We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great motel”
Review of Plaza Motor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plaza Motor Motel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a very comfortable and clean motel. It is easy to get to off of the freeway, just perfect for us since we were passing through on a road trip. The room is nicely decorated, comfortable, and quiet. We are accustomed to staying in hotel type properties, and it was quite nice to be able to park right outside our door and take the baggage just a few feet, rather than dragging it through elevators and long hallways.

There is no breakfast at the hotel, but we had a nice breakfast down the road at Country Kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
There are newer reviews for Plaza Motor Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

This little gem is more like a bed and breakfast; each room is unique, clean and updated. We booked after reviewing all the hotels on Tripadvisor. The motel is located a bit outside the city, but in good location between the attractions and the casino.We found this place just perfect for our needs. No pool, hot tub or "free" breakfast, but a good night's sleep and friendly staff. We also loved the gardens and landscaping. When in the area, we will return :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veterantripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We got a warm welcome, unlike any you get at a chain. The room was lovely. Bathroom fixtures (floor, tub, faucets, etc) look to be brand new. We were very glad we stopped here. There's no breakfast but you know what? I'm getting sick of those hotel breakfasts! This was a fun chance to try a local diner.

I also want to note that owner of the Plaza Motor Motel gives good travel advice and unbiased appraisals of local attractions and restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Very nice the grounds are well kept the rooms are spotless the people that run the motel are very nice the room we had was very spacious my girlfriend was impressed with the brand of soap the shampoo was great to bad the motel is not downtown

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

After reading many of the reviews, we decided to give it a try and it met all of our expectations and I stayed at the Landmark Inn in Marquette last night. They decor is special, the service and kindness displayed by the owner makes it what it is. Very clean, just a very, very special place with little extras through out. And yet, so affordable, amazing. This is small business at it's best!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Summary:
Location convenience and value are the highlights of this non-chain hotel.

Good:
* Lots of attention to decorative detail - embroidered pillow covers!
* Convenient charging plug for phones on nightstand
* Easy access from I-75
* Near a Walmart in case you need supplies
* Fridge & Microwave

Average:
* The furniture has seen a lot of wear
* AC the corner by the sink struggled to keep up

Could Be Better:
* Bath tub wasn't the cleanest
* No free plugs near the sink
* Office was not open until 9am on the day we left - Saturday
* Wow, really firm beds and we usually LIKE firm beds

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICanHasCheeseburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I'm always nervous about staying in locally-owned motels, but the reviews on TripAdvisor convinced me to give Plaza Motor Motel a shot. Good decision! For the price, our room was better than expected. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a slight musty smell, but because it had rained for three days straight when we arrived, it wasn't a surprise.

I loved the fact that the owners live on site, and their awesome Labradoodle greeted us when we walked into the office. They clearly take great pride in their business, and it shows.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AliOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.4 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#12 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
109 reviews
3.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Motor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Motor Motel

Address: 3901 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £61 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plaza Motor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing