We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, you can make a pig's ear into a silk purse”
Review of Plaza Motor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plaza Motor Motel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Claiming the hotel as "Michigan's best-kept secret" is a bit of a stretch, but the Plaza is indeed a remarkable place. Somehow (other moteliers take note) the management has taken what appears to have been a pretty ordinary 1950/60s motel and turned it into a comfortable, pleasant little hotel with character and charm. Not easy to do. Moreover, the nicely maintained grounds are a sliver in an otherwise undistinguished commercial area just outside of town. Part of the success of the place is its staff -- we had to switch rooms on the second night of our stay, and the manager knocked on our door early in the morning to tell us they were cleaning our new room first so we could leave our luggage there for the day. When's the last time that happened? Another part of the formula is carefully creating different feels and environments for each room. This is not your standard cookie-cutter chain motel where each room (and hotel for that matter) looks like it came of a giant assembly line. The bedding, pictures, paint colors, furniture, and even the room configuration are varied so you know someone cared enough about the hotel -- and its guests -- to make it something special. Very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Each is different -- go onto the motel's website and check out the pictures, then reserve by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Beautiful gardens, beautiful rooms, reasonable price & a great place to sip some wine in the gazebo in the evening. This is our home away from home, the only place we stay when up that way. We are so pleased we found The Plaza. Everything & everyone make you feel like you truly matter. Such a rarity anymore. We will be back. That's a promise.

Room Tip: The rooms are decorated like a guest room so enjoy any room you might be placed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardencritter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

From booking to our stay this motel was the best, I love the room, it was like staying with family, it was so cozy and super clean, the ground are beautiful and convenient location too. All the little touches were so great we booked our room for our travels back through town and the second stay was just as good. If you are in the area, I would say if you can book a room here you would be crazy not to, although the two times we stay there was no vacancy, so I would recommend booking all in advance to not be disappointed, I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: book early, it fills up and worth making early arrangements!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves2travel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice property with little frills but just what is needed for a good nights rest. Great bed, nice décor, pleasant check in and reasonable price. Internet and TV and ac. Room 115 is a bit small, but comfortable and quiet. Large bathroom, but shower might only works for short folks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vtsnowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We just happened upon this motel and like the appearance with gazebos and gardens across the parking area. What a delightful surprise and a great value. Clean and neat and decorated as if you were in a guest room in their home. The linens were very nice and thick fluffy towels, microwave and refrigerator, hair dryer and large flat screen tv. It was so quiet we slept in until 9 AM.

We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Plaza Motor Motel in Sault Ste Marie, Michigan, was a joyous experience for us. We didn't know any of the hotels in this city, so I went to Trip Advisor. I read a large number of reviews of this place, and was amazed at the consistent high praise given by most reviewers. Even hotels that are excellent in our own experience tend to get some very negative reviews over the years. We found nothing at all that needed improvement. The semi-modern rococo decoration theme, which would have looked appropriate in a Mozart opera set portraying the 1700's, was not what we would have chosen, but we rate our hotels based on the practical functioning of our room. Everything worked in our room. The windows could actually be opened, and we opened up to the moderate temperatures of Upper Peninsula Michigan in July. Our room was quiet. The property appears to date from the 1950's, but it has received loving care and the owner has spent serious money on updates, notably the bathroom. Hot water was plentiful, and it arrived quickly. The microwave and mini-refrigerator were excellent. This property is located in the suburban part of the city, with strip mall shopping, restaurants, and Wal Mart nearby. This is where we will be staying when we come to the Soo.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guest080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed one night here, went out on a limb, hoped for the best, and were very impressed. The room was a good size, but what was unusual and refreshing were the added decorating touches in the room. Very artistic and lovely. The bed was good, and everything in the room worked just fine. Outer grounds and gardens well looked after with that "flare" that sets them apart. Everyone very friendly and we enjoyed our stay. With comfort like this I doubt they are going to be "Michigans best kept secret for long!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Deb1956_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
148 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#11 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
111 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kewadin Casinos Hotel
Kewadin Casinos Hotel
#9 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Motor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Motor Motel

Address: 3901 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £46 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plaza Motor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing