We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Kodiak, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Friendly but dated”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

For the price I shouldn't complain. The room was adequate and they are pet friendly. The staff was nice and helpful as well. Decent view of the city.

What knocked this down a point was the apartment vibe. The looks of some of the units was they were long term tenants or guests. I did not feel welcomed and almost felt like we were an inconvenience the other long term tenants.

The room was a bit dated and the bed was terribly uncomfortable.

Overall its worth staying if you are on a budget and visiting the Soo.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caleb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank You for being our guest and for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    54
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
70
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgman, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night at the end of March to see the opening of the locks- which didn't happen for several more days due to thicker than usual ice on the lake this winter- We arrived after 10 pm. The owners were in the office waiting for us (we did call to alert them of an approximate arrival time). They were very friendly and helpful. We spent a comfortable, warm and quiet night and left for the next stop on our trip early in the morning. We skipped out on the continental breakfast and opted for a diner in town instead so I cannot comment on that. I would absolutely stay here again when next in the Soo!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us even though the Soo Locks didn't open on schedule. Old man winter left his mark UP here this year for sure. The ice is still coming and going depending on the wind direction. Swimming in the Saint Mary's river will be very "refreshing" this summer. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you get this far north. Sincerely, your hosts, Tony and Marsha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwight, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was a very clean and comfortable "Motor Court" type motel. My girlfriend and I were travelling to Mackinac Island for the weekend, so we had two bikes with us which we brought into the room - we still had plenty of space. The motel is older, but well maintained and while not lavish, it was very clean and comfortable and we did not experience any problems during our stay here. The Management was very nice (American owned) and were very helpful with suggestions for a dinner spot. The breakfast was very basic - coffee - cereal - donuts - toast/english muffins and juice but maybe some fresh fruit or yogurt would have been a healthier choice. Also - I HATE powdered (chemical) creamer in my coffee. The bathroom, while small and older looking, was very clean and functional. This motel was good value for the cost and I would come back again just because of the very nice management and I love to support small, American owned, well-run businesses.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasco474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank You for being our guests and thank you for the honest review. Clean and comfortable rooms provided with quality customer service are exactly what we strive to offer our guests. We look forward to serving you the next time you are in historic Sault Ste. Marie.
p.s. we recommend using the milk for your morning coffee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We were in the Soo for some family issues, stayed 10 days room was clean and adequate, having to walk outside for coffee and continental breakfast in zero weather was a bummer but at least it was available. Traveled with my two small dogs, nice that they are pet friendly with no pet fees. If you’re looking for a place to sleep and spend a couple hours a day then this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ermcklusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonywizauer, General Manager at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Warm hospitality is the rule at the Crestview no matter what the season. Glad you slept well and found our Inn clean and convenient. Thanks for being our guests and taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Tony (the host) was exceptional!! He was very informative and gave us great tips on traveling the area with two small children (1 and 4). The room was spotless and much larger then expected. Perfect location for seeing the sights at the Soo and very easy to find. Breakfast in the morning, free wifi, comfortable beds and awesome service. We will definately stay again on our next trip north!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaSayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
WOW!
Thanks so much for the fantastic review.
We are so glad you found our property and our hospitality to be first rate.
We sincerely appreciated having you as our guests and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice over the holidays - on our way to Thunder Bay and on the return trip. On December 23 we were delighted to have wifi, free pet and free continental breakfast with a clean, comfortable and spacious room for one low price. The gentleman who was our host was most helpful with directions. It was an excellent experience - so much so that we came back on January 2. All the same features were in play, except this time we were given a room with a single queen bed - much smaller room and unfortunately it had been converted from a smoking to a non-smoking room with the lingering aroma. Comfort was not as forthcoming in this situation. It is still a great value but I would request a "pure" non-smoking" room on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has always been non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank You so much for being our guest...twice!
Also, thank you for the candid review. Our goal is ALWAYS guest satisfaction. Whenever there is something we can do to make our guests more comfortable we are anxious to accommodate them. In your case, we would have been happy to find a fresher, more comfortable room to move you to. I sincerely apologize for the lingering smoke odor. Please be assured that ALL of our rooms are non-smoking according to Michigan law. Unfortunately, however, some inconsiderate folks choose too disregard the no smoking signage we have in place and smoke in the room regardless. When this happens we do our utmost to restore the room to a pristine condition. Despite our best efforts, however, we cannot always totally eliminate the scent before our next guest arrives. Bottom line; if you are not happy we are not happy.
We sincerely hope we get a chance to accommodate you a third time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Came to the Soo for our Anniversary.December 31..If your looking for The Ritz..keep on driving, if your looking for an extremely good value on a Clean comfortable room ,you found your place.
the bed was excellent.,The room was cozy and warm,great Continental breakfast.The people who run the hotel were very nice,how nice..it was 13 below zero and overnight they got 8 to 10 inches of snow.when We came to load our car the man who shoveled the sidewalk also broomed off the snow of our car and shoveled two path's down both sides of our car..and every other car there..and there were a good amount of people there.I love these old Hotel's where you back your car up to the door and walk right into your room,We were on the road side and I slept like a baby.every time We go to the Soo from now on this is where we are staying

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank You for being our guests and thanks for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to put in a good word for our family owned and operated business (that's my son Luke and I that do all the snow shoveling). In this day and age of "cookie cutter, brand name, big box" everything, it's nice to know folks still appreciate a simple bit home town hospitality. Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
92 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
554 reviews
1.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
471 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Crestview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Crestview Inn

Property: Budget Host Crestview Inn
Address: 1200 Ashmun St, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-2713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Host Crestview Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American family owned and operated motel in Sault Ste. Marie MI. Centrally located near the International Bridge to Canada, Lake Superior State University, Soo Locks, Kewadin Casino and lots of good places to eat and drink. Recommended on TripAdvisor for very clean and comfortable accommodations delivered with great customer service at very competitive prices. Complimentary continental breakfast, Free WIFI and PACKAGES for the SOO LOCKS Boat Tour and Dinner Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Budget Host Crestview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing