

Thank you very much for your patronage of Kewadin Casinos and your 5-Star rating and review of Kewadin Sault Casino. I am glad you have made it back and been able to see the improvements we have made over the past two years. We appreciate it and hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!

Dawna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"slot machines"
in 14 reviews
"nice casino"
in 11 reviews
"great buffet"
in 4 reviews
"typical casino"
in 3 reviews
"blackjack tables"
in 3 reviews
"casino floor"
in 4 reviews
"art gallery"
in 3 reviews
"deli"
in 7 reviews
"payouts"
in 8 reviews
"ventilation"
in 3 reviews
"concert"
in 5 reviews
"midwest"
in 3 reviews
"canada"
in 3 reviews
"michigan"
in 6 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped at the casino for four hours after visiting the Soo Locks on our day trip there. The casino offered us each $10 in free play. We ate at the Dream Catcher Buffett and the food was wonderful. The only complaint most of the passengers had was that it was smaller than they thought it would be, and there were not many slot machines (without waiting in line for one).

Thank DianeDemersCASC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawna L, Kewadin Marketing Data Analyst at Kewadin Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi DianeDemersCASC,

Thank you very much for your visit and positive rating and review. I am glad you and the members of your group enjoyed the buffet at our DreamCatchers Restaurant and the $10 Free Play provided for each of you. I hope you all enjoyed your Soo Locks day trip also.

I apologize for the inconvenience of having to wait for slot machines that day. We must have been very busy as we have about 37,000 feet of gaming space divided up between two large slot rooms and one smaller non-smoking slot room. We also have about 2,000 slot machines along with Table Games, Keno and sometimes Bingo available.

We appreciate your time and attention and hope to see you and / or your group members again soon. Have a great day!

Dawna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights..pool was warm enough to swim but couldn't enjoy because of children..hot tub dirty and too hot ..full of young adults ..should have adult only hours..or restrict children from adult venues..I strongly disagree with children in such an adult atmosphere..sauna ceiling coming down and had loose boards on seating area..loose carpeting in halls ways is accident waiting to happen..food better than st.ignace casino..room was adequate but old wall heater didn't work correctly and was noisy..you can hear your neighbors conversations and the beds were lumpy and soft..nice linens though..new slot machines and casino area clean..saw numerous staff members chatting and standing around..cashier made a mistake with my change because she was too busy socializing to do her job correctly..generous promos..

Thank THOMAS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawna L, Kewadin Marketing Data Analyst at Kewadin Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Hi THOMAS H,

Thank you for your visit, rating and review. If you would like, I encourage you to call and discuss the details of your visit with Dan, who is a member of our Management Team at 906-635-4968. We appreciate your time and attention. Have a great day!

Dawna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

smoking gameroom not very big, very outdated machines, faded images, regular casino floor very smelly from smoke odors

Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawna L, Kewadin Marketing Data Analyst at Kewadin Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Terry S,

Thank you very much for your visit, rating and review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit as we would have hoped. You must have been here on a very busy night. We do have two large gaming rooms available to everyone and a smaller gaming room with about 25 slot machines specifically for people who prefer non-smoking for a total of 37,000 square feet of gaming space that provides Vegas-style gaming including slots, live Keno, Craps, Blackjack, Roulette, Let it Ride, Three Card Poker and Live Poker.

If you would like to discuss your visit in detail and provide any suggestions you have on how we might make any future visits more pleasing to you, I encourage you to call and speak with Dan who is a member of our Management Team at 906-635-4968. We do hope to see you again. Have a great day!

Dawna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Saw a little sign on the freeway about a casino so asked the girl at the desk of our motel and she gave directions. Out of the way place in school/residential district but what a shock when we entered. Beautiful casino with hotel attached, friendly staff. If anything, they should have giant billboards along the highway to alert travellers to their existence.

1  Thank MUTTSY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawna L, Kewadin Marketing Data Analyst at Kewadin Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hi MUTTSY_12,

Thank you very much for your visit to and 5-Star rating and review of Kewadin Sault Casino. I am glad you found us and thank you for the tip to put up more signs. The Sault Tribe of Chippewa Indians actually has 5 Kewadin Casinos all located within the Eastern and Central Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Two are near Lake Superior and three are near Lake Huron. It would make a beautiful circle trip of the Upper Peninsula if you ever chose to visit all 5. We like to think that each of our 5 Kewadin Casinos is reflective of its own local community. Sault Kewadin Casino is our largest and Kewadin Shores Casino in St. Ignace is our second largest. The school you saw on your drive here was probably JKL Bahweting which was named after one of our previous Tribal Chairmen, and the "residential area" you saw near the casino was part of our Sault Tribe Reservation. The income we earn from our Kewadin Casinos goes toward maintenance and operating costs of our casinos, of course, but also toward providing health care and other services and benefits to our tribal members in addition to helping our local communities. And we are one of the largest employers in Michigan's Upper Peninsula which has provided many people the opportunity to raise their families and have their children continue to work and reside here after they grow up...instead of having to move away in order to find work like so many of us historically felt we needed to do.

I am glad you were able to see the beauty of our Sault Casino and enjoy our friendly staff. We appreciate it and hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!

Dawna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kewadin Casino also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Kewadin Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing