We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new place in the Soo!”
Review of Plaza Motor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plaza Motor Motel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable and convenient. What a great surprise to find a well decorated, spotless motel with a mom and pop price tag. Thick luxurious towels, comfortable firm mattress covered in wonderful quality sheets (embroidered with their logo), tiled bathroom, front door parking and the list goes on. We have stayed at several places in the Soo (both the US and Canada) and this is by far the best at any price.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank HarleyGirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

I read numerous reviews about this motel on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed. It was clean, the staff was very friendly, the rooms are very nice and clean. My daughters had never stayed in a "motel" before, so they were uncertain. My wife was even giving me a hard time about it, but in the end she even said how handy it was to load/unload right from the back of the van straight into the room. We stayed in the end room closest to the Walmart. I could hear some noise from cars, but it was minimal and not disturbing. I will return to the Plaza on my next trip to SSM.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We normally stay across the street from the locks. Wish this place was across the street from the locks we would stay there all the time. The Plaza was very welcoming. We arrived quite late and had reservations. Our room was left open for us and the key was inside. We settled up the next morning. Beautifully decorated rooms with stencils, pictures, homey and cozy like I imagine a bed and breakfast would be. Reasonably priced also. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I rented a room at the Plaza Motor Motel for my parents to stay at when they came up this past weekend. They have stayed at every chain hotel in the Soo and this "mom & pop" place blew all of those out of the water. The room was well decorated and very clean. It had some nice amenities such as a mini-fridge, microwave, new flat-screen tv, iphone charger/alarm clock, and Wolfgang Puck coffee for the morning. It's a park-at-the-door place so you don't have to worry about kids running up and down the hallways at 3am. The only downsides I could even come up with are there is no pool and no continental breakfast. However, for under $60, the price was $20 cheaper than anywhere else that day. Throw in the free casino package and I challenge anyone to find a better deal in the Soo than this place.

You won't be disappointed you stayed here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SourKrout87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The hotel is well taken care of and the hospitality is fine. We arrived and our room was ready. In asking staff some questions as where to eat we obtained sound answers. Not the typical they are all good or some place they obtain a kick back on.

Room Tip: The hotel is on the south side and can be missed if you are not looking for it. So pay attention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 479Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

When visiting our granddaughter I looked up Tripadvisor to find a good place to stay. We choose the Plaza Motel based on the reviews. We made the right choice. The Plaza is a locally owned and a well cared for motel. Our room was very clean and tastefully furnished. This is an older property well built, well maintained and updated. We could park by the our door and the grounds are really nice. There is no breakfast but you do have coffee in the room. At the great price for the room this is not an issue, lots of dining down the street. The owner is very friendly and helpful. We will return to this property every time we travel to the SOO.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laughgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

On a recent trip, my wife and I had the best night's sleep of our entire journey at this motel. The room was large, tastefully furnished, exceptionally clean, and featured one of the most comfortable beds that I have had the pleasure of using. You can park right at your door and, while there is no food service on site, there are numerous dining options located near-by. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#11 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
597 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
#5 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Motor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Motor Motel

Address: 3901 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £45 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plaza Motor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing