We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great will / would return”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sault Ste. Marie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Askwith Lockview Motel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Stillwater, MN
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great will / would return”
Reviewed 29 September 2008

The Trip Advisor reviews lead us to stay at the Askwith Lockwood and we were not disappointed. Safe, quiet, clean, good staff, parking, overall value etc etc

  • Liked — safe, clean, quiet, value, parking etc
  • Disliked — all was great
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank StillwaterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    77
    28
    3
    5
See reviews for
72
101
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

As frequent visitors to the Soo area, and experiences at other places to stay, including the Kewadin and also the Ramada, we will absolutley come back to the Askwith Lockview Motel. Yes, the location is great - that's one reason why we chose to stay there this past time. But the things that will bring us back next time were the very clean and nicely decorated rooms, the friendly desk clerks, the very adequate breakfast (when traveling with teenage boys, this is crucial!), the comfy beds, the clean and large bathroom, and easy parking - just on the grass right outside our front door. The cost for the room was a fantastic value for our stay. Our cabin was near the back of the next door restaurant, which concerned me at first, since we had opened our windows for the night - but I never heard anything from there. It was peaceful all night, and so nice to be just steps from the locks. The other concern I had was the small dining area where the breakfast is served. There are just 3 tables, but people didn't linger - there was always a table opening up - or you could have brought your meal back to your room, since at least ours had a table with chairs. No question, we will be back.

  • Liked — Location was the best, but everything was really great!
  • Disliked — Small dining area.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0CKEYmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

The rooms are excellent the staff more than you could ask for and location is PERFECT. Close to all varieties of restraurants and right across the street from the Soo Locks. The casino will pick you up and deliver you back to you room door any time you want. One of the best trips we have taken. I would recommend this motel to any and everyone.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Cabins didi not have personal outside sitting area
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank electrician10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

The Lockview cannot be beat! We chose a "cabin" and it was roomy and charming and totally clean. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful, they are absolutely the best! They offer a continental breakfast which is very nice. Coffee, tea or hot chocolate is available 24 hours a day. They are located right across the street from the Soo Locks and on the same street with multiple shops. It's a great location, a great motel at a very moderate price and wonderful staff. If you're going to Sault Ste. Marie, you won't find better. It's a winner.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FurtherOnDownTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2007

The Lockview's name says it all; DIRECTLY across the street from the Soo Locks. Even in the middle of the night, if you walk out of your room, you can hear the gentle "hum" of the freighters locking through. Nothing that would possibly be a disturbance, just something for those night owls to enjoy.

The rooms are very spacious and clean. The breakfast is better than usual for a continental, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We were on a motorcycle trip with 12 riders and the lady at the front desk gave us all the tips to avoid the long lines while coming and going across the International Bridge.

The location is perfect for walking to the shops and restaurants in the area. The newer, "cottage" rooms are excellent, even though they're set back a bit further from the road than the original motel. At $75/night, I'd definitely recommend the Askwith Lockview to anyone staying in the Soo.

  • Liked — The location is unbeatable and the price is as well.
  • Disliked — Really not much to complain about.
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrewTownDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We were pleasantly surprised when we drove up to the motel. We had a "cottage" room, and found it quite spacious and clean.

The best feature of the motel is the location. It is near the shopping district, and right across the street from the visitor's center of the locks.

We certainly would stay there again.

  • Liked — Convenience to attractions
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Union Girl Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waupaca, WI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2007

Reasonably priced, right across from the locks. The breakfest was ok, rooms were very clean and large. We would stay there again. Staff was also very nice.

  • Liked — Room was Clean
  • Disliked — WiFi access did not reach our room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mentat30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
709 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
92 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
471 reviews
2.7 mi away
Plaza Motor Motel
Plaza Motor Motel
#1 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Budget Host Crestview Inn
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Askwith Lockview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askwith Lockview Motel

Property: Askwith Lockview Motel
Address: 327 W Portage Ave, P.O. Box 477, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Sault Sainte Marie, we have rooms to fit almost every need! We are directly across the street from the world famous Soo Locks, and within walking distance of all your shopping and restaurant desires! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Askwith Lockview Hotel Sault Sainte Marie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing