We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location ”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sault Ste. Marie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Askwith Lockview Motel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location ”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Right on the main drag and everything is walkable. The fliers make it very welcoming. Decent rooms, clean. A little outdated but classic sign and bathroom. Bring your own shampoo and a soft pillow. We would come back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank camille223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    78
    28
    3
    5
See reviews for
74
104
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice little drive up motel with clean rooms, a little outdated, but the rooms were comfortable. The bathroom is a little small for my taste, but for one night, it was perfect. It is directly across from the Soo locks, and very near the little trinket shops. Loved it! Very reasonable price.

My navigator didn't get me quite to the place so had to call the hotel, but it came within a couple of blocks. Lockview Motel sign only shows 'motel'.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the little cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliseB600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed in a little cottage room with husband and two daughters. Everything was very clean and the location can't be beat since it's directly across from the locks and you can walk to all the stores and restaurants. The price was reasonable for the room. The continental breakfast was good too. We had a great time and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheyfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed there as a family, so really appreciated the queen size beds. We had a 'cabin' room... it was definitely clean, and the beds were comfortable. I will have to note that the bathrooms are small, but that was ok for us, Given the great location across from the locks, and in walking distance to many food options, I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elvis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel was a great location---nothing like being within 100 yards of the locks, right across the street from the Soo locks park and right in town. It was great to be able walk across the street and watch the various ships go through the locks. The room was spotless and comfortable. The desk clerk and staff were all extremely personable. The breakfast was good and had a nice varity.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank metflorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caro, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a nice stay here, the room was very clean, updated and comfortable! The lady that was working the front desk was extremely personable! She was back again at breakfast, and still smiling, cordial and happy! We enjoyed being able to just "cross the street" to see the big ships in the Locks!

Room Tip: Nice access to the Locks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wyominginnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Staff is great, other guests were great. After being in the car for hours this was a great location. We could walk to everything we needed. This was my daughters first time over the bridge and to the locks. If you are looking for the UP feel stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
735 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
110 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
481 reviews
2.7 mi away
Plaza Motor Motel
Plaza Motor Motel
#1 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Budget Host Crestview Inn
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Askwith Lockview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askwith Lockview Motel

Property: Askwith Lockview Motel
Address: 327 W Portage Ave, P.O. Box 477, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Sault Sainte Marie, we have rooms to fit almost every need! We are directly across the street from the world famous Soo Locks, and within walking distance of all your shopping and restaurant desires! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Askwith Lockview Hotel Sault Sainte Marie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing