We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adoba Lockview Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Found this hotel on the web. Great place! We could look out our door and see the big ships if they were passing through the Locks. We stayed in a cottage, parked next to our door. Room was clean, just bring your own shampoo. We could walk to about everything. Lock's are across the street. Lockview resturant is next door, try the fried whitefish it is great. Breakfast was very good. Breakfast area was small and crowded but you can go back to your room. Very good experience if we ever return would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth-tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2009

Great, great location. If you need a "upscale" meal, head over to Freighters at the Ramada Ojibway (Thanks Brian at the front desk for the directions!!). Expensive (for these parts) but great updated menu, friendly staff!

Lockview rooms are clean, staff is always helpful and willing to help. I loved the showers (not too high or too low) and the water pressure was fantastic. Very close to shops, comfy beds!! Also less than a mile from a great burger and onion rings at Clyde's. Sit in your car and watch the ferry shuttle cars back and forth to Sugar Island! (Go west on Portage and turn left before the road curves). Also make sure to stop at Soo Locks Tours. tour the retired ore ship Valley Camp and The Tower of History in Soo. I would also recommend going to Ft. Iriquois Lighthouse and Shipwreck Museum at Whitefish Point. Lake Superior is unlike any Great Lake, it's awesome. Both are between 1 and 1 1/2 hour away from Lockview. We really enjoyed Soo, Michigan more than we thought. A plesant surprise!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpiva25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

My husband and I selected the Lockview after reading a few other reviews on this site and we weren't disappointed. The location is indeed ideal -- directly across from the locks and visitor's center, and only steps away from numerous restaurants and shops. The hotel has a quaint, "summer resort" feel to it that I found welcoming. Breakfast was unremarkable but fine (although there are only 2-3 tables in the lobby so be prepared to take it back to your room), and there's a handy Coke machine in the parking lot. Rooms were comfortable and clean, but do bring your own shampoo -- only soap was provided in the bathroom. The TV reception wasn't the greatest, but who watches much TV on vacation, anyway? All in all, we were quite pleased with the Lockview and would be happy to stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padawan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

The Trip Advisor reviews lead us to stay at the Askwith Lockwood and we were not disappointed. Safe, quiet, clean, good staff, parking, overall value etc etc

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StillwaterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

As frequent visitors to the Soo area, and experiences at other places to stay, including the Kewadin and also the Ramada, we will absolutley come back to the Askwith Lockview Motel. Yes, the location is great - that's one reason why we chose to stay there this past time. But the things that will bring us back next time were the very clean and nicely decorated rooms, the friendly desk clerks, the very adequate breakfast (when traveling with teenage boys, this is crucial!), the comfy beds, the clean and large bathroom, and easy parking - just on the grass right outside our front door. The cost for the room was a fantastic value for our stay. Our cabin was near the back of the next door restaurant, which concerned me at first, since we had opened our windows for the night - but I never heard anything from there. It was peaceful all night, and so nice to be just steps from the locks. The other concern I had was the small dining area where the breakfast is served. There are just 3 tables, but people didn't linger - there was always a table opening up - or you could have brought your meal back to your room, since at least ours had a table with chairs. No question, we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H0CKEYmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

The rooms are excellent the staff more than you could ask for and location is PERFECT. Close to all varieties of restraurants and right across the street from the Soo Locks. The casino will pick you up and deliver you back to you room door any time you want. One of the best trips we have taken. I would recommend this motel to any and everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank electrician10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

The Lockview cannot be beat! We chose a "cabin" and it was roomy and charming and totally clean. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful, they are absolutely the best! They offer a continental breakfast which is very nice. Coffee, tea or hot chocolate is available 24 hours a day. They are located right across the street from the Soo Locks and on the same street with multiple shops. It's a great location, a great motel at a very moderate price and wonderful staff. If you're going to Sault Ste. Marie, you won't find better. It's a winner.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FurtherOnDownTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
781 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
487 reviews
2.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
150 reviews
2.7 mi away
Plaza Motor Motel
Plaza Motor Motel
#1 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Budget Host Crestview Inn
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adoba Lockview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adoba Lockview Hotel

Address: 327 W Portage Ave, P.O. Box 477, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1837 (Formerly Askwith Lockview Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £68 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adoba Lockview Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Sault Sainte Marie, we have rooms to fit almost every need! We are directly across the street from the world famous Soo Locks, and within walking distance of all your shopping and restaurant desires! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Adoba Lockview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Askwith Lockview Hotel Sault Sainte Marie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing