We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hometown Inn and Suites
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel itself is fine, they are currently doing upgrades so some hallways are construction zones (which is not a problem). Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, especially Melissa! Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    19
    27
    17
    37
See reviews for
28
29
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

There was nobody at the front desk when we were checking in - had to wait 10 minutes. Elevator/Ice machine were broken. Our non-smoking room reeked of smoke. TV had 1 channel. Hallways were freezing and had exposed wires hanging from the ceiling. The set up is a giant maze. Ran out of milk at breakfast. Water pressure in the shower was terrible. Never again!

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort4404, General Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
I would like to apologize for the less than perfect nature of your previous stay with us. In order to avoid further issues such as the ones you encountered, the owner has opted to bring in new management to correct these and other issues. To address some of your concerns, the missing celling tiles were removed to facilitate the installation of new internet lines and security cable and for some reason never replaced. This has been addressed. The TV only displaying one channel can only be attributed to the cable company doing "upgrades" in the area which affected everyone, residential and business alike. In order to switch to a digital service many customers were completely without service for almost two weeks. Again, this matter has been resolved. All of our rooms are Non-smoking and when a guest is found to be smoking in the room we remove it from service, thoroughly clean it, and then return it to service. I'm not sure what the previous policy was, but now we are trying to stay on top of these issues.

I sincerely hope that in the future we can have a chance to show you the changes we've made. Further renovations to the property are scheduled for this fall and we hope to have them completed by early spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sault Ste. Marie hotels

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The outside of the building looked very nice and well kept and then everything went downhill from there. Front desk staff was rude,very short, and seemed uninterested in the guests. I was travelling with friends and we had to wait over 20 minutes for everyone to check in and there was nobody in the lobby ? Front desk forgot to mention the hotel was under renovations and the hallways were freezing. Once we finally got to our room it had a stale smoke smell and our toilet kept making weird noises. The pressure from the shower head was very weak. I had asked the front desk if he could call me a cab and he refused. I had to be firm and ask multiple times. It was just my girlfriend and I in the room. Around 4am we were both in bed sleeping, the front desk staff knocked on my door and said to keep it down ?? I explained we've been sleeping for hours and we haven't been making noise. He then apologized and realized it was the room three doors down being rowdy. All of this could have been avoided if he just kept his ears open and LISTENED. The only plus side to our stay was the continental breakfast, which turned out to be fruit and your choice of white or whole wheat toast....I would not recommend this hotel to anyone !! I feel that Comfort Inn is highly over priced for what they have to offer.

Room Tip: If you would like a good room I suggest you keep driving past Comfort Inn and go to the next availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenner K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort4404, General Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
I would like to first humbly apologize for the nature of your previous stay. In order to correct the issues you noted and others as well, the owner has opted to bring in new management. The staff is being re-trained or replaced, the "renovations" that were begun some time back have been stopped due to inactivity on the part of the contractors and rescheduled for this fall with a whole new company, maintenance issues described in your review have been addressed or will be rectified during the remodel this fall, and the overall consideration of our guests is being attended to by our new staff in a much more professional manner.

Please once again accept my apologies for your previous stay and feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you would like to discuss this further (906) 635-1118
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed there for one night, and it was good. They are in updating for now, but it still was nice. The staff were friendly, and very helpful when our car would not start. They said they would hold a room if we could not get going that morning even tho it was new year eve. The breakfast was well laid out, and impressive. Appleby's was next door, making it convenient. The room we had was a Jacuzzi room, which we enjoyed. Towels were a good size, bathroom clean. The room was well laid out. Since they are up-dating, some material was in the entrance, but not in the way of our coming and going.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a window that looks into the pool room. If you don't swim, and don't have ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We are glad to hear your stay with us was pleasant. Yes we are under some renovations and hope to be done by spring for the up and coming warmer months. We strive to make every guests stay great and am glad our staff could help make that possible. Thank you again for your positive response.

Property Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while traveling with family. The check in was fast and efficient. The building was well maintained, the common areas were clean and pleasant. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the amenities were perfect. Overall, a great place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChuckMosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Check in was smooth and easy. We had a king suite it was clean and comfortable. The pillows are small but have found the same size at most of the choice hotels we have stayed at. Breakfast was good. Waffles, muffins, eggs and sausage never had to ask for them to refill anything. The parking lot filled up fast with trucks with trailers and the people from the Applebee's next door

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Somerset, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel was a little bigger than the one in Manistique. We were on the 2nd floor which was hard for my mother-in-law. It's a little of a maze to walk through for someone elderly. But, a very good rate and a very clean property. Of course, the breakfast was fantastic. Can't beat the price! It was very busy and many people didn't have a table and the overflow were in the sitting area. So, eat early if you want a table. This hotel brings in the business because of the good service, rates, and cleanliness. Would stay again. Also, shuttles to the casino is a plus, along w/ a pool. Didn't use the pool, but it looked sparkling clean!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debharas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all positive feedback on our property. We offer our guest the best rate that is available in town and our breakfast is one of the best. We offer all amenaties and appreciate when guest notice them. Thank you for your response again and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
705 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Motor Motel
Plaza Motor Motel
#1 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hometown Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometown Inn and Suites

Property: Hometown Inn and Suites
Address: 4404 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3600
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hometown Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hometown Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Comfort Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing