We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Meal”
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Howell, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing Meal”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Typical Applebee's restaurant. Well appointed and a pleasing atmosphere. Great place to relax over good food and drinks.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    49
    17
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welschneudorf, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I've been there a dozen times. Always a pretty good place to relax, eat and drink. Whenever I'm in Soo, I used to go to Applebee's. Just sometimes I'm unfaithful and go to Frank's Place downtown.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They could do so much better.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Most of my family lives in Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, so I am there at least a couple of times a year visiting.

I asked for a medium well steak, but got what my wife and I clearly agreed was medium rare. I sent it back, and when it came back, it was medium. I sent it back....yet again....it finally returned medium well. The steak (once they got it right, finally) was good and tender, to be fair. The manager apologized, but did NOT offer to make up for it, such as with a free dessert or free drink (my wife has extensive experience in restaurant management, and was annoyed they did not do this, and I would agree. Apologizing for mistakes that should never have happened are not enough, one should try to do something extra that is tangible).

We overheard the group in the booth behind us that had the EXACT same experience with their steak, only they decided to pack up the other person's entree and leave before the steak came back. They were not given a discount either. We overheard them saying "the only decent thing was the wings".

ADVICE TO MANAGEMENT: Make sure you have cooks who can actually make a steak as ordered and will not rush it. I get that you are not a steakhouse, but you ought to be able to have cooks who can differentiate between "medium rare" and "medium well". Also have your managers realize that when you inconvenience customers and waste their time and patience, you try to make it up to them a bit with something for free. How much does it cost you to give them an extra drink?

To be fair, the place was clean and neat. The food was decent. The managers were polite. But this is just inexcusable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank spafford1638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and enjoyable atmosphere.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My favourite meal here is the Orange chicken dish along with an order of honey garlic wings, and for desert their hot fudge sundays is a must. The staff are always in a happy mood and very friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cajunpaddy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food and service.”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Everything what you would expect from an Applebee's. Good food and excellent American service. My daughter and I enjoyed our lunch, especially the chocolate cake for dessert!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing