We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice, with history and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
San Juan Bautista, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“very nice, with history and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

famous guests here include Joe Louis and fmr pres. George H.W. Bush for a reason. it's arguably the premiere hotel in town, with a classy restaurant and perfect location. views of the Sault Locks, the river and Canada on the other side, and located on the main drag of restaurants, clubs, bars, tourist shops, and around the corner from the downtown district. fine linens and high quality appointments in the rooms, pets allowed. artwork from renowned local artist featured throughout mostly depicting various freighters and the great lakes.

Room Tip: request the north side for a view of the river and Sault Locks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laker1rn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share with us the aspects you enjoyed most about your stay here at the Ramada Ojibway. Indeed, our guests value the splendid view which can be observed throughout the hotel, from the restaurant perspective to the view provided on the sixth floor. By day, our guests receive a clear view of the Soo Locks. By night, one receives a beautiful view of the city lights across the river on the Canadian side. We are the only hotel located in the downtown historic Sault Ste Marie district, within walking distance to all the attractions downtown Sault Ste Marie has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    183
    174
    114
    58
See reviews for
174
227
25
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My family just spent 3 nights at the Ramada while visiting Sault Ste. Marie for a hockey tournament. We had a great stay at the Ramada. The hotel has older decor however it is very well maintained. The staff were very helpful. Would definitely return to this hotel if we return to the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stacie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negaunee, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We live about 3 hours from the Soo. When possible, our first choice is to stay at the Ojibway Ramada. I love to watch the ships, so what better place to stay? The Freighter restaurant has always been superb! The breakfast is very good. The only down side is the location of the pool. No way would I ever go down in the basement alone. It is a problem also if the kids want to swim, I won't let them go alone even though they are old enough to do so.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnalee1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Our award winning Freighter's Restaurant is a favorite of guests as they are able to view the freighters passing through the locks while having a pleasant meal in a classy atmosphere. We are pleased you were able to come and enjoy it! Our pool, fitness center, guest laundry and vending machines are all located on the ground floor of the hotel. As there are solely guest facilities on the ground floor and no guest rooms, it tends to be a bit quieter down there but I assure you we have never had an issue where anyone has come to harm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My stay at the Ojibway exceeded my expectations. Even though it was -20 outside, the hotel was warm and cozy. I was able to park near the door and remote start my car prior to exiting, which is always a plus. The staff is pleasant and helpful and the complimentary breakfast was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We appreciate your wonderful review and are so happy your stay exceeded your expectations. We strive to exceed all our guests expectations! We would love to see you return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#12 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway

Property: Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Address: 240 W Portage Ave, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historical Hotel site on a site overlooking the Famous Internation Soo Locks. We are the Home of the Famous Freighters Restaurant and the Captains Pub and Grill. We will celebrate our 75th Anniversary on New Years Eve. Since 1927 this hotel has hosted Presidents and diplomats from all over the world. The senior president Bush hosted us with his presence in 1982. This property exhuberates with nostalgia from eras gone by. Take a trip through time as you enjoy our history and artifact display. Our staff is one of few who pay attention to the details of your comfort. Enjoy the luxurious lobby and historic lighting. Shop at all the gift shops. Whether you are snowmobiling or checking in to read your favorite book call and book with our staff. You deserve to savor the moment in one of our hot tub suites. Call now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Ojibway Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Ramada Sault Sainte Marie
Ramada Hotel Plaza Ojibway
Sault Sainte Marie Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing