We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hometown Inn and Suites
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Mifflintown
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We spent 2 nights at this Comfort Inn. Went to the Soo Locks and did the Tahquamenon Falls boat/trolley tour. We found this a comfortable motel. Provided breakfast, had wi-fi, plenty of parking, comfortable beds. Motel was clean and service was good. No complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for best available rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mngal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    27
    17
    37
See reviews for
28
28
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed at the beginning of a cross country trip. It really needs remodeling and felt dirty as far as the bedding went. I would like to say the rest of the trip we stayed in Comfort Inns that were wonderful. (except for Winnipig-which also desperately needs an upgrade)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonore1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sault Ste. Marie hotels

Bloomfield Hills
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I used my rewards points for this room as a stopover for a gambling trip to a nearby casino. The staff was pleasant and helpful. There was a shuttle to the Kewadin Casino that was very useful. Our room was comfortable and clean. Only problems were that the drapes don't cover the window properly and the morning sun woke us sooner than we wanted and the bed was too firm. A little more padding on the mattress was needed. The breakfast was above average, with waffles and sausage and egg patties for a sandwich. I would stay there again but ask to be on the western side of the hotel, closer to the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the lobby. This hotel is spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFan48302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I have never written a negative review of a hotel before, but I simply HAVE to now.

Dirty, stinky, stuffy- avoid unless there is a blizzard and all other hotels are sold out in the area.

The whole place was stuffy and poorly ventilated, the carpets dirty, the bedsheets unusually scratchy and itchy, the pillows rubbery and uncomfortable. Even the hallways were of a cramped, humid "rat maze" design. One in our party received a room that smelled of cigarettes and mildew. They were all very warm and humid, the "air conditioners" (so called) faced out into a steamy, enclosed indoor pool area and pumped that humid air into the rooms. The jacuzzi tub, much like the ancient, rattling ice machine in the hallway, was in need of maintenance. The last straw was when at 4 AM the smoke detectors all started going off for no reason, and after a call to the front desk, a young man who had obviously dealt with this problem repeatedly in the past came up and removed the smoke detectors from our room. The safety, liability, and moral questions of continuing to use this malfunctioning system are beyond the scope of this review. Suffice it to say they are in dire need of maintenance, cleaning, and remodeling.

On the positive side, this hotel has a great, convenient location right next to I-75 and several stores and fast food places. That's about all I can say that is positive, unfortunately, and likely are the only reasons this run-down, flea-trap, fire-trap, stale, stuffy sauna of a hotel continues to attract the weary or desperate traveller.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ray12387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I am sorry to say that our room # 240 was one of the last rooms available due to a tour bus arriving before us. We only stayed because the price was reasonable and we were exhausted from traveling.
Room 240 smelled of urine VERY badly. An animal must have used the carpet beside the mini fridge. The bathroom tub wasn't really clean looking and the room was so very outdated. It actually had analog TV. We ordered a roll away cot for one of my teens and it came as a torn flimsy sagging in the middle mattress. I felt bad that he had to sleep on it, but it was better than the dirty floor.
The breakfast room was very small and the TV was blasting. We didn't get to talk at breakfast.
I wasn't pleased with this hotel, nor the staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangenkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,


Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Was on a four day trip for our anniversary. No reservations, just basically "wandering" through the northern end of Michigan. Stopped at Comfort Inn on our 2nd day. Good value for the price paid. Had a king jacuzzi room. More than plenty of room for us. Decent bed, large sitting area included pullout couch, and table with chairs. Jacuzzie area, wet bar with microwave & fridge. Breakfast was decent as well. Only thing we would change, would be for the window which overlooked the swimming pool would be nicer if it was a sliding glass door so that the pool could be accessed directly from the room. Otherwise, no problems. This was our 3rd visit here and would stay again. Convenient shuttle to local casino was also nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich2too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2011

i stay at choice hotels and this was one of the nicest one the staff and management were very friendly they saw i was a diamond member and up graded me at the price of regular room i would like to take this time to personally thank the staff and management i will recomend this hotel to all my friends and coworkers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank showmoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
686 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#15 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
97 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. M...
#6 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hometown Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometown Inn and Suites

Property: Hometown Inn and Suites
Address: 4404 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3600
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hometown Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hometown Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Comfort Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing