We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit definitely NOT a charm”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sault Ste. Marie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Askwith Lockview Motel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The only thing good about our visit was the view of the locks. We have been to Askwiths' motel twice before - years ago and always noticed the corner room on the 2nd floor with the great view. We finally were able to reserve the room; albeit a week later than we wanted. We drove up hoping to see the beautiful Michigan fall colors and enjoy a much anticipated whitefish dinner at the restaurant next door to the motel. Well, the 2nd week in October was windy and rainy so Fall colors were not so spectacular, then we were advised the restaurant had closed for the season the week before and to make matters worse, the smell upon opening the door to our room was so overpowering, we had to leave the window open and went out to purchase spray to mask the horrible smell. This room was very outdated, had dirty corners in both bathroom and main room, filthy window with greasy nose and forehead prints that were not cleaned before our visit. We left the room in search of a whitefish dinner. After tying two other "closed for the season" restaurants, we finally went to one recommended by the motel management. Again, no whitefish - they had no reason why they could not get it anymore. Really??? Isn't the Soo famous for whitefish...Then to top off the entire evening, we were woke up by three drunks outside just below our still open window - because of the smell - arguing and doing who knows what else in the rain. The whole trip was disgusting. I realize the lack of whitefish and rain was no fault of the motel, but they certainly could clean up the place. And the wifi did not work in this room - you have to be near a window or come down to the office. hmmmmm --- We will go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Askwith Lockview Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here on our way back from Whitefish Point. If you're looking for a place to stay near the locks or in the downtown core of Sault Ste Marie, this is a great option. It's a neat and tidy place and a great value,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forgetthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night and I am glad we did. We stayed in the hotel part, upstairs. The room was very small so if you are traveling with kids ask for a bigger room. It was barely big enough for the two of us! The room was clean and the staff was wonderful. It is an old fashion place-not a Hilton! The location was perfect-across the street from the Soo Locks, close to dining and shops. The casino shuttle picks you up and takes you back-very quick ride. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michd61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights and were very satisfied with our stay. The rate was good, the location was great, and the room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in one of the cottages. They are smaller than your typical Holiday Inn or Hilton room but for the Price and the location, it was great. We ate breakfast at the restaurant right next door. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: The cottages at the back of the lot are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Lockview Motel is directly across the street from the locks at Sault Ste. Marie in the upper peninsula. We could walk around town with no problem. The beds were extremely comfortable as were the pillows. There was a nice, casual restaurant next door, along with other restaurants and pubs downtown. The lady at the desk was very nice and friendly. There was a modest, but extremely adequate continental breakfast with cereal, assorted pastries and breads, excellent juice, and sausage and egg patties that could be heated in a microwave. The price was quite reasonable in mid September. We were in one of the cottages. I would definitely stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank IndianaTraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is super clean, great location and the staff is very friendly. It's across the street from the locks and restaurants and shops are just steps away. The hotel and neighborhood are in a nice area and we never felt uncomfortable walking around at night. There's a delicious and reasonable priced Greek/pizza place called Zorbas 2 blocks down the street. We had dinner there and the pizza was great. The service is wonderful and the food even better. I can't say enough good things about Askwith Lockview Hotel.

Room Tip: You might like the cottages in the back instead of the hotel. They are a little smaller but are less...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We took our grand children and daughter on a weekend trip away from home before school started. The 2 motel rooms we received were very tiny the bed is pretty much right in front of the bathroom door. The walls and doors are paper thin these individuals from gross pointe blamed a 2 and 3 year old for waking them up at 1:30am when the kids were in bed. There were people returning from the local bar that they probably heard I know I did. The next morning a rude older clerk told my husband if they were her grand children she would spank them at 1:30 am because they were accused of being noisy at 1:30 am and proceeded to tell him our sleeping arraignment for that night my husband told her to return our money and we would leave as he was speaking to her she just rudely turned her back and said No and walked away while he was still speaking to her

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
6.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
762 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
130 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Plaza Motor Motel
Plaza Motor Motel
#1 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
313 reviews
6.6 mi away
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Budget Host Crestview Inn
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
206 reviews
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. M...
#7 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Askwith Lockview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askwith Lockview Motel

Address: 327 W Portage Ave, P.O. Box 477, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £41 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Sault Sainte Marie, we have rooms to fit almost every need! We are directly across the street from the world famous Soo Locks, and within walking distance of all your shopping and restaurant desires! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Askwith Lockview Hotel Sault Sainte Marie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing