We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Heart.”
Review of Plaza Motor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plaza Motor Motel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This 'mini resort' is seemingly the only business in town with unadulterated sincerity in it's operation. Beautiful gardens and rooms that are kept to perfection by the owner and friendly staff.

My stay was excellent, and it makes me happy to see a business like this run with a heavy heart.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryGoldfarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Our room, 112, was not that large, but scrupulously clean. At only $59 it's a deal in a motel that's unique, one where no two rooms are decorated alike. All you need and want in an overnight stay. The gardens are well tended and it was so nice to sit there and enjoy our happy hour drinks in the gazebo. Oh, BTW, they do not provide breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 112 was one of two rooms that you could not drive right up to the door. Keep this in mind when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We've just returned after one night at this wonderful motel. Wish we could have stayed there longer. What a wonderful place! The room was absolutely beautiful, the free internet connection was perfect, very quiet even though we were on the end next to the road and the price was incredible. Beautiful gardens and oh so helpful staff. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect place. Will definitely return - and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpartanFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Very clean, very friendly and an amazing value... Our room was neat as a pin and plenty spacious - we had a small table with chairs in addition to a good sized desk. And the woman at check in made sure we had what we needed - helping us out with dinner suggestions even though we were very vague about what we wanted. The bonus is the beautiful garden space that the motel has! We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

this was the third time i have booked and stayed here alll the staff and rooms are great... a great garden to go sit by and relax.. always super clean and rooms are decorated so nice..this is one of our go to places when we travel to the upper penn.. very safe and clean my son loves it too him and i have stayed there too..

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taraw974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

It was actually two years ago we were there and also my husband and I stayed there several years ago. We took our teenage daughter with us last time and she got a big kick out of the room decor. She is used to bland motel decor and she found the floral, frilly chairs amusing. Actually I think the decor is a hold-over from the 80's as it was the same back in '96. The rooms were very clean. The reason I put a "very good" rating for sleeping and room was because the air conditioner was in the back of the room and it didnt cool off the sleeping area very well. The thing that stands out for this motel is the beautiful flower gardens that are there. There is a gazebo and another shelter to sit and relax under. The whole complex (the owner lives on site) is very pretty and well maintained. We will be staying again soon. Sorry no pool.

Room Tip: They have a website where you can choose which room you want and they all have 2 beds some with one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wearytravelers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Nice room, a little small but we had 2 adults and 3 kids. Only stayed for a short night of rest before heading off first thing in the morning, but would stay again. Room 112.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcibdb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#11 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
#5 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Motor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Motor Motel

Address: 3901 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £48 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plaza Motor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing