We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hotel(Sault Ste. Marie)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Skyline Motel(Sault Ste. Marie)
      View Hotel
      Average 3/5
      • Free Wifi
      Adoba Lockview Hotel(Sault Ste. Marie)
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Mid-City Motel(Sault Ste. Marie)
      View Hotel
      Average 3/5
        View Hotel
        Good 3.5/5
        • Free Wifi
        • Free Parking
        View Hotel
        Great 4.5/5
        Certificate of Excellence
        • Free Wifi
        • Free Parking
        Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie(Sault Ste. Marie)
        View Hotel
        Very Good 4/5
        • Free Wifi
        • Free Parking
        View Hotel
        Good 3.5/5
        • Free Wifi
        • Free Parking
        Reviews (217)
        Filter reviews
        217 results
        Traveller rating
        130
        63
        16
        4
        4
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        130
        63
        16
        4
        4
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviewsbagelsscreen doorcontinental breakfastowners were friendlyqueen roomgreat pricecold cerealclose to townpicnic tablesplace to stayhome away from homeno frillsrooms were very cleanboat tourcable tvnothing fancyparking lot
        FilterAll languages
        Updating list...
        193 - 198 of 217 reviews
        Reviewed 1 July 2013

        The room was quiet and clean. Shower was refreshing, enough water pressure. Bed was comfortable. Thank you for breakfast each morning. Glad to have Internet service and mini fridge in the room. Would be nice to have microwave in the room. The bathroom had handicap assist bars (Thank you!) but there was a step up into the room. The slope next to the busy road was not a good place to walk the dog.

        • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank Rachel S
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

        Thank You for being our guest and thanks for taking the time to post a review. We hope to see you the next time you guys visit the "Soo". FYI; besides the grassy area next to the parking lot, there's a good size green area just down the sidewalk a few yards for your pet to "stretch". Also the neighborhood directly behind us is a great place (close and safe) to take a walk. Thanks again! Tony

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 14 March 2013

        A great place to stay in the Soo! Very clean, pleasant, and the hosts make you feel at home. Don't expect a five-star facility with all-inclusive amenities. It is a down-home, comfortable, pleasant, no-frills place to call home for an evening or on a vacation.

        Room Tip: Located close to downtown and minutes from the locks, Lake Superior State University, and the International Bridge.
        • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank sldavids
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

        Thank You for being our guest and taking the time to post a review. Your choice of words " very clean, pleasant, and comfortable are exactly what we strive to deliver to our customers. We look forward to being your hosts next time you are in the "Soo".

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 16 October 2012

        This is an old but very clean motel. Perfect if you just need a quick shower and a spot to drop your head. We chose to stay here as Tony was the most helpful and polite when I was calling around searching for a room along with its convenient location. However I was totally surprised to find that they had to have driven all the way to Kingsley to get my old bed that I threw out months ago, just to make me feel at home. The mattress was hard & lumpy with the same bad springs as my old bed with matching old, hard, lumpy pillows to complete the ensemble! No way was it a queen size bed, which we paid for, as we had to turn over in unison or risk falling off onto the floor or your head into the toilet which is conveniently located close to the bed. Totally exhausted and sore from a bad night sleep we couldn't wait to get home to sleep in our own bed.

        Room Tip: Take your own pillow, hair dryer and Lysol spray
        • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank blueyespecial
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

        Thank You for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post a review. While we of course like to receive the KUDOs, we also appreciate the honest input regarding our shortcomings. We take our guests' comfort and satisfaction very seriously, however, once in a while we just "drop the ball" and fall short of the mark. That "homey touch" bed you so eloquently brought to our attention is one such case in point. Installed as a temporary fix to a damaged matress, it seems we forgot to follow up with a new bed as planned. After receiving your helpful review, we immediatly pulled that room from our inventory, and have since installed a new pillow top matress and foundation along with a couple of new pillows.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 5 October 2012

        This is an older motel and the decor is dated. The room was clean and quiet and the innkeeper was very friendly. The mattress was firmer than what I prefer. The breakfast wasn't anything great but my experience is that most free breakfasts at hotels aren't great. This is a good value for the money IMHO.

        • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank trbeer
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

        Thank You for choosing to stay with us. And thanks for taking the time submit a review. YOHO of "good value" is just what we strive to provide to our guests. In regards to the vintage of our property, we think a guest this past weekend sums it up nicley also; "very nice place, in the style of the 'good old days'". Hope to see you again the next time you are this far north! Your hosts, Tony & Marsha

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 2 October 2012

        We decided to take a fall color tour and try traveling with our dog. We picked this place because it was pet friendly and rated 4.5 on tripadvisor.
        I have to say I was very disappointed. The motel is old and the carpet very stained. All the furniture is right out of 1970 and the free breakfast consisted of coffee and a donut. It did not smell, though. Sorry but I disagree on the high rating

        • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank shivergirl
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

        Thank You for being our guest. I am sorry we fell short of your expectations. While we do have an older property, we take pride in offering our customers great service, clean rooms and reasonable rates. We do have one room left that is pretty retro as far as furnitue (that is one of our pet friendly rooms too.) As we are nearing the end of our busy tourist season I realize all of our rooms are due for carpet cleaning as well as the extensive deep cleaning and refurbishing we do in the off season. Your comments on our breakfast ,however, are just not accurate as we do offer a pretty good variety including; orange and apple juice, regular and decafe coffee ,tea, hot cocoa, plain and blueberry bagels, english muffins, toast, cream cheese, jelly, peanut butter, as well as oatmeal, a variety of cold cereals, milk, mini muffins, danish and yes, we usually have donuts.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews