We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good for the price!”
Review of Plaza Motor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plaza Motor Motel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Really good for the price!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I'm always nervous about staying in locally-owned motels, but the reviews on TripAdvisor convinced me to give Plaza Motor Motel a shot. Good decision! For the price, our room was better than expected. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a slight musty smell, but because it had rained for three days straight when we arrived, it wasn't a surprise.

I loved the fact that the owners live on site, and their awesome Labradoodle greeted us when we walked into the office. They clearly take great pride in their business, and it shows.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AliOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    48
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
153
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
440 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This motel is a hidden gem. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and clean. Our room was 1 queen for $55, but worth $80 or $90. The rooms have everything needed - fridge, coffee, A/C, plenty of ice, really comfortable bed, very well appointed. The grounds are really nice with flowers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

If you have seen the pics of this place and said it can't be that good! Well your wrong! This place is great. A definate, that I will be back. The garden is very nice to see. I stayed in economy room which was perfect for just me and a quick stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robkoresky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Plaza Motor Motel. Room was large, quiet and comfortable. Shower was wonderful. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Only a few minutes from all the attractions. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had room 101, which was both the largest and closest to the road. We had no issues at all with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

In July my husband and I stayed here for two nights and found it delightful. Our room had a king sized bed and the room was quite large. The Motel does not serve breakfast, but we knew this when we booked the room. The room decor was quaint and quite charming. The grounds were beautiful and the flowers were abundant. There was a delightful gazebo to enjoy our morning coffee. The owner was very helpful when I had computer problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We read many reviews about the Plaza Motor Motel, all were very favorable but I must say we still were skeptical. As we drove into the (just resurfaced) parking lot we were taken back by the neatness of the exteriors.
We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and given our key. Still skeptical we opened the door and there it was, a perfectly clean, decorated with love room.
The beds were comfortable, bathroom clean, microwave, fridge, TV with loads of channels and free internet.
The greatest thing about this place is that you get all this for an absolutely remarkable price. We only stayed one night but I would certainly recommend the Plaza for a stay in Sault Ste Marie.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnnLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Sitting on a sad business strip as one approaches Canada, the Plaza is clean, convenient, reasonably priced, and offers beautiful amenities. The front desk offers friendly, helpful staff. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minou1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
440 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#9 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
542 reviews
3.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
460 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Motor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Motor Motel

Property: Plaza Motor Motel
Address: 3901 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plaza Motor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing