We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View's of Fireworks for the 4th of July”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was here for the 4th of July, and my room looked right out to where the fireworks were being set off, which was great! The hotel has a very old-European feel, and the rooms are very pretty in that style. The location is good, walkable to the city. The service at the hotel was okay, booking a room took a lot more energy than most hotels, and they called me at the last minute to make changes to my reservation (which ended up being an upgrade so no complaints here!), but the breakfast staff were frustratingly incompetent and unprepared.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csquared2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We take all our reviews very seriously and learn from each one. The restaurant is currently going through many changes from management all the way down the staff. This will make all our guest's total experience a positive one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

GREAT LOCATION! Room looked run down, a/c was REALLY LOUD, asked for one thing -- was promised, didn't happen.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding the hotel. I want to first apologize for your request being lost.
We are in the process of doing some updating in our rooms but will continue to carry the historical presence of the hotel.
I hope when visiting Sault Ste Marie again you will once again be our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Eugene L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank ItsAGrandWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Problem 1. Restaurant service was very slow
Problem 2. We were served a nut (as in nut & bolt) in our food

Very convenient to Soo Locks and good parking - pricy

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We can to this hotel,by changing plans to go to the island, and coming to sault ste
Marie for Canada days ( and fireworks!!). We travel a lot, usually around the USA 10-12 weekends a year visiting g our kids and family. Stay at a lot of hotels and an pretty easy to please. Need it clean, neat and reasonable priced. Breakfast thrown in is a plus. We had stayed here a decade ago with a family party of parents and kids. It was still regal old inside, witch is kind of cool. It was not crowded. We asked for a one night quote and when she said $149, I thought she was kidding. She got her costs down to 129, and AFTER we sign, she says, " you will love this little studio room, so cute. " hmmm it was cute, for Cinderella. Long, entire facing wall has slopped walls, and windows, and one big support beam in front of bathroom. Really??
Because the ceiling slops so bad, the windows also are sloped and the window seals are broken and them all so fogged up, hard to see out of. The worst part was the shades are paper white thin blinds. Light will be in your eyes bright and early, so shake and bake by 7 am!!
Having said all that, it was a cute room, like a tiny cartoon room bed, tv and desk. Bad windows with tissue shades; if it had thicker shades or sun curtains, I would have stayed. Smallest hotel room too, ever, but cute in a story tale way. What more do you need.? Lol. Decent bathroom. This was room 426. Don't touch the 2.99 water, but free 2 cookie pack of Oreos. The lady at desk, tori was nice, but I felt she lowered price to give us the mouse room., not a real hotel room with regular windows. We changed to another room with a 20 inch wide by 5 foot window, no view really, a bit of parking lot. But your eye keeps going back to a wall right next to you! Surprise!! I felt like it was bait and switch, was not pleased, but to tired to argue. Breakfast is tomorrow, will update then if we go. Seems to be a nasty place from all reviews posted.
Settled into another new room, bed is comfy, chair is broke in, has butt drop, but I like a worn in Chair. No hard seat , but a reader settled in and soft, so settle in and read! All towels and soap are here, something called SanFrancisco soap, coffee maker and tea. Kind of nice decorated, French provincial wanna be, nice red carpet. Ice for everyone is on first floor. All in all, way over priced for this area, and size of room. She quoted suites @ a bargain for 189. Down the street is a very nice place, friends are there now, would not stay here, the hotel they are at is 2 story and friendly. The name escapes me for a moment. Ramada is very over priced for this area. Would be way more reasonable in the $79-89 room rate range. Breakfast is included, but all reviews say it's horrible, so may skip. Subway is right across the road. Walmart is on way to hotel for snacks.

Room Tip: Check out rooms before you check in, and know prices from booking sites.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphy1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
130 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
472 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#12 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
495 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
293 reviews
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. M...
#7 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway

Address: 240 W Portage Ave, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £81 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historical Hotel site on a site overlooking the Famous Internation Soo Locks. We are the Home of the Famous Freighters Restaurant and the Captains Pub and Grill. We will celebrate our 75th Anniversary on New Years Eve. Since 1927 this hotel has hosted Presidents and diplomats from all over the world. The senior president Bush hosted us with his presence in 1982. This property exhuberates with nostalgia from eras gone by. Take a trip through time as you enjoy our history and artifact display. Our staff is one of few who pay attention to the details of your comfort. Enjoy the luxurious lobby and historic lighting. Shop at all the gift shops. Whether you are snowmobiling or checking in to read your favorite book call and book with our staff. You deserve to savor the moment in one of our hot tub suites. Call now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Ojibway Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Ramada Sault Sainte Marie
Ramada Hotel Plaza Ojibway
Sault Sainte Marie Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing