We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic and place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sault Ste. Marie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Askwith Lockview Motel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
portland oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic and place to stay”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is super clean, great location and the staff is very friendly. It's across the street from the locks and restaurants and shops are just steps away. The hotel and neighborhood are in a nice area and we never felt uncomfortable walking around at night. There's a delicious and reasonable priced Greek/pizza place called Zorbas 2 blocks down the street. We had dinner there and the pizza was great. The service is wonderful and the food even better. I can't say enough good things about Askwith Lockview Hotel.

Room Tip: You might like the cottages in the back instead of the hotel. They are a little smaller but are less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    74
    27
    3
    5
See reviews for
69
95
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We took our grand children and daughter on a weekend trip away from home before school started. The 2 motel rooms we received were very tiny the bed is pretty much right in front of the bathroom door. The walls and doors are paper thin these individuals from gross pointe blamed a 2 and 3 year old for waking them up at 1:30am when the kids were in bed. There were people returning from the local bar that they probably heard I know I did. The next morning a rude older clerk told my husband if they were her grand children she would spank them at 1:30 am because they were accused of being noisy at 1:30 am and proceeded to tell him our sleeping arraignment for that night my husband told her to return our money and we would leave as he was speaking to her she just rudely turned her back and said No and walked away while he was still speaking to her

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Spotlessly clean! You can't get a better location. Right across the street from the locks. You can check to see when the next freighter is coming in at the observation deck across the road and just walk over and watch. We walked to the lock tour also.

Room Tip: Great location! Get a room on the backside if possible - very quiet. No problem with the parking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcox3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Other reviews said about the parking, they were right if you have a cottage. We stayed in the motel and had front door parking. The rooms were on the smaller side but clean. The breakfast....well. Very friendly people. Yes we would stay there next time, right in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I'm a fan of older, well-maintained motels, and this certainly is that, but I'd rate our experience as "average." We were in room #142, which did have a view of the locks. However it was on the ground floor, and everyone walking by on the sidewalk had a great view of us. As someone was already in the 2nd floor lockview room, I should have asked for a different room.

Our room was large, with a little table & 2 chairs, which was nice for eating breakfast, since the breakfast area is small. Breakfast itself wasn't anything special - dry cereal & muffins. Also, remember to bring your own shampoo & hairdryer. And, WIFI didn't reach our room, but is available in the office / breakfast room area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyR-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poplar, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Location, location, location!
Reminds me of motels from a I Love Lucy show. Tiny, clean and wonderful people running this business. The bed was a little soft but woke up refreshed.
This is not for anyone needing a lot of space but iris always fun to stay overnight across from the locks and you will not have to drive until you leave.
Visit the art gallery on the property,it's an added treat.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbicu715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great service from a friendly motel. Clean and comfortable hotel in a great location. Only nit is it got a little loud the way the motel is configured, not at night but during the day. Otherwise a good choice in a very busy area. Easy walking to Soo Boat tours, restaurants, bars and museums. Park and walk!

Room Tip: Choose one of their "cottages"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.9 mi away
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Budget Host Crestview Inn
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Askwith Lockview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askwith Lockview Motel

Property: Askwith Lockview Motel
Address: 327 W Portage Ave, P.O. Box 477, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Sault Sainte Marie, we have rooms to fit almost every need! We are directly across the street from the world famous Soo Locks, and within walking distance of all your shopping and restaurant desires! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Askwith Lockview Hotel Sault Sainte Marie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing