We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Motor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sault Ste. Marie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plaza Motor Motel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

If you are looking for a clean, economical room, you will be more than pleased with the Plaza Motor Motel, When hubby told me the rate, I expected mediocrity. I can honestly say that I've never stayed in a hotel/motel room so clean. It was so immaculate that I found myself trying to find something, anything and couldn't. I left my largest tip ever for the housekeeping staff!

The rooms are decorated more in B&B style than motel and include a refrig, microwave, and flat screen TV. My husband, the light sleeper, appreciated how quiet the rooms were--no road noise, no noise from the adjoining room. The beds were very comfortable.

We stayed three nights in February and appreciated being able to park right outside our room. At 4 degrees at 7:00 am, it's nice to be steps away for the door-to-car-door dash. Everywhere we went had high piles of snow and ice on the sidewalks, but not so at the Plaza. Even the parking lot passed inspection. The only downside is the lack of a restaurant, but the positives far outweigh this. I would recommend this spot to my pickiest friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenKST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    45
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
147
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here 11 months ago. I'll start out with the "negatives." It's not a chain hotel, so it's not a sterile white-walled, beige- wallpapered room. There's no breakfast, so you'll have to drive less than 5 minutes for anything from McDonald's drive thru to a breakfast buffet. It's not downtown/at the locks. It's only a 5 minute drive. I'm trying to be clever here. If you want a place with spotlessly clean rooms, comfortable beds, wi fi, amenities like flat screen tv, microwave, fridge, in room coffee, blessed quiet, park in front of your room so you don't have to carry your bags down a sterile white corridor to your room....this is the place for you. The owners here clearly take pride in their motel. You can tell this place must have been here for a while but everything is more than clean and spotlessly updated. Not to mention it's significantly less than other places to stay here. What could be better?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tremonton, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a very comfortable and clean motel. It is easy to get to off of the freeway, just perfect for us since we were passing through on a road trip. The room is nicely decorated, comfortable, and quiet. We are accustomed to staying in hotel type properties, and it was quite nice to be able to park right outside our door and take the baggage just a few feet, rather than dragging it through elevators and long hallways.

There is no breakfast at the hotel, but we had a nice breakfast down the road at Country Kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This little gem is more like a bed and breakfast; each room is unique, clean and updated. We booked after reviewing all the hotels on Tripadvisor. The motel is located a bit outside the city, but in good location between the attractions and the casino.We found this place just perfect for our needs. No pool, hot tub or "free" breakfast, but a good night's sleep and friendly staff. We also loved the gardens and landscaping. When in the area, we will return :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veterantripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We got a warm welcome, unlike any you get at a chain. The room was lovely. Bathroom fixtures (floor, tub, faucets, etc) look to be brand new. We were very glad we stopped here. There's no breakfast but you know what? I'm getting sick of those hotel breakfasts! This was a fun chance to try a local diner.

I also want to note that owner of the Plaza Motor Motel gives good travel advice and unbiased appraisals of local attractions and restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrill, Michigan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Very nice the grounds are well kept the rooms are spotless the people that run the motel are very nice the room we had was very spacious my girlfriend was impressed with the brand of soap the shampoo was great to bad the motel is not downtown

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
250 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

After reading many of the reviews, we decided to give it a try and it met all of our expectations and I stayed at the Landmark Inn in Marquette last night. They decor is special, the service and kindness displayed by the owner makes it what it is. Very clean, just a very, very special place with little extras through out. And yet, so affordable, amazing. This is small business at it's best!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#12 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Motor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Motor Motel

Property: Plaza Motor Motel
Address: 3901 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing