We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie(Sault Ste. Marie)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Americas Best Value Inn(Sault Ste. Marie)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kewadin Casinos Hotel(Sault Ste. Marie)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adoba Lockview Hotel(Sault Ste. Marie)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Host Crestview Inn(Sault Ste. Marie)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Motor Motel(Sault Ste. Marie)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
161
222
213
137
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
222
213
137
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfreighters restaurantsoo locksan older buildinglocal attractionsdowntown areagreat lakesfront desk clerkone night staycontinental breakfastmariesaultvintageshipsproximityontario
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 800 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We can to this hotel,by changing plans to go to the island, and coming to sault ste
Marie for Canada days ( and fireworks!!). We travel a lot, usually around the USA 10-12 weekends a year visiting g our kids and family. Stay at a lot of hotels and an pretty easy to please. Need it clean, neat and reasonable priced. Breakfast thrown in is a plus. We had stayed here a decade ago with a family party of parents and kids. It was still regal old inside, witch is kind of cool. It was not crowded. We asked for a one night quote and when she said $149, I thought she was kidding. She got her costs down to 129, and AFTER we sign, she says, " you will love this little studio room, so cute. " hmmm it was cute, for Cinderella. Long, entire facing wall has slopped walls, and windows, and one big support beam in front of bathroom. Really??
Because the ceiling slops so bad, the windows also are sloped and the window seals are broken and them all so fogged up, hard to see out of. The worst part was the shades are paper white thin blinds. Light will be in your eyes bright and early, so shake and bake by 7 am!!
Having said all that, it was a cute room, like a tiny cartoon room bed, tv and desk. Bad windows with tissue shades; if it had thicker shades or sun curtains, I would have stayed. Smallest hotel room too, ever, but cute in a story tale way. What more do you need.? Lol. Decent bathroom. This was room 426. Don't touch the 2.99 water, but free 2 cookie pack of Oreos. The lady at desk, tori was nice, but I felt she lowered price to give us the mouse room., not a real hotel room with regular windows. We changed to another room with a 20 inch wide by 5 foot window, no view really, a bit of parking lot. But your eye keeps going back to a wall right next to you! Surprise!! I felt like it was bait and switch, was not pleased, but to tired to argue. Breakfast is tomorrow, will update then if we go. Seems to be a nasty place from all reviews posted.
Settled into another new room, bed is comfy, chair is broke in, has butt drop, but I like a worn in Chair. No hard seat , but a reader settled in and soft, so settle in and read! All towels and soap are here, something called SanFrancisco soap, coffee maker and tea. Kind of nice decorated, French provincial wanna be, nice red carpet. Ice for everyone is on first floor. All in all, way over priced for this area, and size of room. She quoted suites @ a bargain for 189. Down the street is a very nice place, friends are there now, would not stay here, the hotel they are at is 2 story and friendly. The name escapes me for a moment. Ramada is very over priced for this area. Would be way more reasonable in the $79-89 room rate range. Breakfast is included, but all reviews say it's horrible, so may skip. Subway is right across the road. Walmart is on way to hotel for snacks.

Room Tip: Check out rooms before you check in, and know prices from booking sites.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphy1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked this through a discount broker - so paid around $105 a night, before taxes. Lodging was clean and somewhat comfortable. Restaurant was poor. Staff was very helpful and it was refreshing to have English speaking attendants! When smoke alarm went off, staff searched building and found nothing, so to cure the smoke detector from going off, it was just ripped down - which was saw the next day. Since we were on the 4th floor, that was a little discomforting. For the amount of money paid, I would stay at the other two hotels we prefer. It is a shame to say that, as I want the hotel to succeed, but they need to pay a little more attention to details and completely rethink who they have in the kitchen of their restaurant and their servers.

Room Tip: As for room with a view of the locks - although much is blocked by the trees.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROT810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel.
We are very happy your stay in the hotel was good and we are making very progressive changes in the restaurant to avoid the issues that your experienced. We hope the next time you are in Sault Ste Marie you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Been at this hotel several times in the past, but don't know what is happening in their restaurant, our dinner was served by a nice waiter, names Jason or Justin, but our food was horrible, that he took it back to kitchen and brought back a seconded time seemed even worst. Our waiter did his best to help us with other items , . Service was very slow and wait staff were trying there best but seem problem is with their kitchen, food arrives cold after long wait, breakfast was a simple meal of eggs bacon and toast but served cold, sister in law order coffee that was so cold, not cool but COLD. Never had this problem in restaurant before so don't know what was going on. Check in was good, great staff at the desk, but disappointing in our room location, we booked this room 6 months in advanced and was given a room overlooking the restaurant roof. So much for booking early for a good room. I had highly recommended this hotel to a family member so they did book also they were not happy. I told them I had never had this type of service in the restaurant before. Hoping this will get cleared up because as we were sitting in restaurant heard so many others complaining also. This is such a classy hotel and now on our Wyndham list hope improvements will be made soon.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor room to look toward the locks. or street view if you rather, there is only 6 floors I think....we we on 2 and over looked the roof of the restaurant,
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishshalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are always trying to improve every experience with every guest and the restaurant is one area that we are very focused on.
We are making many changes in the restaurant and I am confident that on your next stay with us you will see the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We took a chance and stayed here after reading some not very flattering reviews. If you want sleek and new and trendy this is NOT the place for you... The Ramada, Ojibway, in Sault Ste Marie is a historic property that sits right across the street from the Soo Locks. When you come to this hotel, it is a special treat! Heavy draperies, thick carpeting, wallpaper, older furniture, and history are it's specialties. Check in and Check out were seamless, and efficient. Do not be in a hurry for your complimentary breakfast. You will want to enjoy the made to order fare in the beautiful dining room - complete with wait staff and white table clothes watching for freighters to appear outside of the glass wall in front of you. Room furnishings were not new, but the room was immaculate! It was well appointed with a full sized closet, iron, ironing board and hair dryer. TV was a flat screen, bed was comfy... We cannot say anything about the pool, as we did not use this part of the hotel. Loved our stay here - steps from the beautiful gardens at the Soo Locks. Will certainly visit this location again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of the locks... we were on the side of the building that looked away from the boat traffic.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We take pride in our historic hotel and love it when people appreciate the "step back in time".
We look forward to your next visit!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews